Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-05-2012, 06:34 PM   #1

Rad Problems?

Very newbie here.We took our 77 dodge on the road for a few test runs.Just to get used to driving it mainly. For a couple of hours or so. .My dodge has a chrysler 360 rebuild with 45,000 miles. When we got home from first trip, I checked under rad saw small antifreeze drips.Popped hood ,traces of antifreeze on right side of rad,along seams.My mechanic suggested trying some stop leak, so I did. Second test trip went good ,got home checked all levels and no leak.Went for another test trip yesterday.This time took motorhome on faster highway.Reached destination ok.Popped hood everything seamed fine. Headed home same highways.After backing in motorhome into driveway, shutting down engine, a noise was heard. My radiator sounds like it was boiling, like a kettle sounds.The hood was extreamly hot to touch.Found a towel and opened latch after about 15min of cool down.The overflow tank was about 3/4 full.Normally has 1/4 in it. Now mind you this last trip was done on a very hot day, 33 c and high humidity.But still think something is wrong here.Next day after the engine was cooled, overflow was back to 1/4 and took of rad cap, level was full. My neighbour says check the rad cap spring and seal, may not be pressurizing system.When running engine in driveway with cap off at operating temp, level is staying full. Anyone know what may be happening here?