Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2013, 05:39 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
QuietWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Central MO
Posts: 328
voltage on shorepower

I am just curious if it is normal to have a fluctuation on shorepower voltage. If I plug in a heater the voltage gauge shows 120volts. If I then turn on something else like the TV or microwave, the voltage goes down a little. If I have on the everything (air conditioner, lights, TV, water heater, etc., the gauge goes down to around 100 volts. If I am on shorepower (my house - 30 amp line and breaker) shouldn't the voltage stay constant at 120volts? It stays constant in my stick and brick, which is on the same 200amp electrical box.
__________________

__________________
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
QuietWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-01-2013, 05:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,787
what is the physical length of the circuit to the 30a RV recept?
__________________

__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
QuietWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Central MO
Posts: 328
It's not a straight line but overall I would say about 40ft. on #10 wire.
__________________
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
QuietWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,250
From my experiences, the voltage will drop as you add things to the load.. In your house, you have many different circuits, working with heavier wire. In your MH, all that load comes through the one cord. Watch that voltage,, 100 volts is low enough to damage some appliances !!
__________________
Monkey, pilot of a Great Dane hauler,
2015 Silverado 2500 Duramax/Alison 4x4 CrewCab 2016 Cougar 28SGS
1ST CAV
monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: jackson,nj
Posts: 60
it has to do with wire length and size to avoid voltage drop. don't forget you also have to add the length of wire the rv has in it to get to the panel.
__________________
alv3769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
QuietWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Central MO
Posts: 328
Thanks for the replies. I've noticed this at campgrounds, too. Maybe I need a new 30 amp line on the MH, although the one I have looks in good shape.
__________________
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
QuietWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietWater View Post
Thanks for the replies. I've noticed this at campgrounds, too. Maybe I need a new 30 amp line on the MH, although the one I have looks in good shape.
Many campgrounds have less than 120 volts,, especially if everybody is running the ac .. This is covered in other threads, but I now have a kill-a-watt meter, And a plug in device to make sure it's wired properly. (don't remember the name, it has 3 lights) I'll be checking the pedestal voltage from now on Before I hook up. Like I said, low voltage can damage expensive stuff,,, AC, TV, etc... The Kill-a-watt meter will be plugged in always on an inside outlet where I can check it from time to time. We just can't afford a fancy (but nice) device to properly watch/control voltage and spikes. Maybe someday. I have replaced the 30A plug on our cord, but you'll still be somewhat limited. I guess 50A is better, but you deal with what you have. I'd be turning things off if it gets down to 107-108 volts, but I'm sure someone else will chime in here soon.
__________________
Monkey, pilot of a Great Dane hauler,
2015 Silverado 2500 Duramax/Alison 4x4 CrewCab 2016 Cougar 28SGS
1ST CAV
monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 07:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
CampDaven's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fulltime, USA
Posts: 14,452
Blog Entries: 1
A Progressive industries EMS will handle it for you and prevent any damage.
Saved me $3500 in one power hit. Well, thats what it cost my neighbor because he had no protection
__________________
Dave and Nola, RVM1
The Journey is Our Destination!

http://davenola.blogspot.com/
CampDaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 07:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by CampDaven View Post
A Progressive industries EMS will handle it for you and prevent any damage.
Saved me $3500 in one power hit. Well, thats what it cost my neighbor because he had no protection
Yep, that's what I was thinking of,, just couldn't remember the name... Thanks...
__________________
Monkey, pilot of a Great Dane hauler,
2015 Silverado 2500 Duramax/Alison 4x4 CrewCab 2016 Cougar 28SGS
1ST CAV
monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:13 PM   #10
Member
 
bob213's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fresno, Kalifornia
Posts: 34
The Progressive industries EMS-30 that CampDaven mentioned would have shut off power at 102V to protect your equipment. Besides using "energy management" to keep you from that low voltage, you might consider an Autoformer as well as the EMS.
__________________
Bob and Sue with our four legged son Jerry.
Fresno, Kalifornia
bob213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
CampDaven's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fulltime, USA
Posts: 14,452
Blog Entries: 1
I have the Ems-50. With proper adapter, can use 30 or 20A hookups
__________________

__________________
Dave and Nola, RVM1
The Journey is Our Destination!

http://davenola.blogspot.com/
CampDaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.