RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2018, 12:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
What is this

Hello all. I have a1988 Holiday Rambler Alumalite XL on a p-30 chassis. In the power distribution center, I have two breaker boxes, a 12 volt fuse panel, and a gray box with a three way manual switch. The switch is labeled “front”, and “rear” but the labels have fallen off and the third label is missing. The wires from the switch box go to each of the 110 breaker panels. I will try to post a picture, but can someone tell me what this switch is and how to use it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6D1ADC03-D679-4540-9DBC-1A5AD49F6C7C.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	289.7 KB
ID:	228240  
__________________

idgash is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-06-2018, 01:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14,519
Probably front or rear air conditioner select for when on 30 amp shore power.
__________________

twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 03:51 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks Twin. I only have 30 amp service with one a/c. Do you still think it’s in there for that option? I just bought this and the po didn’t know what it was for.
idgash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 04:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14,519
Have you run the generator to power stuff.

Check the gauge of the wire. If its 10 gauge it may have something to do with shore power.

If 12 or 14 gauge wire, not sure.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 06:28 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Yes Twinboat. It does switch power from the a/c. It only receives power when switched to front position. Thank you, I really appreciate your response. There is a 20 amp breaker in each 110 panel labeled A/C. So I guess your first thought was correct. Thanks again!
idgash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.