Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2017, 03:43 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 27,607
Years ago we stayed at a campground very near an Indian casino in OR. (not 7 Feathers). It had a normal 50 amp receptacle, but a 30 amp breaker on one leg and a 20 amp on the other!. Not sure what kind of "electrician" did that and what inspector approved it!
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-27-2017, 03:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 264
Do you really think that an electrician doesn't know how to wire a 30 amp or 50 amp RV outlet? I seriously doubt it. I agree...show him the plug and all will be well.
__________________

__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 04:19 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,302
You are not simply providing 2, 120 volt lines to the coach.

To do that you would need 5 wires, ( L1, N1 ), ( L2, N2 ) and ground. Otherwise both L1 and L2 would be on the same buss. That would overload a single neutral.

With a 240 volt service the L1 and L2 are on opposite legs and share 1 neutral. The neutral only carries the differance between the L1 and L2s current.

If you are drawing 37 amps from L1 and 37 amps from L2, the neutral is carrying 0 amps. If L1 is 20 amps and L2 is 30 amps, neutral is carrying 10 amps.

To get 50 amps to each leg, with only 4 wires, it MUST be 240 volt service.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 06:40 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Hgrace56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
You are not simply providing 2, 120 volt lines to the coach.

To do that you would need 5 wires, ( L1, N1 ), ( L2, N2 ) and ground. Otherwise both L1 and L2 would be on the same buss. That would overload a single neutral.

With a 240 volt service the L1 and L2 are on opposite legs and share 1 neutral. The neutral only carries the differance between the L1 and L2s current.

If you are drawing 37 amps from L1 and 37 amps from L2, the neutral is carrying 0 amps. If L1 is 20 amps and L2 is 30 amps, neutral is carrying 10 amps.

To get 50 amps to each leg, with only 4 wires, it MUST be 240 volt service.
There are not typically 2 neutral conductors.
Since there are only 4 blades on a NEMA 14-50R a fifth conductor would be in necessary
__________________
Hgrace56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 07:21 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hgrace56 View Post
There are not typically 2 neutral conductors.
Correct ! Two neutral conductors are not needed with 240 volt service.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 06:46 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
A 50A outlet for an RV is two 120VAC 50A circuits! If he hooks it up for 240 you will probably burn up everything in your rig! Either get another electrician that is familiar with this hookup or get the correct wiring diagram to give to this one!

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf

50 amp wiring diagram that makes RV electric wiring easy
You're obviously out of your element. Two 120v hot legs, 180 degrees out of phase, yields 240v potential. The 50 amp RV input is a 120/240v input. Use 1 hot leg and the neutral for 120v loads. Use both hot legs for a 240v load such as an electric close dryer.
__________________
Hank & Lynda
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 35U
70ChevelleSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:03 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 264
Personally I think that some people are trying to give an electrician too much information, much of it that they do not themselves understand. Virtually any electrician understands these issues once they see the rig and the plug.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:15 AM   #22
Just south of Twin Cities
 
Cooperhawk's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 5 miles south of Lakeville, Mn
Posts: 1,489
The electrician is correct. I have outlets for both 50 amp 110 volt, and 50 amp 240 volt. The latter is for welders and other equipment that use that voltage. The difference is the receptacle. One plug will not plug into the other receptacle.

Just in my storage barn where I keep the MH I have both receptacles.

Warning! If your plug does not fit a receptacle, do not modify it to fit.
__________________
Retired FAA ATC,
VFW (Life Member)LEGION, NRA (Life Member)
2002 Journey DL 36, 3126 Cat 330hp
2015 Ford Explorer Blue Ox tow bar, AF1
Cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:21 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooperhawk View Post
Warning! If your plug does not fit a receptacle, do not modify it to fit.
Absolutely...that is why they have different plugs and receptacles!!!!!!
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:37 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 157
It's really pretty simple. It's wired for 240 and the box in your coach takes care of the rest.
__________________
Rollin101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:43 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollin101 View Post
It's really pretty simple. It's wired for 240 and the box in your coach takes care of the rest.
Actually, it is split phase and thus can supply either 240 or 120, depending on the breaker configuration. I am sure that you understand, but this is the kind of thing that gets people without electrical experience into trouble. A 3 wire dryer outlet is wired for 240 as well, and no amount of magic can pull 120 from it at the panel.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 10:11 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: "Murvil", TN
Posts: 453
It's actually much simpler than some of you are suggesting.....

Tell them to hire a qualified Electrician that actually knows what the hell he's doing. If he doesn't know something as simple as a basic service for a 50 amp RV application, I'm betting that he won't know much about proper wire size, NEC requirements, etc. I simply wouldn't take the chance on something like this and risk damaging equipment or worse, a possible fire.
__________________
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 10:12 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 264
Are you telling me that I can no longer "trust the union label?"
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 11:00 AM   #28
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 25,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70ChevelleSS View Post
You're obviously out of your element. Two 120v hot legs, 180 degrees out of phase, yields 240v potential. The 50 amp RV input is a 120/240v input. Use 1 hot leg and the neutral for 120v loads. Use both hot legs for a 240v load such as an electric close dryer.

I obviously didn't state that right. The 240 VAC is there, but the connector is wired to provide two 120 VAC circuits.
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220V/30 Amp vs 220V/50 Amp distaff Class A Motorhome Discussions 71 02-20-2017 06:09 AM
30A 220v instead of 50A 220v cb1000rider iRV2.com General Discussion 87 04-07-2016 06:47 AM
30 amp at 120v or 240v gboyle Class C Motorhome Discussions 29 04-21-2014 05:45 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.