Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2008, 08:50 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Any where USA
Posts: 2
This is the second time I have plugged into a 30 amp service and all my 110 circuits have 220 volts. This immediately smokes the two televisions, refrigerator, and microwave. The first time this happened I took my rig to Camping World in Byron GA, they found no problem. I also called a RV electrical Tech to come to my site and he also found no problem. Eight months have passed since the first and most recent disaster. Repairs and replacement will cost about $1500.00; I have not yet taken my MH in for repairs. I am going to wait until I have more information on possible causes so I can ask appropriate questions. Also my generator has not worked since the first episode. Paid Camping World $125.00 diagnostic fee for them to tell me they could not find anything wrong other than "the generator does not work". For several months prior to this most recent electrical problem I have used both 50 and 30 amp service at several locations in Arizona and California.
HELP!
__________________

__________________
toledodon2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-15-2008, 08:50 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Any where USA
Posts: 2
This is the second time I have plugged into a 30 amp service and all my 110 circuits have 220 volts. This immediately smokes the two televisions, refrigerator, and microwave. The first time this happened I took my rig to Camping World in Byron GA, they found no problem. I also called a RV electrical Tech to come to my site and he also found no problem. Eight months have passed since the first and most recent disaster. Repairs and replacement will cost about $1500.00; I have not yet taken my MH in for repairs. I am going to wait until I have more information on possible causes so I can ask appropriate questions. Also my generator has not worked since the first episode. Paid Camping World $125.00 diagnostic fee for them to tell me they could not find anything wrong other than "the generator does not work". For several months prior to this most recent electrical problem I have used both 50 and 30 amp service at several locations in Arizona and California.
HELP!
__________________

__________________
toledodon2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 09:38 AM   #3
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,614
Toledodon2002, welcome to to iRV2.

Sorry to hear of your troubles.

If the 30 amp receptacle is wired for 120 volts, there is nothing in your rig that would boost it to 240 volts.

It has to be a wiring problem at the campground.

Did you measure 240 volts?

Were both of the failures at the same campground?

One of THESE will prevent such problems.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 02:49 PM   #4
adj
Senior Member
 
adj's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: middleburg,fl
Posts: 572
Your 30-to-50A adapter takes a single leg voltage and feeds it to both legs of your 50A feed. If you measure the hot leg-to-hot leg voltage at the 50A end, you should read 0 volts since it is supposed to be from 1 leg of a 240V system. You should also read 120V to ground from both the hot legs. If you read anything else, there is something wrong with the 30A feed or your adapter.
__________________
Dale & Betty

04 Lapalma 33'
adj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 03:32 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
toledodon2002, welcome to iRV2.com. We are glad to hvae you join us here but we are also sorry to hear of your troubles. It sounds like you have a loose neutral if the pedastal itself is not the culprit. Always make sure the circuit breaker feeding the recelptacle is off before you plug in or unplug the cord; then turn it on. As mentioned before a SUrge Guard or similar protection system would have saved you from this expensive inconvinence and possible safety hazard. I will not plug into ANYTHING with out my Surge Guard in the cicruit first. There are too many electronics in these coaches today to take a fraction of a second risk.
We hope you get it resolved and that you will keep us posted as to the culprit.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 05:12 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
toledodon2002,
Where were these 30A receptacles? A campground, a friend's house or maybe some business location? I ask because a 30A dryer outlet or a 30A welder outlet looks very close to an RV outlet but will indeed deliver 220-240V to your rig and fry everything it touches.

If it occurred at a campground, I hope you notified them and demanded they pay for your damages. Their insurance covers such things.

As for your generator, has the transfer switch been tested? It is most likely fried and simply not switching over to generator power. The generator itself would not have been online when the 220V was applied, so it ought to be OK.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
Route 66 is correct, nothing in your RV would change the 120 to 240 using the 30 amp service. You did not say whether this was the same receptacle that did it, or two different locations. If it was the same receptacle, it could have been wired incorrectly, or an open neutral in the power system feeding the receptacle. Is this a receptacle that you had installed at your home, or is it at a campground? If it is at a campground many others would have had the same complaint. If this was two different places, don't play the lottery because you have extremly bad luck, sorry! An open neutral in the RV wiring while plugged into the 30 amp RV receptacle would not cause this damage, but if plugged into a 50 amp receptacle would. Need more info to properly diagnose (guess at) this problem.
__________________
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 03:53 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
kaisooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Bend (Coos Bay) OR
Posts: 21
Sounds like an open neutral to me!
28 years as a crew Foreman in the Utility business, I have seen whole houses with black face plates on every outlet. As they FLASH over from an open neutral. Who owned the receptacle?
NEVER plug in before you Check power and polarity!!!!!!!
I missed the 30amp part! If it was not a 50amp
Then the 30amp had to have been wired wrong!
Was this at a CG or a shop? Sorry I missed the 30amp.
If this was at a CG and every other site used one leg. Then indeed an open neutral in the under ground could cause this. If others put load on the other leg that leg would lose voltage and the leg he was on would go up. Maybe not 240v but 140-180v would do the same thing. The key is WHERE did this happen?
__________________
Andrew & Linda
2009 Camelot 42' PDQ
N6ZPK N6ZPL
kaisooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 07:00 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
The 30A outlets have only one hot, so an open neutral cannot produce 240V.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 04:47 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jarhead1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 107
Google rv electric
__________________
2004
KSDP 3702
Jarhead1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 08:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
cvrvr's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: La Crescenta, CA USA
Posts: 270
Not sure how this can happen. But is the reason that I check every outlet that I plug into with a voltage meter for voltage and polarity. Also have a SurgeGuard unit installed.

Sorry to hear about your trouble

George
__________________
George & Karen Wharton
2004 Allegro 30DA W-20
2000 Jimmy toad
cvrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 03:00 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
kaisooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Bend (Coos Bay) OR
Posts: 21
Did anyone ever find a cause?
Did this happen at the same place?
__________________
Andrew & Linda
2009 Camelot 42' PDQ
N6ZPK N6ZPL
kaisooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 06:52 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
It is not unknown that an electrical will wire a 30 amp RV plug like an older 30 amp house plug with 240 VAC. I would be suspicious and check the source with a volt meter.

Ken
__________________

__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MH shore power: 110 or 220??? tnsharon07 Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 12-28-2008 01:42 PM
220 v should have been 110 Maxine National RV Owner's Forum 8 09-01-2008 07:24 PM
Water heater not working on 110 volts suncruiser42 MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 02-19-2008 07:24 AM
110 volt water heater switch Dave from MN Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 09-18-2006 06:47 AM
220 v should have been 110 RV Systems & Appliances 8 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.