Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2005, 12:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
I had to replace my 45 amp converter that charges my coach batteries. The problem I am having is that my old converter had 3 hole receptacle on the dc side, the new one has only two. The old one has a ground, negative, and positive. The new one has only a negative and positive. What do I do with the extra cable?
__________________

__________________
BillR38701

97 Winnebago Vectra
BillR38701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-21-2005, 12:52 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
I had to replace my 45 amp converter that charges my coach batteries. The problem I am having is that my old converter had 3 hole receptacle on the dc side, the new one has only two. The old one has a ground, negative, and positive. The new one has only a negative and positive. What do I do with the extra cable?
__________________

__________________
BillR38701

97 Winnebago Vectra
BillR38701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 03:30 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
would i leave the ground loose with tape on it?
__________________
BillR38701

97 Winnebago Vectra
BillR38701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 11:39 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Bill, if the box that the converter is in is plastic then a equipment ground is not needed and the bare ground wire can just be left unattached. If however the box is metal, there should be a ground lug on the outside of it somewhere that the ground wire will attach to.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 10:27 AM   #5
isa
Senior Member
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Richmond, B.C., Canada
Posts: 107
This summer I had to replace my Todd Engineering 55amp converter with a PD9160. The old converter had the three connections for positive, negative and ground all together. The PD9160 was quite different in that the positive and negative were on one side of the converter but the ground was on the opposite side. Check and see if your new converter is similar.
__________________
isa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM
Winnebego Cash Bonus Applejack Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 04-28-2008 04:21 PM
Converter/Charger Amp Output Thudman Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 01-10-2007 10:17 AM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 11:28 AM
45 amp electronic converter Jim Scoggins Truck Camper Discussion 4 01-23-2005 04:24 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.