Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2009, 11:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Jimmy Jam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
50amp to 30amp

Hey folks...I am sure I am just an idiot asking this but, my Coleman popup is rated as a 30 amp unit. We are planning on doing some camping at CGs that only have 50 amp pedestals. Would the only thing that I would need be a 50amp to 30amp adaptor in order to hook up?

There's not any "amperage reducer", for lack of a better term, that I would need is there? Would there be any chance of overloading the camper's electrical system?

Thanks in advance!

JJ
__________________

__________________
Jim
Jimmy Jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-25-2009, 11:47 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
hdossett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Central AZ
Posts: 539
Jimmy,

The adapter is the only thing you need.

No overload problem, current is drawn, not pushed. The adapter will use only one leg of the 220V outlet, giving you 110v @ 50 amps max. Your trailers 30 amp breaker will restrict that to 30 amps max.


Only way to overload is to put too big a draw, like maybe too many AC units, then the trailers' 30 amp breaker would trip.

Harold
__________________

__________________
'01 National RV Tropi-Cal, Ford V10, '01 Suzuki GV 4X4 Blue Ox Tow Bar,300 Watts Solar, 2500 Watt '458' Inverter, NO TVs, Most light fixtures upgraded to LEDs

hdossett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 01:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
StevePav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Covington, Ga.
Posts: 158
I don't know if this matters much to you, but I entered a campground about two months ago and hooked up the their 30 amp service. Like yours, my RV is 30 amp.

Within about 10 minutes I lost power with only my AC and fridge running (breaker at the box tripped). I knew everything was working fine when I left the day before so I figured maybe I wasn't getting true 30 amp service. I pulled out my 30 amp-50 amp adaptor, plugged into the 50 amp receptacle and didn't have a problem running my electrics for the length of my stay. Perhaps an electrician could expand on why that happened.

Steve
__________________
StevePav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 01:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Greg I's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 40
Steve,

Most likely cause was a weak breaker on the 30 amp circuit. They can get weak with age and especially if the get a lot of draw near the rated trip point.
__________________
Greg, Kari & the Goldens
2009 Challenger 376, Ford Chassis
Greg I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 03:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jimmy Jam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 131
Thanks for the info Harold and others. You woulda thunk as a fire officer I shoulda known that current is drawn, not pushed...I'm still shaking off the effects of anesthesia from this past week and just had a "duhhhh" moment I guess...

Sheesh..
__________________
Jim
Jimmy Jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30amp or 50amp?? Greybeard Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 07-15-2008 09:57 AM
Coiled 50amp electric cable whyoder Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 06-26-2008 10:20 AM
30amp to 50amp adapter Logthumper Gear and Product Discussions 5 02-21-2008 04:05 PM
Is 50amp better than 30amp? Tom from Tucson RV Systems & Appliances 13 10-21-2006 03:58 PM
Another 50amp question rhoevinbt 5th Wheel Discussion 6 07-04-2006 06:31 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.