Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 01-30-2008, 06:54 PM   #1

Hello,
I am new to the site.
I would like to know if anyone has experience retrofitting a Jayco with a dexter axle to brakes. I am totally new to electric brakes and have a ton to learn.
Very capable of the do-it yourself. Just lacking the 101. Northern tool has a 7in kit from reliable for 200 which includes the hubs drums and brakes. Iw ould then need new wheels to go to the five lug. This is providing the backing plate fits. And in the current hubs match the new ones specs.

What is is needed on the trailer?

It is a 95 Jayco Eagle 10st. about 1500 dry. Maybe 1000 more loaded.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-31-2008, 10:06 PM   #2

Hammond let me welcome you to IRV2.
You will need to look at your axle and see if there is a square plate with 4 holes in it just behind the hubs. This is what the backing plate will bolt to.

Tom

00 Chevy 2500 6.0L 3.73
Sunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 01:41 PM   #3