Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2009, 12:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,243
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
A/C LOW/HI Speed Fan Swap

If you have a Dometic Penguin 13.5 or 15K A/C and use the Auto function when running in A/C mode and wonder why the HI speed fan never kicks in here is why.

In the AUTO COOL mode the fan will automatically select the speed depending upon the difference between the temperature SET-POINT and the room temperature.
When that difference is:
  • 8 degrees or more - The fan will operate on HIGH
  • 4 to 8 degrees - The fan will operate on MED
  • 4 degrees or below - The fan will operate on LOW

But, if you want to change this is simple 2 wire swap. But, be aware that you will be working with 120 volts. So, make sure that you have DROPPED shore power before you attempt this.

If you remove the A/C shroud you will find a cover for the wiring to the circuit board. This cover is held on with 2 machine screws.



Again make sure you DO NOT have shore power going to the coach as T1 and T3 are live wires!!!!! Now swap T1 (black wire) and T3 (red wire) and your done.

__________________

__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-19-2009, 10:37 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
footdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,002
I did this to my NON Penguin heat pump and it works great...only runs on high speed now, which is what I really need with my barely adequate cooling abilities..
__________________

__________________
2006 Mountain Aire 43 and 05 Honda Pilot
Air Force One..Real Whirlpool Fridge !
3 sugar gliders, long hair daschund and short hair wife for security
footdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 10:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,243
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
I am sure this swap will work with other Dometic A/C units and maybe even other brands assuming you have multiple windings on the blower motor and you can find the 2 wires to swap.

One thing I forgot to mention is that if you have a Heat Pump version you will not have a MED speed, just Low and HI.
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 01:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
I have a Carrier system, Low/High/Auto.. I keep 'em on HIGH normally.. Why.. Well, if you put it on auto then when the temps are cool enough the fan shuts off, and the change in noise level is most annoying

But with the fan locked on HIGH, the noise is steady and the brain's noise filters are excellent at dealing with this kind of noise
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 03:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,243
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
The reason I did the swap as I wanted the fan to shut off when the compressor did. If you take it out of Auto mode the fans run continuously. I am looking at adding a switch to allow me to switch back to default config if I want.
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C fan issues Roving Medic RV Systems & Appliances 5 07-06-2009 03:38 AM
Dash A/C Fan Control BritFan National RV Owner's Forum 2 01-25-2009 05:11 PM
Monaco Developing Variable Speed Fan Kit NW Knight Monaco Owner's Forum 9 10-23-2008 07:30 AM
Dash A/C Fan Problem AlpineAZ Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 17 10-22-2008 03:10 PM
AC Blower Fan (Cab) Speed Varies Gaspo Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 08-15-2005 08:23 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.