Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2012, 10:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Propane

Could somebody please tell me why you can't use your aux. propane outlet sticking out from
underbelly of trailer. They tell me you have to by
special high pressure B.Q. , can't you just buy
a regulator and put that on pipe.
__________________

__________________
Stevepd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2012, 11:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RVluvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wittmann, AZ
Posts: 254
I doubt that true. The tank on your RV and the 5 gal propane tank on your BBQ in your back yard are both filled by the same tank from where ever you purchase your propane from. So both tank are under the same pressure.
__________________

__________________
RVluvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,450
The pressure regulator holds the pressure to 11 inches of water or about ½ psi. Hooking directly to the BBQ, which also has a pressure regulator, leaves you with no pressure at the BBQ. You can probably hook up the BBQ directly (no pressure regulator on it) and be OK.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
The pressure regulator holds the pressure to 11 inches of water or about ½ psi. Hooking directly to the BBQ, which also has a pressure regulator, leaves you with no pressure at the BBQ. You can probably hook up the BBQ directly (no pressure regulator on it) and be OK.
My sediments exactly but I was told at the rv place I was wrong , so I will do some more
homework and double check.
__________________
Stevepd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
I have a little different setup physically, but still the same.

There is a device called an Extend-a-Stay that is brass and connects into the propane system between the tank high pressure fitting and the main pressure regulator on MHs. This device then has 2 fittings on it. 1. To attach and additional tank. 2. To attach any propane BBQ grill that has it's own regulator.

That said, as long as your grill has it's own regulator, you NEED to connect it to the high pressure portion of the tank. Since you already have that AUX fitting, that would be the place to put it. You will of course need to get a few fittings to accomdate the standard female screw on propane hose and a cap when not in use.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:07 PM   #6
PEJ
Junior Member
 
PEJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
I have two tanks on my trailer and i was getting tired of always removing one to bbq. I looked for a hose with 'quick connect' on one end and threaded on the other to connect my portable bbq to the outside trailer adatpter. Then i realized that I would have two regulators in series. We always have the stove outside anyways so my idea was not workable.
In the end, I simply purchased a 12 foot hose that I connect to one of my tanks before pulling out the bed. I finally purchased a great portable bbq with legs that can be placed under the bed overhang when not in use. My bbq is always connected, no tank cluttering up the site, and the picnic table is Bbq free.
I wish I had done this years ago.

It is snowing a foot today so it'll be awhile before use my setup.

Peter
__________________
Peter J, New Brunswick, Canada
2001 Palomino Pony 21
MEC Tarn2 (6 lb) - Backpacking, Canoeing
PEJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 03:25 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Stublejumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevepd View Post
Could somebody please tell me why you can't use your aux. propane outlet sticking out from
underbelly of trailer. They tell me you have to by
special high pressure B.Q. , can't you just buy
a regulator and put that on pipe.
my last 2 rvs I had bought new portable BBQ from Costco ,removed hose and reg ,towed in garbage and hooked direct to propane system after regulator and had no problems,11 in/wc don't matter were it comes from.
__________________

__________________
Stublejumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
propane



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Refrigerator only works while plugged in, does not work via propane. knoby129 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 40 02-13-2014 09:09 AM
Can not get propane to MH from Tank guaranteed Class A Motorhome Discussions 28 01-18-2014 10:11 AM
Very Slow leak of Propane in my Trailer. Wildbob52 RV Systems & Appliances 46 01-05-2014 07:36 PM
Propane alarm mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 11-17-2013 06:35 PM
My Dometic 3Way Fridge On Propane Libero RV Systems & Appliances 3 10-04-2013 05:40 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.