Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 03-19-2016, 11:54 AM   #1

PopUp issues, CANT PUT IT DOWN!!!

Happy Saturday to all, this is my first time on this forum and I am sure I'll be VERY frequent. My wife and I just bought our first camper, and are excited to get it ready for the camping season!

We bought this camper used, with a known issue :(...thinking I could easily fix the problem. One of the pulleys had became unattached from the flooring, as the wood was rotten and worn out. I re-secured the pulley to fresh wood to the bottom of the camper. Before this repair, apparently one corner of the popup had never been able to reach full height. Everything seemed to be going good, and the camper went all the way up (although not all sides went up at the same rate...).

After cleaning and beginning to install new flooring, I tried to put the camper back down. To my dismay, this one corner is stuck in the up position ahhhh!!!!!

My theories....point to the swedge that is attached to the cable and pulls the spring up, perhaps hasn't pulled this far in a long time. Perhaps the swedge is now stuck in this upright spot?

Anyways, thoughts and points of direction would be awesome for this newbie!! I'm pretty handy, and considered removing the lift arm from the top of the roof and dismantling this way....

This popup is a 2005 Jayco with the cable and spring lift system. It is approximately a 12-13 foot box.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!