Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2013, 11:43 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Evendale, Ohio
Posts: 109
Question Propane Gauge

My inside propane gauge always shows full. The gauge on the tank shows the correct amount. Does full indicate an open circuit or short?
__________________

__________________
jmerritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-10-2013, 06:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Go Dawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,051
Probably means a bad sensor. If it doesn't bother you just go by the gauge on the tank. I never rely on my sensors for much of anything and I have an 03 MH.
__________________

__________________
Arnold
2017 Grand Design Reflection 303 RLS
2004 Ford F350 Lariat 4x4 Dually
Go Dawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 05:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 197
You've got to know how the gauge works to answer your question. Most I've seen say 0-90 ohms, empty to full, which is the same as the old Chevys. In that case it would be open.

I've also seen posts saying that isn't the only sender used, but never any other values. I know a cheap, easy, quick thing to do for high resistance is clean your connections, check for voltage.
__________________
Argosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 07:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
If you remove the wire from the sending unit, the inside gauge will show either empty or full. I forget which. If you'll then ground that wire, the inside gauge will show the opposite. If it does the above, there's nothing wrong with the inside gauge or the wires that run to/from it. That would leave only the sending unit, or that wire's connection to the sending unit, as possible problems?
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
propane



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.