Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2011, 04:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 80
Power Cord

Man, I was cleaning the inside of the MH last weekend & thought, hey its hot in here, so I turned on the roof air. It came on for about a minute then stopped. There was no power in the MH. I figured it had thrown a breaker in my garage but all the breakers were ok. I then checked the breakers in the MH & they were ok. I thought, well let me check the cord. The 30 amp plug and the pigtale going to the extention cord were on fire & sparking. I unplugged the extention cord & blew out the fire. Fried the whole thing. Camping World was open on the 4th so I took my burned up pieces & bought a new 30 amp plug & pigtale. The guy at Camping World asked me, you tried to run your A/C plugged into 120 didn't you. I said yea, it was hot. He said, you would be surprised how many of these we sell cause you are not supposed to do that. He said the pig tale going to 120 source is ONLY to run your fridge & keep your batteries charged. Run your A/C through your generator or plug into 30 amp at a campground. Never knew that. 60 years old & still learning. Glad I didn't set the whole MH on fire.
__________________

__________________
cubano222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-06-2011, 05:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Cubano.. I'm a certified electronics technician, ran my A/C for many hours (usually only an hour at a time though) on 20 amps, (Kind of a long story, it's a 30 amp outlet, but 20 amp wire and breaker) no problems such as you cite.

It makes no sense.. The only thing that does make sense is perhaps you had a bad socket on your adapter. That could do it. Or the cord was old and about to fail.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 05:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
4Knights's Avatar
 
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,796
Was your extension cord a 15 amp cord? I use a 30 amp extension cord plugged into the garage outlet. Now my outlet has 15 amps to the top and 15 amps to the bottom from different breakers in the garage so no issues at home but when at relatives house we use the same cord and only get 15 amps due to their wiring from breaker panel to outlet. You can use a regular cord but the draw will be more than the cord can handle and overheat with time. May or may not trip house breaker.
If it's your house go to local hardware store get a 30 amp breaker, correct gauge wiring and and external RV or Generator receptacle, you can pull the wire yourself and just have an electrician do the final connections in the box and the outlet to stay within code. (don't forget to put the metal tabs over the studs to protect the wire from nails/screws)
__________________
Ron & Wendy-Kansas
94 Pace Arrow 34 ft
25 yr Army retired 2006
4Knights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 08:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 80
Power Cord

It did look like the previous owner had replaced the 30 amp plug at some point. I have run the A/C several times before with no problems. I use a heavy duty ext. cord & it was not hot to the touch anywhere. The only thing burning was the 30 amp plug & pig tale plug. The 30 amp plug has sparked before so it was probably going bad. I'm going to try it again & if I burn out another plug, cheap enough to replace. Thanks for your suggestions.
Jerry
__________________
cubano222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:48 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Senior Chief's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere in the woods in Belfair, WA, WA
Posts: 1,250
I agree, the "expert" at Camping World is all wet. Your A/C is designed to run perfectly well on 120V. Possibly he meant 15 amp, but even there he's not correct.

I agree that the issue here is a bad plug/wire/connection; any of these will cause heat which can lead to fire. If a previous owner rewired anything in your house cord or adapter, that's the likely culprit.

A clean, tight connection, even to a 15a breaker should be fine, with a single AC.
__________________
Life rocks when your house rolls
Senior Chief
& the Cheese Queen


Senior Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
JiminJersey's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Salem, NJ
Posts: 333
+1 to Sr. Chief about the CW "expert" - you should be able to run the AC all day long on a house circuit, IF there are no other major draws on it, and IF your cord from the outlet to the pig-tail is adequate. I bet the CW guy gets a lot of people who've blown out or melted pig-tails because they used cheap extension cords from the house to the RV.
__________________
Always remember, you're a unique individual - just like the other 7 billion people on the planet...
JiminJersey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 06:34 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
A 15 amp house circuit is marginal, a 20 amp should run one A/C with no problem. It sounds like you had a 15 amp and long extension cord which you overloaded. Bet a 20 amp rated cord and keep it as short as possible.

I have run a many an RV A/C with a 20 amp circuit in the garage.

Oh, I think you have to have the intelligence of a bag of rocks to work at CW.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 08:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
If you have a cruddy connection (dirt/grease/corrosion/whatever) on a 15, 20, or 30 amp connection, it can get hotter than all get out with any serious current draw on it - no matter the wire size. The "plug adapter" used to convert the 30 amp connection on you power cord to a residential connection are famous for melting down...
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 11:13 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 80
I do have a 20 amp breaker that my extension cord is plugged into. I ran the A/C for several hours during a very hot day here in TN yesterday & had no problem. The new 30 amp plug & adapter pig tale didn't even get warm. Guess ya'll were right, the CW dude did not know what he was talking about. Thank you.
Jerry
__________________
cubano222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 07:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
BA-in-Mich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 472
I have my MH hooked up to a 120v/20amp circuit through it's 50amp cable and I have ran my A/C for hours on end and no problems. The cord I use is a 12 gauge 50'.
__________________
BA-in-Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 10:28 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by BA-in-Mich View Post
I have my MH hooked up to a 120v/20amp circuit through it's 50amp cable and I have ran my A/C for hours on end and no problems. The cord I use is a 12 gauge 50'.
I do the exactly the same thing also without incident. I do check the plugs/adapters every so often for overheating. Maybe some adapters are constructed better than others. It only takes about a 2% volt drop across a poor connection to cause big problems when your drawing heavy currents. Also, a reduction of starting current (typically 25A) could eventually damage the A/C.
__________________
high5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 11:44 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
IN another thread someone spoke of plugging into 30 amps at the RV park.. Well when he went to unplug he had to call park maintenance cause the plug had MELTED to the outlet. They shut off the breaker, hacksawed his power cord, installed a new plug and then, just for the heck of it, took the original apart.

Turns out the "Pins" (Blades on the plug) were CRIMPED to the wires in the cord, not welded, not soldered, but crimped and the technician/machine that crimped them only caught about half the wires in the plug, So under heavy load, the half-connecting rapdily overheated and .. Well you already know the rest.

yes, qualiity control is about half what it needs to be in some places. Less in others.


True story (I WAS THERE) person on the site in front of me pulls in in a brand new 5er. Plugs in the power cord and NO POWER (50 amp, Marine co connector to coach)

I grabbed my meters and we pulled the Marine Co from the coach, intending to do volt meter measurements to see if the cord was bad.

The connector fell off

They had not tightened the inernal screws,, At all.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
vman60's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 178
All I do is take the 30amp main powercord and plug it into a 30amp exstenson right into the outside plug into the house and its all good from there. But was told you can't run a/c microwave and all at same time. Also when I bought the coach from the original owner he was telling me you can't run both a/c's at same time without being pluged in and generator running. I have had the generator running and both a/c's going at same time. Now its my understanding if you have your generator running and you are plugged in to a 30amp service that 1 power source is cancelled out such as the main plug unto a 30 amp service. 1 or the other is supplying power to the coach and not both which makes sense beings there is only 1 control panel (circut box).
__________________
1988 Fleetwood 34ft
Way to many toys to list
1 Angry Fawn male chihuahua
vman60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:36 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
I've done an electrical load inventory in the past and if I remember correctly, the worst case values for a rooftop 13,500 BTU A/C are: 1700W / 15A running and 3000W / 26A starting. But, a newer A/C unit usually runs at 1300W / 11A and starts with 2700W / 23A. I don't remember the duration of the start cycle, but it's short (for a correctly functioning unit) and both 15A and 20A breakers would handle it. Although, running 100% current for long periods through a household breaker will most likely trip the circuit eventually, depending on the type of breaker. My rig has a single A/C unit and a 4kW Onan so I have plenty of power. But I've been told by reasonable sources that some modern two unit systems have circuitry to prohibit simultaneous starting. Bottom line is 11A (75%) load on a 15A household circuit will run all day (with good connections). There are contact cleaners that chemically improve the conductivity of the contact's base metal. They're expensive but I think they're worth the investment. I personally don't use anything less than 12ga cords or a 10ga if you can afford it. But little can be done to compensate for poorly constructed equipment, IMHO.
__________________

__________________
high5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Sea Breeze - Shore power transfer switch? jbobst National RV Owner's Forum 1 08-30-2010 07:22 PM
RV Power Cord Extension Voltage Drop oldpa iRV2.com General Discussion 22 04-03-2009 02:01 PM
Handle for 50 Amp power cord Craig H iRV2.com General Discussion 6 02-29-2008 07:12 PM
Tips from a cord replacement on a day/night shade SargeW MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 06-11-2007 06:53 PM
zantrex power cord ? Oh-one Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 04-06-2006 06:07 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.