Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2016, 09:48 PM   #1
Member
 
hpbcrillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 83
New AC unit...now what?????

Hello folks, I have a 83 HR Alumalite 30' RV with 2 rooftop AC units. The rear unit cools ok, but the front does no cooling at all. I bought a recharge kit for it but decided to replace it with a new unit.
I got a dometic 15,000 btu unit and have ordered the ceiling panel controls for it. Any tips on installation (replacement of old unit) for new unit?
Another question....since I don't think the 30 amp service or the 4000 kw genset will power both AC units at the same time, it is possible to wire in a transfer box to the front AC unit to run off a separate line and power it from a different power source, like the simple 110v plugs also in most campground power boxes? Just thinking of how to run both of them at the same time when it is near 100 degrees outside.
Thanks for any advice you can give on all of this!
__________________

__________________
83 HR Aluma-lite 30'
First rv, great shape.
<><
hpbcrillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-22-2016, 11:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,187
The old unit is held in place by 4 large bolt/screws accessed by removing the return grill on the underside of the unit. Disconnect the 120 v wires to the unit. Once the bolts/screws are removed, You can tilt it up and remove it. Clean the old foam gasket from the opening, install new gasket, and wire the new A/C.

The problem with using a 120 v extension cord from the 15 amp outlet in the pedestal, your A/C might require more than 15 amps at start up and trip the circuit breaker. You might use a dog leg to plug the 30 amp shore cord into the 50 amp outlet, then use a 30 amp cord to plug the A/C into the 30 amp outlet. You could use a manual transfer switch, or just hook the A/C up to a recessed male 30 amp plug. You can plug in your 30 amp extension cord. When you want to run it off the generator, use a 30 amp cord with a female end wired into the breaker panel where the front A/C got it's power. That way you can switch power sources for the A/C but always have a safe female end of the cord so no shock hazard.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:27 AM   #3
Member
 
hpbcrillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post
The old unit is held in place by 4 large bolt/screws accessed by removing the return grill on the underside of the unit. Disconnect the 120 v wires to the unit. Once the bolts/screws are removed, You can tilt it up and remove it. Clean the old foam gasket from the opening, install new gasket, and wire the new A/C.

The problem with using a 120 v extension cord from the 15 amp outlet in the pedestal, your A/C might require more than 15 amps at start up and trip the circuit breaker. You might use a dog leg to plug the 30 amp shore cord into the 50 amp outlet, then use a 30 amp cord to plug the A/C into the 30 amp outlet. You could use a manual transfer switch, or just hook the A/C up to a recessed male 30 amp plug. You can plug in your 30 amp extension cord. When you want to run it off the generator, use a 30 amp cord with a female end wired into the breaker panel where the front A/C got it's power. That way you can switch power sources for the A/C but always have a safe female end of the cord so no shock hazard.
Thank you! That is exactly what I was looking for. Great information, and hopefully I can do it one of the ways you described. Will try to take pictures of progress. Thanks again!
__________________
83 HR Aluma-lite 30'
First rv, great shape.
<><
hpbcrillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 12:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,761
In my 30 AMP MH I replaced the rear 11K AC with a 13.5k and front 13.5K with a 15k heat pump.

I added a new 35AMP(20-15)breaker box in the outside compartment right below the MH breaker box compartment.
Ran the 20AMPwire up to the OEM breaker box area. Cut the wire from OEM front 20AMP AC breaker to front AC.
Installed a female end on the wire from the OEM breaker box.
Installed a female end on the wire from the new below breaker box.
Installed a male end on the wire going to the front AC.

Now plug the male AC end into the outside box when at campground. And when traveling I plug it into the OEM breaker box so the Generator can run it when wanted.



From the new box I use 30AMP cord to 30AMP shore box and the 30AMP MH cord to 50AMP shore box with adapter. I also made myself a custom 50AMP dog bone to 2 30AMP. And have only needed to use it one time so far. But it did work OK.
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 05:53 PM   #5
Member
 
hpbcrillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triker56 View Post
In my 30 AMP MH I replaced the rear 11K AC with a 13.5k and front 13.5K with a 15k heat pump.

I added a new 35AMP(20-15)breaker box in the outside compartment right below the MH breaker box compartment.
Ran the 20AMPwire up to the OEM breaker box area. Cut the wire from OEM front 20AMP AC breaker to front AC.
Installed a female end on the wire from the OEM breaker box.
Installed a female end on the wire from the new below breaker box.
Installed a male end on the wire going to the front AC.

Now plug the male AC end into the outside box when at campground. And when traveling I plug it into the OEM breaker box so the Generator can run it when wanted.



From the new box I use 30AMP cord to 30AMP shore box and the 30AMP MH cord to 50AMP shore box with adapter. I also made myself a custom 50AMP dog bone to 2 30AMP. And have only needed to use it one time so far. But it did work OK.
That looks like a great idea too! I guess I will do what will work easiest and best for my unit. I like the dogbone 50 amp to (2) 30 amp cords. That would be handy in some campgrounds. Thanks!
__________________
83 HR Aluma-lite 30'
First rv, great shape.
<><
hpbcrillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 10:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpbcrillo View Post
That looks like a great idea too! I guess I will do what will work easiest and best for my unit. I like the dogbone 50 amp to (2) 30 amp cords. That would be handy in some campgrounds. Thanks!
Both of the 30AMP dogbones are attached to the same 120V + wire from the 50AMP. But does give you 50AMP split between the 2.

Doesn't work if each 30AMP is hooked to the 2 seperate 120V + of the 50AMP.
__________________

__________________
Triker56 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dome unit vs Dish unit for TV Chemosavvy Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 06-05-2016 05:39 PM
Kinda new member with new unit to us SmokyRV New Member Check-In 7 06-18-2013 09:42 AM
Replace cooling unit with Amish unit Knot-Fly'n Newmar Owner's Forum 6 05-14-2013 09:45 PM
So I'm Now At Spartan, Now What? Lug_Nut Newmar Owner's Forum 23 04-03-2007 05:53 PM
So I'm Now At Spartan, Now What? Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 23 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.