Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2009, 06:42 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
50 amp Service Question

Going to trade my MH which is a 30 AMP system to a newer MH with a 50 AMP system. Is a 50 amp system a 240 volts or 110 volts? In some MH catalogs they say it is a 240 v. I always thought they divided the MH into two power grids of 110 volt 25 amp eaxh. Is this correct or am I out to lunch?

So if it is still a 110 V power and I want power to keep the batteries charged and run one AC unit then can I buy one of those adapters that you plug the power cord in to that then has two 110 volt 20 amp plugs coming out of it? Then chose which one those 20 amp 110 plugs I want to hook up to give me power to what circuits?
__________________

__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-04-2009, 06:50 PM   #2
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Unless you are trading for a "mega-coach" most 50 amp coaches have two 110VAC, 50amp circuits. Everything in the coach that is AC will use 110VAC. Nothing will use 240VAC.
When you do not have a 50 amp receptacle to plug into you should use a 50amp F x 30amp M adapter (dogbone). If you only have 20 amp available then you can plug the dogbone adapter into a 30amp F x 20amp M adapter.

Hope this answers your question
__________________

__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 799
As KIX said, with 30-amps you get 30 amps and with 50-amps you get two 50-amp circuits for a total of 100-amps. You will love a 50-amp motothome.
__________________
Norm4015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:41 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Thanks. Ok so if I have a dogbone adapter that splits up the two 50 amp circuits and I want to just use one 20 amp regular outlet/wall socket while staying at a friends house for a couple of days can I run just one AC unit and the battery charger? Everything else at a minimum, no hairdryer, no microwave or anything like that.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Monaco38's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 172
We had several days of record braking temperatures in the Northwest over 100 degrees this summer. We are not prepared for that kind of temperatures and moved into our MH for the duration. Had not yet gotten a 30 amp RV plug wired for our newly acquired MH. We were able to run the front AC unit and the most necessary of AC items like TV on a 20 amp circuit from the house without tripping the circuit. Our MH is 50 amps which as previously pointed out is two 110VAC circuits. The second AC unit in our case is on the 2nd 110 circuit only available when plugged in to a 50 amp supply. When you plug in to a 30 amp supply with the "dog bone" adapter, or into a 20 amp supply with an additional 30 amp to 20 amp adapter you will probably only have one AC unit available. Running the genset of course would give you full power for all your AC needs.

The long and the short of it is that yes, with a 50 amp MH it is most likely two 110VAC circuits, and not 220 VAC, and with the proper adapters you can plug in to a 30 amp service, or in an "emergency", a 20 amp service, keeping in mind that you must ration your current draw accordingly or risk tripping the supply circuit breaker.
__________________
Jerry & Barb ~ Furbies: Dylan, Daisy, Brandee, Finnegan
2003 Monaco Camelot 38PST, Cummins 350 ISC, Roadmaster RR8S chassis, 2004 Honda CR-V Toad, FMCA, Olympia, WA K7DKO

Monaco38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 03:33 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Contrary to popular belief. A 50 amp service is 120/240 volt 60 hz. 1 phase. This is needed so that the opposing amperage of L1 and L2 can cancel out the return amperage on the neutral and we would not need a huge neutral conductor as if you only had two 120 volt circuits. While it is true most all coaches do not have 240 volt apparatuses, there are a few that use a 120/240 volt dryer and this obtainable by use of a double pole circuit breaker connected to L1 and L2. On these dryers used in coaches that have the Onan quiet diesel generators there is a notice label that states, the dryer is unusable off of the generator. This is because the generator does not produce 120/240 volts but two lines of 120 volts along with two neutral conductors.
The voltage potential of 240 volts is how we can automatically program an EMS to know when we are on a 50 amp service or a 30 amp service. If an adapter is used to plug a 50 amp power cord into a 30 amp receptacle there is no longer 240 volts potential. Both L1 and L2 are wired to the one hot leg of the 30 amp plug.
If your coach has an EMS system you can select the incoming available amperage on down below the 30 amp threshold to prevent tripping of main circuit breakers. If you do not have an EMS, you will have to be mindful as to how much current you are trying to use and not overload the circuit breaker feeding the receptacle you are plugged into.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:17 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Thanks to all, that pretty well answers my questions.

One other question....has any one got a wiring diagram of how to wire up a 50 amp receptacle so I can install one just inside my garage door at home and on my property on the water?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:29 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Richard S.'s Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Cajon CA
Posts: 1,634
This link may help.

RV Electric
__________________
2007 Sea Breeze LX 8321 Ford Chassies
2004 Ford Ranger Edge
El Cajon CA.
Richard S. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:30 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
DandS's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 920
Mike - this might help you out: RV Wiring
__________________
Dave
2010 Canyon Star 3647
2010 Ford Escape
DandS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:35 AM   #10
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
Quote:
has any one got a wiring diagram of how to wire up a 50 amp receptacle so I can install one just inside my garage door at home and on my property on the water?
Mike,

Try this website: RV Electric
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 10:11 AM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,901
I created an RV Electricity tutorial course at Electrical Tutorial that may answer this and other questions regarding RV electricity. There's even a quiz at the end if you're interested.

RV Wizard is right on the 120/240 part of it. It is a split-phase system. If you have a 10KW generator or larger chances are it is a 120/240 generator also, whereas the 7KW and smaller gensets are generally straight 120 volt in-phase systems.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 10:50 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Nice work, cruzer.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:20 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Canter View Post
Going to trade my MH which is a 30 AMP system to a newer MH with a 50 AMP system. Is a 50 amp system a 240 volts or 110 volts?
50 amp service is really 50 amps, 120/240 volts (That is 240 volts divided if you want to get technical)

Everything in the coach is usually 120 volt, So you can use your 30 amp 120 volt and run one AC, exactly as you wish to do, no problem.. In fact the park I woke up in that is EXACTLY what I did with this 50 amp rig.. The park I"m in now... 50 amp site... I just changed cords.

The only exceptions is if you have an "All Electric" coach.. There may be some 240 volt things.

Electric Dryer and electric range MIGHT.

But frankly.. I do not think you will have those. RV type dryer is 120 volt.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 08:39 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 32
Thank you so much for this tutorial. Our coach just experienced a burn out of several things...microwave, converter, shore panel, motor on room, water heater...we do not know what happened. We were having service done at one shop and they found leak in hydraulic line....so we had replaced two of them...then we were going to hook up fridge to get ready for vacation and only circuit breakers tripped. Took to shop and found a lot of things burned up....now fixed...so we will be looking into this tutorial and seeing what we do not have on the coach that we need....cannot thank you enough...seems like we need to learn more each time we go out and next year want to go out west....again...thank you so much
__________________

__________________
2008 Winnebago View
2008 Honda CRV
simmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 50 Amp coach on 30 Amp service Higgins RV Systems & Appliances 7 11-26-2008 05:46 AM
Electrical Question - Two 30 amps into One 50 amp Eusefull MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 05-29-2008 09:59 PM
Question on installing 50 AMP plug mom2mastiffs RV Systems & Appliances 10 09-28-2007 11:26 AM
Generator Service Question Gregg RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-31-2007 08:52 AM
50 Amp service question MO _ Jack 5th Wheel Discussion 23 07-03-2006 11:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.