Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2013, 07:49 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,314
Have you removed and tested the breaker?
__________________

__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-04-2013, 08:10 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
vraines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 695
I have a Dutch Star and I just flipped that light breaker to see what went out. My TV and related electronics are on that circuit. Good place to start looking.
__________________

__________________
vraines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 07:59 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
barry2pam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sparks NV
Posts: 10
took the GFI totaly out of the circuit so should be nothing on it and still braker still trips. Smoke test sounds a bit scary.
__________________
barry2pam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:14 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
chuckinthebus's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,710
Capn Dave's "smoke test" is scary. Don't try this at home! If taking the GFI outlet off of it and it still trips, try another breaker. If you changed the breaker before, you may not have everything back in place right.
__________________
Chuck, Sara (RVM 50.5) & Chopper (the fuzzy 1)
2003 DSDP w/2015 Jeep Wrangler, 2 Kayaks & 2 bikes. Living and Loving life.
RVM50
chuckinthebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:58 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Randy125's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 316
Have you disconnected the tv and dvd player up front.?
__________________
2002 KSDP 3669/Freightliner XC CHASSIS/Cummins 5.9 ISB 300hp
Joplin, MO
Randy125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:03 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capn_Dave View Post
The next step which should never be done unless you are an EE like me is what we call the SMOKE TEST. This test is preformed by putting in a 100 amp breaker in place of the 20 amp. Crank up the gen set and watch for smoke. Usually once the smoke is let out and you replace the area that let the smoke out with fresh smoke you should be good to go

Fair Winds
Dave
Hopefully your insurance won't find out you did this and deny fire damage coverage when it burns down!
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:01 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
ARTWERKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Posts: 466
If you can't recover from the "Smoke Test" You'll be Ready for the 'Sync " test, or if you prefer, the "Sink Test". Where you Place the object in deep water, and if it doesn't Sink, you fixit. Former Navy ET.
__________________
ARTWERKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:44 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
barry2pam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sparks NV
Posts: 10
I will reset the breaker. thats a good thought. I have unpluged everything on this circuit. It really acts like a dead short but once all outlets are disconected it can't be. Could my inverter be causing this?
__________________
barry2pam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:08 AM   #23
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
Have you checked the wiring in load center even the wire clamp for cable in box, insulation may have broken down.
Does the inverter go off when circuit is not working?
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:47 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
You say in your first post that you "disconnected all receptacles".

(1) Does that mean you physically removed each outlet and removed the Neutral/Hot/Ground wires from each along that circuit?

(2) Did you try removing/testing/replacing the breaker itself as GaryKD mentions in an earlier response?

(3) Have you removed the cover on the breaker panel to visually inspect for any other wires that may have come loose and perhaps in contact with the breaker in question?

It is entirely possible that the circuit supply wiring has been chafed on something hidden from your view. If all steps above have been checked then, depending upon how comfortable you are using a volt/ohm/test meter I would (disconnect shore line, shut off main breaker, disconnect inverter if you have one, disconnect battery cables to generator) remove the breaker from the buss, and using the wires for that circuit, would begin doing some continuity testing backwards through that entire circuit. You should be able to determine where the problem exists in a matter of minutes - obtaining access to the problematic area for repair may prove to be a more time consuming matter.

Edit: Smoke test? That has to be the absolute most idiotic backwardsassed thing I've heard heard of in all my years of Resi/Comm electrical troubleshooting and experience.
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:49 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,722
after checking the last things 007 has asked, while you have the front cover off the breaker panel, is there any signs of wire discoloration? (hot wires) especially on the white neutral wires? Does the breaker that you are having trouble with feel any different than another 20 amp. breaker in the panel when you switch it off and reset it(switch it on)? If not, pull the 20 amp. breaker out that is tripping and go get a new on and relpace it.
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:08 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
If entertainment Center is on the circuit then inverter likely on circuit also.

Someone else had same issue, pulled cover and discovered wire had came loose and was touching opposite wire causing short.

Locate inverter and check connections.

Remove if not loose, inverter may have MOV protection inside that could be shorted, it is how they protect...
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:33 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,314
If the inverter is in the circuit, it complicates the diagnostics. TQ60, has a good task to try. It may be time to take the inverter out of the circuit and see what happens.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 04:21 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Capn_Dave's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Green Cove Springs Fl
Posts: 220
Where did an inverter come into play? Did I miss something?
__________________

__________________
Capn_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, newmar



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.