Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2007, 11:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Yuma, AZ USA
Posts: 58
First of all, thanks to those of you who answered my question about my satellite connections. Here's my next question: I have two A/C's on the 2006 Forest River. They both work fine in the A/C mode. The one in the bedroom has a "furnace" position on the remote control and a "emergency heat" button on the unit. When I switch it to "furnace", nothing happens. A friend told me that it might have a heat strip built in but it might not. How can you tell if it does? Also, there is a duotherm thermostat mounted on the wall. It does not seem to do anything at all. What's it for? There is another one in the living room that controls the forward mounted A/C unit. Thanks in advance for your help. By the way, I have been gone from irv2 for a while since I had sold my 5'ver. It's good to be back amongst you all. Stay safe.
__________________

__________________
USMC 1974-1994

2006 Georgetown 370TS
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-27-2007, 11:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Yuma, AZ USA
Posts: 58
First of all, thanks to those of you who answered my question about my satellite connections. Here's my next question: I have two A/C's on the 2006 Forest River. They both work fine in the A/C mode. The one in the bedroom has a "furnace" position on the remote control and a "emergency heat" button on the unit. When I switch it to "furnace", nothing happens. A friend told me that it might have a heat strip built in but it might not. How can you tell if it does? Also, there is a duotherm thermostat mounted on the wall. It does not seem to do anything at all. What's it for? There is another one in the living room that controls the forward mounted A/C unit. Thanks in advance for your help. By the way, I have been gone from irv2 for a while since I had sold my 5'ver. It's good to be back amongst you all. Stay safe.
__________________

__________________
USMC 1974-1994

2006 Georgetown 370TS
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 01:12 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Devil Dog, are the two themostats the same? You may have a thermostat that is capable f controling not only the air conditioner but also the furnace(s). If you have tow furnaces the both t'stat should operate one furnace each. If you only have one furnace they usually put it's control on the fron t'stat. To find out if you have a heat strip simply turn on the emergency heat and run the setting up high, it shoul bring on the fan and you should feel a slight temperature rise after a few minutes.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 06:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Traveling in the East
Posts: 533
Devil Dog,I have the same set up as you. The front works both your front a/c and the furnace. The thermostat in the bedroom works only the a/c in the bedroom.

Joe
full-timer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 03:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
I second that. I also have the same set up and the bedroom thermostat is for AC only.
__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 08:07 PM   #6
Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Yuma, AZ USA
Posts: 58
Well, being an old jarhead, I still need some more explanation. The thermostat in the living room runs the heater and living room AC, no problem. The thermostat in the bedroom looks like the one in the living room but I can't see that it does anything. Nothing has happened with me playing around with it. The remote hanging on the wall? Now that's a different story. It turns the AC on in the bedroom. But, when I put the selector cursor on "FURN"....nothing happens. Nada, zip. So, I don't know if the roof unit in the bedroom has a heat strip or not. The coach furnace does not do that great of a job heating the bedroom but makes the rest of the coach toasty. Anyway, thanks for all your help.
__________________
USMC 1974-1994

2006 Georgetown 370TS
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 08:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Yuma, AZ USA
Posts: 58
RV Wizard, I understand what you are saying. I think I tried the "emergency heat" button. Nothing happened. I will try it again this weekend. Thanks, bud.
__________________
USMC 1974-1994

2006 Georgetown 370TS
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:13 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
"Furnace" usually means a real furnace and not heat strips or Heat pump heating cycle. And I have no idea what "emergency heat" might be. Sounds like a call to Forest River Customer Service might be in order...

Is the a/c a Dometic? Carrier? Coleman? Duotherm (on the t-stat) is a Dometic brand name, but you say it doesn't do anything at all???
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 03:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
My manual states that the bedroom furnace switch is a dummy switch. It is not hooked up to anything. Front thermostat is for both Ac and furnace and the bedroom thermostat is for Ac only.
__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 06:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Yuma, AZ USA
Posts: 58
Thanks for all the excellent replies. Stevegeorgetown, I have a question for you. Why do you suppose the thermostat in the bedroom is a dummy?
__________________
USMC 1974-1994

2006 Georgetown 370TS
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 08:22 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,686
Remove the interior A/C shroud and look in the intake air box. If you have a "heat strip", which is usually shaped like a tall U, it should be visible, with a heavy cord running to the junction box.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 11:28 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
Devil dog. My manual shows 3 different thermostats. One is the kind that I have ( air and furnace ) and the second has a heat strip setting and the third has a heat pump setting. It doesnt show a thermostat with air only. I would only be guessing to say that maybe they dont make thermostats with air only settings and I think you can only have one thermostat for one furnace. You say you have a remote control for you air conditoner? I only have the two thermostats in my unit. No remotes or anything on the ceiling units. Is your unit a Georgetown?
__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 12:54 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northwestern Montana
Posts: 3,138
On my 2004 Allegro the rear thermostat is for the rear air conditioner only, no furnace. The front thermostat controls the front AC and the furnace.

Dieselclacker
__________________
Dieselclacker
dieselclacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 04:25 PM   #14
Member
 
Devil Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Yuma, AZ USA
Posts: 58
Yes Sir, it is a Georgetown. 2006 370XL. It has the thermostat in the living room that works and controls the front AC and furnace. The one identical to it is mounted in the bedroom and does not appear to do anything. The remote is mounted above the bedroom thermostat on the wall. It has buttons for heat, ac and fan. The AC in the bedroom works off of the remote. The "furn" setting does not seem to do anything.
__________________

__________________
USMC 1974-1994

2006 Georgetown 370TS
Devil Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Conditioning JMJCSIM MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 03-27-2008 05:00 PM
Air Conditioning, too small? buckeyes 5th Wheel Discussion 10 05-08-2007 07:33 PM
loss of air conditioning and fresh air through vents cwg Newmar Owner's Forum 2 03-31-2007 07:45 PM
Sliding out the basement air conditioning unit Littlebeckets Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 09-29-2006 09:58 PM
Air Conditioning iron mike Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 06-29-2005 07:10 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.