Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2016, 06:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
110/120 volt power issues

Im only getting incoming 110 volt power on some of my outlets. also, the GFI wont reset , which i suspect is the problem . Any suggestions on what may be preventing the GFI to reset ? Thanks
__________________

__________________
oscarsrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-24-2016, 07:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,782
Unplug items downstream from the gfci to see if it's something plugged in. Disconnect wires going downstream from the gfci and see if it still won't reset. Gfci's do go bad as well.
__________________

__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 11:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,796
If you have an Inverter, check to see if you tripped the Inverter breaker. If you plug something into an inverter fed receptacle that pulls too much power, ie Hair Blow dryer, vacuum, heater, ect. it will trip the Inverter breaker. It is on the Inverter itself, and ours is located in one of the storage bays. When this happened to me I had the same experience, and found the Inverter breaker by accident, reset it and all the recpetacles worked again. Good Luck
__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 05:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Apache Junction, Az
Posts: 699
What coach do you have? Right now we are guessing.
Where is the GFI Located? Is it a stand along CB inside the panel OR an outlet?
GFI, normally connect outlets - outside, kitchen, bathroom.
So, either replace the GFI, provide more info or just call a repair person.
Yes if you have a Inverter it could pop the CB, but normally THAT breaker is either 20 or 30 amp breaker.
__________________
Dale&Susan, 08 Alfa Gold, DaGirlsRv Blog
2015 F-150XLT_1600W Solar_880 AmpHr
Magnum_MS2812
gatorcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 08:41 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
110 volt issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorcq View Post
What coach do you have? Right now we are guessing.
Where is the GFI Located? Is it a stand along CB inside the panel OR an outlet?
GFI, normally connect outlets - outside, kitchen, bathroom.
So, either replace the GFI, provide more info or just call a repair person.
Yes if you have a Inverter it could pop the CB, but normally THAT breaker is either 20 or 30 amp breaker.
Long story , but hopefully will benefit others. A power surge blew a 1/4 amp fuse inside the inverter . The Power board on the Norcold fridge is burnt out from the surge . However , will still work on lp gas . The power surge caused the Gfci to trip . Since the gfi wouldnt reset , i bought a new one. After the fuse was replaced the GFI still wouldnt reset . Will guess what , the new GFI was faulty . Put the original GFI back on and everything works fine. But stuck with a big bill i suspect to replace the fridge power board . Thanks for everyones reply
__________________
oscarsrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 08:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
Where did the surge come from?

Power providers can be made to pay for repairs if claim is filed.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 10:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
milasman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 883
GFCI only reset with power, when they don't reset, it is an indication of a tripped breaker or fuse.
__________________
milasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 04:14 PM   #8
NRR
Senior Member
 
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 284
I wonder if there is not a fuse in the AC side of the fridge board. Never looked into that.

The OP bought a new BAD GFI receptacle. For me that is not a surprise. I have bought four or more of them dang things. I get what they are for. But when one trips and another does not at the same rating. That tells me one of them is not right. I won’t go into the details. But I think they work on magic.
__________________
2011 Four Winds Chateau 28A
Ford E350
2015 GMC Terrain
NRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 04:20 PM   #9
Member
 
gateaux01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Unplug items downstream from the gfci to see if it's something plugged in. Disconnect wires going downstream from the gfci and see if it still won't reset. Gfci's do go bad as well.
Start here if your comfortable working with electricity.
__________________
gateaux01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 05:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by oscarsrv View Post
Long story , but hopefully will benefit others. A power surge blew a 1/4 amp fuse inside the inverter . The Power board on the Norcold fridge is burnt out from the surge . However , will still work on lp gas . The power surge caused the Gfci to trip . Since the gfi wouldnt reset , i bought a new one. After the fuse was replaced the GFI still wouldnt reset . Will guess what , the new GFI was faulty . Put the original GFI back on and everything works fine. But stuck with a big bill i suspect to replace the fridge power board . Thanks for everyones reply

Fridge still works on LP but not on AC?
AC is very small portion of power board...120V via power cord to AC Fuse to electric element
Have you tested/verified the 5A AC glass fuse is good???

IF you actually do have to replace power module (Circuit Board) get a Dinosaur Electronics replacement. Great Quality Boards/good pricing
__________________
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 06:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,220
I'd also suggest installing a Progressive Industries EMS to protect against surges and bad shore power. Lifetime warranty and repair. Well worth the peace of mind.

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 03:37 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Quote:
The Power board on the Norcold fridge is burnt out from the surge . However , will still work on lp gas .
If it works on LP, the board isn't "burnt out". There is a fuse for the 120v heater and that may have blown. The only other component on the board related to 120vac operation is a relay that switches the heater power on/off.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 02:28 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Norcold Refrigerator

Thanks Gary RV Roamer, you are 100 % correct. The 5 amp fuse on the power board was burnt out .
so , the fridge was working on LPG but not AC . Now its not working at all .

and you probably guessed it , the Heat sensor ( safety switch ) supplied by Norcold has tripped , which cuts off all power sources .
Has anyone had any problems getting a replacement switch from Norcold ?
I think its easier to get an appointment to see the President .
I found them to be very uncooperative and difficult to deal with .
I had the first sensor installed in Fl 3 years ago by Tom's RV repair . the tech had the sensors in his truck. I am now told by Norcold they do not supply the sensors to dealers . I have to bring my coach to an authorized dealer first before they will send out the replacement part . Sorry , but i dont get it ! in the meantime , my fridge has been out of service for at least 3 weeks and it will likely be another 3 weeks before i can get it serviced . Whatever happened to service ???
__________________
oscarsrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 04:42 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,220
oscarsrv, I'm afraid what happened to Norcold service is the liability issues Norcold has had over faulty refrigerators and failed 'heat sensors' and RV fires.

You never mentioned what model of Norcold you have, if it's in the 12xx series, you should check with Thetford about whether your unit is covered by the recall.

Norcold Cooling Unit Recall Announcement | Thetford

The term 'heat sensor (safety switch) is a little general, if you can provide a part #, it would be easier to help you. You might check here:

Norcold Parts for RV Refrigerators for Sale - PPL Motor Homes

or here:

Norcold Parts by Norcold Refrigerator Model (find all of the parts for your model!)

There are many sources for parts besides the manufacturer.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: 110 volt to 12 volt converter problems sandbums99 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 9 05-03-2016 07:20 PM
110 volt issues Paramedic 1 Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 4 09-24-2015 09:42 PM
Looking for 110 to 120 degree fan switch for Norcold 1200 Fridge ralphl RV Systems & Appliances 4 12-13-2014 10:24 AM
120 Volt Electrical Issues HDBiker Dave Newmar Owner's Forum 11 10-20-2012 04:05 PM
No power to 120 volt outlet on slide..and the solution Chandler Damon 2 08-03-2007 02:19 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.