Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 05:42 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
I'll make this quick and to the point, i am on my 3rd a/c in the rear, same problem everyone, amps start out good... after 100 outside, amps runs up over 20 triping breaker, dometic 15, 07 dynasty, factory unit replace, dometic unit replace, dometic unit replaced..same problem.. so now here's the quesiton.. do you think if they undersized the wiring, that it could be loosing voltage, casuing the compressor to work harder, causing the amps to increase too much.. this is the rear a/c 44 ft coach..
__________________

__________________
jefflewin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-29-2007, 05:42 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
I'll make this quick and to the point, i am on my 3rd a/c in the rear, same problem everyone, amps start out good... after 100 outside, amps runs up over 20 triping breaker, dometic 15, 07 dynasty, factory unit replace, dometic unit replace, dometic unit replaced..same problem.. so now here's the quesiton.. do you think if they undersized the wiring, that it could be loosing voltage, casuing the compressor to work harder, causing the amps to increase too much.. this is the rear a/c 44 ft coach..
__________________

__________________
jefflewin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 05:49 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Check or have someone check the voltage at the rear unit when it is operating. Also have the amperage checked at the rear nit. Thus would be a good starting point.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 06:17 AM   #4
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
Considering it's tripping a 20 amp breaker it's very possible there is a voltage loss involving the supply wiring to the AC. It could be as simple as a high resistance connection in breaker box. A telltale sign would be discolored insulation at the point of connection to the buss bar and/or the wire attached to the breaker. Often, these screws get loose.

It's easy to check, just take a look in there and even if they look good it's easy to loosen the terminals' screws, move the wires slightly, then re-tighten.

If the wire to the AC isn't at least 12/2 with ground, then undersized wire may be the problem.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 06:54 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Hitchhiker:
Considering it's tripping a 20 amp breaker it's very possible there is a voltage loss involving the supply wiring to the AC. It could be as simple as a high resistance connection in breaker box. A telltale sign would be discolored insulation at the point of connection to the buss bar and/or the wire attached to the breaker. Often, these screws get loose.

It's easy to check, just take a look in there and even if they look good it's easy to loosen the terminals' screws, move the wires slightly, then re-tighten.

If the wire to the AC isn't at least 12/2 with ground, then undersized wire may be the problem. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Thanks hitchiker, no one has ever looked at the breaker, i have the alladin, so what i do is turn everything off so i show no amps then turn on each a/c and watch the amps, and when they see the amps climbing up, it finally trips after about 24 amps, i will check the breaker wires today, and also check to see what size they are, the middle air does this once in a while, but not very often, the front air works perfect, and never gets over 18-19 even at 106 outside
__________________
jefflewin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 07:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 115
You might try replacing the breaker first. Believe or not they do wear out. FWIW
__________________
"Where are we going again, Dear?

1997 Damon Challenger
Matt B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 07:42 AM   #7
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">You might try replacing the breaker first. Believe or not they do wear out. FWIW </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If the breaker were weak and tripping prematurely at less than it's stated rating, that wouldn't account for the fact that his AC is burning out 3 times. If it were tripping at a current higher than it's stated rating, the question would remain why that circuit is seeing such a high amperage.

I'd be suspect of a high resistance connection first and secondly undersized wiring. I doubt the breaker is the culprit itself.... but if he wants to change it just for kicks, that will in effect give him a renewed connection on the hot leg when it's put in.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 02:41 PM   #8
adj
Senior Member
 
adj's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: middleburg,fl
Posts: 572
If you are burning up the A/C units, you are probably experiencing low voltage at the A/C unit. As has been expressed here, try getting a voltage reading under load.

If your amperage creeps up, you probably have a corresponding drop in voltage.

That said, I would suggest you check ground connections at the ground bus in the circuit breaker panel. Make sure they are tight and then check the connections on the A/C c/bs.
__________________
Dale & Betty

04 Lapalma 33'
adj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 07:24 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
well, i think i'll give up.. it has sure stumped a lot of people, just talked to monaco, and there getting there plant mangager involved, check the wires to the breaker, good, tight,check the wires to the a/c.. perfect.. 12 guage, just what they are suppose to be, ran the middle air only yesterday, 1:00 p.m. breaker shuts down, a/c at 24 amps, line voltage at 114... re-set breaker, a/c running at 21 amps.. squited down with water droped to 17 amps for a few minutes then back up... then turned on rear air, it ran for 2 hours..same thing.. front air perfect... remember 3 new a/c in rear.. 2nd in middle... looks like monaco might have a lemon on there hands, will wait for a call back on monday from colburg
__________________
jefflewin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:35 PM   #10
adj
Senior Member
 
adj's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: middleburg,fl
Posts: 572
Are all your units 15K? My 13.5Ks are protected by 20 amp breakers. I wonder if your breakers are undersized. Also, these are independent units. If the voltage stays steady with an increase in current, it is being caused by the unit.
__________________
Dale & Betty

04 Lapalma 33'
adj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:40 AM   #11
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,599
My 15K BTU A/Cs are protected by 20 AMP breakers, and normally draw 15 Amps or less when running.

Sometimes, something that seems to be so easy to diagnose can be so difficult.

Another thing to remember is, that which cannot possibly be the problem, usually is.

Good luck, and keep us posted.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 04:34 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
ronboc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,256
I kinda have to ask the same thing as adj (Dale). Could the breaker be weak or too small?

As a shade-tree mechanic for that kinda stuff, if Monaco is stumped I'd run another heavier-gauge line right from the rear a/c to input to one of the others. That way, it should prove out whether it's the rear a/c circuit or not (altho you do stand the chance of toasting another a/c).

Keep us posted.
Ron
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - -

'06 HR Endeavor 40PAQ (Mission Hills decor). All options, but still finding more to add.
ronboc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 05:49 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
not to be rude, but i don't think everyone has really read the problem, if the breaker is holding up to 25 amps, how????? could the breaker be weak or too small... the a/c should NEVER be anything close to 25.. NEVER... but i do like the idea of trying a heavier wire, i think i'm going to run from the rear a/c a 10 guage, on the floor ( temporary) directy to the breaker,, and then read amps... but thanks everyone for your great respones... one thing is i know somewhere down the road someone is going to expernice this problem, and hoperfully i can everyone a correct answer...
__________________
jefflewin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 06:37 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: AZ
Posts: 36
Jeff, sounds like you have a tough one. The kind of problem I get a lot. Taken one at a time, every thing looks good, but the system does not work. I hate those kind of problems.

Looking back through the posts, I didn't see any mention of being at different locations and with the temps being over 100 a lot, sounds like you are staying in one location. Are you in an RV park, or at home hooked up to your own power.

The reason I ask is that if all of this happened at the same location, it could be the 50 amp ?? breaker at the source that is actually bad or weak connection, and the 20 amp breaker is tripping before the 50 Amp gets into trouble. It could be just one leg of the breaker, and likely, the two A/C units having problems are on the same leg, and the third one (the main one?) is on the other leg and doing fine.

I have had breakers and main power boxes go bad. Had a condo water heater that kept tripping its internal breaker because of a weak breaker in the main panal. Also had the same panel to get hot because of a bad connection on the power coming into it. It was a corroded Aluminum wire the insulation melted. Had to cut off one inch and reconnect using an anti corrosion grease on the connections.

Anyway, just something to think about. Good luck and be sure to keep up posted.

Harold
__________________

__________________
Once a full timer and miss the road.

'01 Nat'l RV, Tropical 33' Ford V10
H. Dossett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MORE PROBLEMS- WHAT IS NEXT? big jimbo Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 9 06-13-2008 01:15 PM
More AC problems gunny Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 08-13-2007 05:24 PM
Problems Lynnvt Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 9 01-17-2006 01:06 PM
Leaking problems with Hybrid anyone else have problems? Barrie Expandables, Hybrids, & Lightweights Discussion 2 11-20-2005 09:08 AM
No problems? Fxrscotty MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 09-19-2005 01:32 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.