Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2011, 09:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
adapter cord?

Just bought used popup and new to this. IT IS 15 AMP WITH 110 power cord, but has an adaptor cord to go from 110 to a larger plug like at an RV park. Am I asking for trouble by using this adaptor?
__________________

__________________
BuckHardy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2011, 09:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Senior Chief's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere in the woods in Belfair, WA, WA
Posts: 1,250
Am I asking for trouble by using this adaptor?
No, your rig will still only use the 15 amps it was designed for, even if 30 amps is available to you from the campground.

Unless, of course you go crazy and start plugging in big electric heaters and such, in which case you may be overloading the small gauge wiring inside your rig.
__________________

__________________
Life rocks when your house rolls
Senior Chief
& the Cheese Queen


Senior Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 12:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Ok, thx Senior Chief. As long as I Keep count of my amperage, I will be ok. So most RV park outlets are 110, but with differing amperage?
__________________
BuckHardy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Senior Chief's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere in the woods in Belfair, WA, WA
Posts: 1,250
Actually, the breakers inside your rig should trip if you were to exceed 15 amps on a circuit, so no worries unless you or a previous owner liked to jury rig electrical stuff .

And yes, the power from the campground pedestal will always be 110 AC, even when you use a 15-to-30 or 50 amp adapter.
__________________
Life rocks when your house rolls
Senior Chief
& the Cheese Queen


Senior Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 12:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Most RV parks have either 30/20 amp boxes of 50/30/20.. I have seen a VERY FEW sites with 30 only, (more likely to have 20 only)

The standard 15 amp plug fits the standard 15/20 amp outlet perfectly

What, you ask, is the difference between a 15 and a 20 amp?

Well,, Looking only at the two flat blades this is a 15 | |
And this, is a 20 | -

(Actually the flat blade is wider but hey, I am limited by ASCII here)
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 05:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
My adaptor plug looks like a standard female, grounded outlet that i plug my power cord into. The other end looks like two large slanted blades with a ground pin below. Like a range plug.
__________________
BuckHardy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 07:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
| — Like that? If you have a separate numerical keypad, hold down the Alt key, type 0151, then release the Alt key. Presto —

BuckHardy151, If you ever have to use an extension cord, get the shortest and heaviest Ga you can find. 3/12 or a 3/10 if you can find one.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:45 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunner
| — Like that? If you have a separate numerical keypad, hold down the Alt key, type 0151, then release the Alt key. Presto —

BuckHardy151, If you ever have to use an extension cord, get the shortest and heaviest Ga you can find. 3/12 or a 3/10 if you can find one.
Not like that --> |-- , Dunner. More like --> / .\ I'm using my smart phone. lol
__________________
BuckHardy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 10:45 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
The slanted is 30amp...
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Superslif's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: NE. Ohio USA
Posts: 4,701
If you run one of those little electric heaters (1500 watts), you might want to run a separate cord from the outside pole just for the heater. Just snake it in one of the flaps of the canvas. We do that with our hybrid, even when we had our pop-up too.

I carry around adapters for 20 to 30, 30 back to 20, and 50 down to 30.
__________________
Jim, Diane & Robert ~ NE. OH.
2018 Outdoors RV Timber Ridge 24 RKS
2014 Toyota Tundra Limited 5.7L
IRV2 Photo Album ~Let's Go Places~
Superslif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:44 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
OK, thx Superslif. Sounds like a plan to me. Sounds like I need a couple more adaptors.
__________________
BuckHardy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:52 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
The 50 to 30 I have is about a foot long. The 30 to household is ~1-1/2 inches.
__________________

__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power cord stuck, please help! charlie.b iRV2.com General Discussion 5 09-06-2011 07:43 AM
Glendinning reel 50-amp cord slipping Snuggery Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 05-20-2011 09:23 AM
Umbilical Cord Maintenance DriVer Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 03-25-2011 06:38 PM
Tips from a cord replacement on a day/night shade SargeW MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 06-11-2007 06:53 PM
Electrical Cord Plug Ends - Help Trillium Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 15 03-12-2007 11:03 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.