Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-31-2011, 01:27 AM   #1

Winnebago Owners Club
Syphoning out bad gas

I have a dumb question. DISCLAIMER: Mechanics are not my field of expertise, I'm a retired nurse, anything without a pulse, I don't know.

I'm going to try to get my motor home started myself as calling a mobile auto repairman would probably cost an arm, a leg, a foot and part of my elbow. The MH has been sitting for years. I'm sure the gas has gone bad. I want to syphon out the main tank but I'm not sure what to do with the bad gas. Can I syphon it into the aux tank for now? Until I get it running and to a repair shop? I know to syphon as much out as possible then get underneath it and either undo the plug if it has one or undo the fuel line to get it all out. I have a pan for it to drain into. At the same time, I should replace the fuel filter. Not sure where that is, I need to get under it and look. This should be fun.
svdreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!