Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 08-20-2007, 11:43 AM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
Hello,

I have a friend who bought a very old, but serviceable slide in camper. Having owned a couple TT and a motor home, I have lots of parts laying around and have offered to help get the slide in good working order using mostly parts I have left over from various RV upgrades I have done on my own units.

Here are my plans, any helpful suggestions, and answers to my questions, would be greatly appreciated. To give you some idea of my skill level, or lack there of, my background is a BS degree in Electronics (EET), 6 years as an auto mechanic, 4 years as a general contractor doing remodeling and repairs in peoples home, a couple years repairing appliances, etc.

My first tasks were to get the Fridge and Furnace up and running. Fridge seems fine. Cleaned out some wasp nests and replaced the thermocouple on the furnace. I checked for propane leaks with a detector. I am planning on installing smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. All seems well so far.