Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2014, 05:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 627
Adapter to monitor hook up amperage

Obviously, i don't know it's correct name.
But I want to get the adapter that plugs into shore power prior to the motorhomes 30 amp plug that shows how much amperage is coming through.

What should I google exactly? And what is a ballpark price for one?

I want to be able to tell if the 30 or 50 amp hook up is allowing the best amperage.
__________________

__________________
2015 Thor ACE EVO30.1

EricGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-30-2014, 06:18 AM   #2
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,289
Adapter to monitor hook up amperage

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricGT View Post
Obviously, i don't know it's correct name.
But I want to get the adapter that plugs into shore power prior to the motorhomes 30 amp plug that shows how much amperage is coming through.

What should I google exactly? And what is a ballpark price for one?

I want to be able to tell if the 30 or 50 amp hook up is allowing the best amperage.

Confused..... The 50 amp hook up ALWAYS allows the best amperage.

And the voltage is not likely to be different at the same pedestal between 30 and 50
Amp (if it has both)

Maybe you want a EMS. A Energy Monitor System like this.

http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_pt50c.htm

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1412075879.920137.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	546.3 KB
ID:	75367
__________________

__________________
pasdad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 07:09 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Of all the devices that can do that I also recommend the Progressive Industries PT30C (Since yours is a 30 amp rig) I see the PT50C is linked to above, back up the tree and come back down on the 30

You can also use a HW-30c

These devices monitor voltage, current, some other stuff, and if the voltage (or other stuff) goes out of range, it will shut off power to your RV.. The reason is low voltage can burn out air conditioners (roughly 1,000 each installed) and high voltage can damage many things.

However an ammeter measures current... In your case a multi-meter with a clamp on ammeter can do it, You need to separate out the BLACK wire in the cord though so you clamp over only that wire (Easier than it sounds to do)

And I have heard that Kill-a-watt makes a 30 amp model but have never seen one... this too monitors a whole bunch of things.

But the PT-30C and HW-30C will not only monitor ... but PROTECT, and that is a major advantage.

True story (In fact many of them) (Dorsi Counting song 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,many, thank you Frank Hayes (the author)).

Many have either had a TT-30 outlet installed by a know-nothing about RV's Electrician or plugged into a TT-30 like outlet in a friends (or their own) Garage only to find that the outlet was wired for 240 volts, not 120 (Which is the specified voltage for a TT-30)

The result was... Fried RV electronics.

Both the PT-30C and the HW-30C will refuse to connect you if you plug 'em into 240 volts, plug they tell you why (240) and the manual says "DO NOT OVERRIDE" This can be a budget saver.

The other devices I mentioned do not protect at all.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SKP Kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Part-time out of Bass Lake Retirement Community
Posts: 305
There is also an equivalent to that from TRC called the Surge Guard but both of these devices do much more than to just tell you how much current you are using. They protect the RV from an improperly wired outlet, low/high voltage, lost or floating ground, and several other potential electrical problems.

To just measure the amount of power drawn there are products but none that I am aware of for the entire RV. You can buy a meter called the "Kill-A-Watt" that will do this for each appliance by connecting it between the outlet and the appliance.
__________________
Good Travelin! Kirk
Full-time 11 years, now part-time.
Kirk & Pam's Great Adventure!
SKP Kirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,263
The big difference between the Progressive Industries product and Surge Guard is warranty. Progressive is good forever, if it fails call them. They will walk you through diagnostic steps and then ship you repair parts or a whole new unit --Free. Surge Guard has a one year warranty and no repair facilities, toss out the old one and buy another.

A 30 amp RV can only use 30 amps, the circuit breaker will trip if more amps are required. Hooking a 30 amp RV to a 50 amp plug will still only allow 30 amps, in that case the circuit breakers in the RV would trip if you try to use more power than the RV is designed to handle.

The real use of a Progressive EMS is when voltage drops. It happens in campgrounds when everyone is trying to use more power than the CG's capacity. Voltage goes down, and amperage draw goes up, causing damage to motors and electronics. The EMS cuts off power until electric supply is within limits again.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Firebug5's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 656
I called the Progressive Industries phone number several weeks ago to get their advice on how to connect their product in my compartment. The president of the company actually answered the phone, and discussed all of my options in a conversation that lasted over 30 minutes. Amazing customer service, I am in with them.
__________________
Bruce & Judy, living the dream in Salida, CO!
2005 Nat'l Dolphin W22 Chassis, 2004 Jeep Liberty
"Let's Roll 'em, Let's Roll 'em!"
Firebug5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 08:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Two options with a Progressive ##-30/50C

If it is a PT- It plugs into the park outlet you plug into it.. Just like the Surge Guard I got for cost of shipping.

If it is an HW- You got some re-wiring to do but you get a nice remote monitor panel INDOORS where it is easier to see.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 06:00 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Two options with a Progressive ##-30/50C

If it is a PT- It plugs into the park outlet you plug into it.. Just like the Surge Guard I got for cost of shipping.

If it is an HW- You got some re-wiring to do but you get a nice remote monitor panel INDOORS where it is easier to see.
I'm looking at both and thinking the HW is the way to go for both security of the unit and because it is also cheaper than the PT.
However, what does the installation require?
__________________
2015 Thor ACE EVO30.1

EricGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:26 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Firebug5's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricGT View Post
I'm looking at both and thinking the HW is the way to go for both security of the unit and because it is also cheaper than the PT.
However, what does the installation require?
That is the reason I contacted Progressive Industries on the phone, too. Give them a call, tell them about your coach and your concerns about the different applications. They will walk you thru everything.

(919) 462-8280 Progressive Industries

919-462-8280
__________________
Bruce & Judy, living the dream in Salida, CO!
2005 Nat'l Dolphin W22 Chassis, 2004 Jeep Liberty
"Let's Roll 'em, Let's Roll 'em!"
Firebug5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 11:05 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricGT View Post
I'm looking at both and thinking the HW is the way to go for both security of the unit and because it is also cheaper than the PT.
However, what does the installation require?
The permanent mounted EMS requires cutting the shore cord, stripping the individual conductors, and wiring them into the EMS box. There are folks that insist it be wired in between the Auto Transfer Switch and the power panel to protect both shore and generator AC, but it's much simpler to install in the compartment that houses shore cord. It probably takes more time to string the wire for the display panel from EMS to RV interior than installing the EMS. Progressive provides clear instructions, just take your time and check everything. My PI EMS was installed by a previous owner, I had an issue so I removed it, sent it to PI and reinstalled it when returned. No problems.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 06:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
bobmac's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 927
I am a believer in a hard wired unit and mounting the EMS between the main panel and the transfer switch. The primary reason is ease of installation plus it also monitors your generator power when in use. You do lose protection of the transfer switch done that way.
I have installed two PI units on coaches I have owned - they are the best you can get and worth the premium over cheaper/less functional units. I disconnect the AC feed from the main electrical panel and pull it back to an area where the EMS can be mounted safely. I then purchase a like amount of the 30 or 50 amp cable and connect one end to the panel and the other to the EMS. I allow enough slack so I an make the connections properly and comfortably and then install the EMS with whatever slack cabling there is in the chosen location.
I'm not a big fan of working at the back of a storage compartment at arms length to connect to the transfer switch. You will find that the 30 amp 10 gauge cabling is reasonably flexible and easy to work with so it is a job you can do yourself. Good luck,
__________________
Bob
09 Journey 39Z
Southern Ontario
bobmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 07:04 PM   #12
RRR
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 353
From Progressive Industries F.A.Q.'s
Quote:
Should a Hardwired EMS be installed before or after the transfer switch? A hardwired EMS should be installed prior to the transfer switch. The reason for this is RV generators already have built-in voltage and frequency protection. If the EMS is installed after the transfer switch, this leaves the transfer switch vulnerable to power problems.
__________________

__________________
RRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ada



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
alternator amperage jessnclive Just Conversation 2 09-17-2014 05:35 PM
Power Solutions dual power adapter scoutmstr MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 09-16-2014 12:36 PM
Windshield wiper adapter pushtrk99 Class A Motorhome Discussions 20 09-10-2014 07:40 AM
Adapter with cable or none? ReadytoGoa RV Systems & Appliances 4 03-07-2014 10:24 PM
30A to 50A Adapter Causes MH Fire Pusherman Class A Motorhome Discussions 173 09-02-2013 05:33 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.