Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2014, 08:27 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 66 View Post
I used my 30' 50a extension several times.

It was heavy, stiff and expensive, but I needed it.
Same here. In fact I carry some 300' of extension cords, could have used more at one venue but decided I'd just run the gen instead.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-28-2014, 11:59 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
1ciderdog's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ciderdog View Post
I carry an extra 50 foot (I think ten gauge but might be 8) longer cords do need heavier wiring if you want to carry a load, right? And I have used it, most often at a friend or relatives house ,not at an RV park.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
A 50 amp should be AWG 6 to carry the rated current. You can get by with 10 gauge for the 30 Amp.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07

Steve, Thanks but I've only used it for 30 amp. If I needed 50 I'd probably be running the generator.
__________________

__________________
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 1995 Wrangler
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:07 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,332
We carry a 30' 50 amp cord. This year we've used it several times where the coach would have had to be facing away from the lake for the standard cord to reach the pedestal. It's sort of pointless to have a campsite with a lake view if you have to face away from it to use the electrical hook up.

We also used it several times the last few years when camping in Canadian National Parks. Some have a power pedestal centrally located between 4 or 5 campsites. The pedestal is at least 60' from the campsites and requires some sort of extension cord.

The first time we ran into this the campground office had 50' cords that could be used with a $100.00 deposit. When the cord was returned the deposit was refunded. We were lucky enough to get the last one they had available. Since then we've carried along our own. In the last 3 years it's been used at least a dozen times at campgrounds. I also use it at home when the motorhome is in the drive being prepared for a trip, or when we clean it up after returning from a trip.
__________________
Hikerdogs
2013 Adventurer 32H
Hikerdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:21 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,329
Can we get more off subject for the OP. He's not dog showing or camping in an open field. He is in RV parks. There are only a couple times in a RV park/resort I have needed an extension cord and in the SW a 30 amp would do in the winter. Now water is a different story, carry an extra 50 ft in two 25s.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 06:38 PM   #19
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,243
I bought a 15' 50-amp extension cord but recently had to replace the main power cord so I bought one that was 15' longer than the original.

[moderator edit]
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 08:43 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
I bought a 15' 50-amp extension cord but recently had to replace the main power cord so I bought one that was 15' longer than the original.

[moderator edit]

You might want to consider keeping your 15' if you have the space. I have 40' hard wired and sometimes it is convient to hook up smaller one than busting out the longer then having to put it back. Many times in southwest 40' not enough.
__________________
Gene Holcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 07:09 AM   #21
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gene Holcomb View Post
You might want to consider keeping your 15' if you have the space. I have 40' hard wired and sometimes it is convient to hook up smaller one than busting out the longer then having to put it back. Many times in southwest 40' not enough.
Gene, the 40' reels in and out of the MH so that's no problem!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 10:11 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Newcastle West, Ireland
Posts: 392
don't forget the longer the cord the lower the amperage it can carry as you will have a damaging voltage drop as your load goes up. The way to prevent this is to use a heavier gauge, #6 and better yet #4. 10 gauge at 30 amps is good for only 50 feet, 6 gauge at 50 amps is good for only 50 feet.
Use this to figure it out Wire Size Calculator
__________________
'98 Southwind 34L, too many cameras, old hat, young heart.
May the light be with you.
Mentor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 10:18 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 66 View Post
I used my 30' 50a extension several times.

It was heavy, stiff and expensive, but I needed it.

Our parking at home requires and extension to the OEM cable. Rather than use a 110V extension cord, we use the 30' 50A cord, with adapter at the box.

Heavy doesn't come into play, since it has to be under 20 pounds. Cumbersome, sure, but not often handled.
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 09:59 AM   #24
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
I carry a 15 ft 50A cord and use it occasionally, but my shore cord is a long one (it reaches to the front of the coach by itself). Some coaches come with somewhat shorter cords, so measure what you think you might need to reach a pedestal on the opposite side or far in front.

I also carry 10 ft and 25 ft 30A cords, so can always make do with 30A if the power source is really far away.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 02:31 PM   #25
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,278
You need to look at your own situation. Twenty plus people on here really can't tell you what you need when using their coaches as an example.

Our Diplomat had the cord at the rear of the coach and was only 25' long. We carried an extra 15' 50 amp cord in case the outlet was near the front of the campsite. Our new coach has a power cord reel directly in the center of the coach with a 50' cord. It can reach all around our 40' coach without any extensions.

So....where does your cord mount, front, center or rear? How long is your cord? Do some math.....take your cord and see if it can reach all four corners of your coach (in case you go into the campsite in the wrong direction) with enough slack to reach an outlet. After doing the above test, decide how much additional cord you may need to access power at the farthest point of connection. You may not need any, or least know exactly how much you need, 10', 15', 20'.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 06:20 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 171
It depends on the length of the cable the gauge of the wire and how much current you're putting through it. The cable causes a voltage drop that increase the current. Plug it in and feel the cord, if it starts to get hot, unplug it immediately. I had an extension melt on me before the breaker tripped. Here's a link to help determine what you need Voltage Drop Table
__________________
Don and Barb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 08:12 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,335
50A cords should be #6. I used 6-4 SO cable for my 50' extension and like mentioned before it is extremely durable and much more flexible. I also carry a 50A receptacle around with me with about 5' of #6 wires and a 2-pole 50A breaker, in case I need to upgrade a location. I used it at my uncle's ranch last week, coming off his main panel. I told him I only planned on staying a couple months. He didn't see the humor. My rig will never pull 50A on either leg, even if I had everything turned on at the same time.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 05:22 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
I have four (well technically 5) cords.

50 amp cord that came with RV.... Plus an etension

30 amp Super flex (winter type) cord, (This one has a 50 amp Marinco outlet) plus etension.

30 amp to double quad (15/20 amp outlets) used to power tools, lights, radios and such on assorted occasions.. Yes, I have a TT-30 on the RV, this came out of a trailer I modified to use 30 amps.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extension cord WDW Class C Motorhome Discussions 14 01-27-2015 07:10 AM
2003 Pace Arrow 36b 30 amp cord ? puzzlegb Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 10 08-19-2014 05:10 AM
50 amp extension cord....need it? smlranger Class A Motorhome Discussions 40 07-13-2014 02:40 PM
30 amp v/s 50 amp adapter cord ?? tbbronson RV Systems & Appliances 9 05-05-2014 10:00 AM
Need short 50 amp cord? lenjen National RV Owner's Forum 48 10-12-2013 10:29 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.