Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2011, 02:02 PM   #15
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,853
We special ordered our coach, "all electric". For the record, we've done just fine on 30 amp, using up to 2 A/C units at a time. Any brief spikes in demand are handled by the electric management system. When completely 'off the grid' we can set the auto start to monitor battery voltage and/or interior temps. As example, one 4 day weekend this past summer, when daytime temps were well into the 90s and lows in the upper 70's, the generator only ran a cumulative 3 hours over night and kept our bedroom nice and cool (68 degrees).

The fridge doesn't use that much power, but the inverter / chargers can, depending on your power panel settings (up to 30 amps or more), so if you plan to live off 30 amp power for a while it would be best if your battery bank was fully charged to begin with.

Count me as one that does not miss the hassle of locating and topping off with LP. A 20 lb tank is very portable and is not a problem. Finding an accessible refill station and moving our rig to it is a hassle. If my fuel tank is full when I park, I could go for weeks on end, even in the coldest weather, without having to worry about low fuel. Besides, we picked up an extra storage bay when we eliminated the LP tank.
__________________

__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-19-2011, 12:35 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Gadget Man's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,090
All electric just wouldn't work well for us. Mainly because we are Thousand Trails members and TT parks are notorious for having low power, especially in the summer. 50 amp power is almost non-existent and we have to run an AutoFormer to keep the voltage at a safe level. An increase in electrical demand would have a negative effect on us.

Craig
__________________

__________________
2005 Fleetwood Providence 39J
CAT C7 350, MP-8 Programmer

My wife does all the driving - I just hold the wheel...
Gadget Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 12:56 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
powerboatr's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East Texas
Posts: 3,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig P. View Post
All electric just wouldn't work well for us. Mainly because we are Thousand Trails members and TT parks are notorious for having low power, especially in the summer. 50 amp power is almost non-existent and we have to run an AutoFormer to keep the voltage at a safe level. An increase in electrical demand would have a negative effect on us.

Craig
hmmm x2
we go to texoma allot and the power there is all over the place

my surgeguard has fits if the park is full
__________________
USN Retired, Life time member of the DAV.
Enjoying the 2008 Damon Tuscany 4056, no your eyes are fine, there are really 6 slides
2016 Expedition Toad on Hauler flat bed
powerboatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:30 AM   #18
Registered User
 
Iron Man's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMonroe View Post
We special ordered our coach, "all electric". For the record, we've done just fine on 30 amp, using up to 2 A/C units at a time. Any brief spikes in demand are handled by the electric management system. When completely 'off the grid' we can set the auto start to monitor battery voltage and/or interior temps. As example, one 4 day weekend this past summer, when daytime temps were well into the 90s and lows in the upper 70's, the generator only ran a cumulative 3 hours over night and kept our bedroom nice and cool (68 degrees).

The fridge doesn't use that much power, but the inverter / chargers can, depending on your power panel settings (up to 30 amps or more), so if you plan to live off 30 amp power for a while it would be best if your battery bank was fully charged to begin with.

Count me as one that does not miss the hassle of locating and topping off with LP. A 20 lb tank is very portable and is not a problem. Finding an accessible refill station and moving our rig to it is a hassle. If my fuel tank is full when I park, I could go for weeks on end, even in the coldest weather, without having to worry about low fuel. Besides, we picked up an extra storage bay when we eliminated the LP tank.
I agree.
__________________
John, Pam, Nicholas, Aria
NKK 16073L
2007 Essex 4502
2015 GMC Seirra
Iron Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 01:03 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Tsronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 173
Once again thank you all for your replies we can see both sides of this, propane has its ups but it also has some downs.

Electric has some ups but also has some downs too.

Let me ask this, the coach I'm looking only comes with a 10kw genset is that enough? All those that said they have a electric coach said they have a 12.5kw genset?
__________________
Tsronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 02:38 PM   #20
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Most "downs" on all electric MHs are from RVers that do not have them. RVers that have them love them. The biggest thing about the genset being 10KW or 12.5 KW is the number of AC units on the roof and the BTU of those AC units. I have a 12.5KW and I can run all three of my AC units full blast and anything else in the MH at the same time. Also let me say that the Onan Quiet Diesel generators are below the decibel level that is the limit at National and State parks. I can hardly hear mine running.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:40 PM   #21
DKO
Senior Member
 
DKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 127
15K

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsronco View Post
Once again thank you all for your replies we can see both sides of this, propane has its ups but it also has some downs.

Electric has some ups but also has some downs too.

Let me ask this, the coach I'm looking only comes with a 10kw genset is that enough? All those that said they have a electric coach said they have a 12.5kw genset?
Mine is 15K. Runs everything in the coach. In fact the manufacturer told me to load it down when its running. I have thrown everything on board at it and it hums right along. There have been several hot nights in a truck stop or parking lot that I have went to sleep thanking God for a good generator... and air conditioners.
__________________
DKO
Home is where you go when there's no place else to go!
DKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 04:21 PM   #22
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
DKO, is that a Kuboto generator in your Prevost or what? How many roof AC units do you have? I was parked next to a Prevost in a parking lot and that generator was a lot louder than mine. I believe it was not enclosed in a soundproof box like a Onan Quiet Diesel. Could not hear his running when inside the Prevost.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:08 PM   #23
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsronco View Post
Let me ask this, the coach I'm looking only comes with a 10kw genset is that enough? All those that said they have a electric coach said they have a 12.5kw genset?
Our Revolution has a 10kw gen set. To date it's not been an issue. We've run all three A/C units, used the micro wave and TVs, all with no ill effect. Again, the automatic load management system will take care of any temporary spikes in use by shedding one of the A/C units temporarily, as example, or by drawing from the battery bank (8 AGMs). You can, by the way, reprogram the factory settings if the load shedding priorities are not set to your liking. Technology has come a long way toward letting us have our cake and eating it too.
__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:32 PM   #24
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Big Bear Ca.(Sugarloaf)
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKO View Post
No bother at all. I am always asking so don't worry.

Yes, the generator carries the load just fine.

My coach is designed for 50 amps and that means 50 amps to each side of the panel for a total of 100 amps. That means 30 amps is mighty small for this application. With 30 amps you actually have 15 amps to each side of the panel. That will not carry the load in my coach. I have an inverter on each side charging a bank of batteries plus whatever else may be operating. The 15 amps would be overloaded if the fridge kicked on while and air was running.

If the coach has just one inverter it may carry the load better on 30 amps. Like I said others have no problem running on 30 amps at all if they are careful what they turn on. The Endeavor would probably be fine. Perhaps someone else may be able to address that directly.

DKP
With 50 amps you have 50 amps to each leg. With 30 amps you only have one leg. If you split 30 amps you still just have 30 amps feeding whatever you are feeding. Not 15 amps split.
__________________
Mark & Carole
What a long strange trip it's been.

No longer RVing. Happy Trails to you.
Campingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 09:46 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Tsronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Campingman
With 50 amps you have 50 amps to each leg. With 30 amps you only have one leg. If you split 30 amps you still just have 30 amps feeding whatever you are feeding. Not 15 amps split.
I'm sorry I know I'm dumb but I'm confused here running a 50 amp system what would I be able/ not able to run if only connected to 30?
__________________
Tsronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:26 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
WheelingIt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: On Wheels
Posts: 1,983
I have to admit I love having propane. Between that and our solar panels we never have to run our genny (except to exercise it monthly) and we dry-camp a lot. We have a very quiet genny, but it still bothers me to run it when we're out in nature. I also much prefer cooking with propane. We only fill up our tank twice per year (we fulltime) so I don't see it as much of an inconvenience. To each his own, but I'd be hard-pressed to buy an all electric coach.
__________________
12 paws, 40 feet and the open road
WheelingIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:36 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Gadget Man's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsronco

I'm sorry I know I'm dumb but I'm confused here running a 50 amp system what would I be able/ not able to run if only connected to 30?
It depends if your coach is equipped with an energy management system (EMS) or not, one that sheds power to appliances as the the demand for power increases. For instance, when we are hooked up to 30 amp power, I can run both A/C's along with the fridge and the TV. But if the wife fires up the microwave, the demand for power is too high, so my EMS will shed power to the rear A/C and the fridge (which will then automatically switch to propane). After the demand has decreased (microwave has stopped), the EMS will eventually allow power back to the shredded appliances. With an EMS we can run on 30 amp with no problem.

Our last coach didn't have this system so we had to be careful with our electrical use, otherwise we'd trip the breaker at the power pedestal. In the summer we could run only one A/C unit at a time, along with the fridge and TV. In cooler weather when we didn't need the A/C, we could run the water heater on electric (instead of propane) along with the fridge and TV. I'd have to manually switch off the water heater and fridge though if we needed the microwave or the DW decided to plug in her hair dryer.

Most if not all of the all-electric coaches I've seen have an aqua-hot system that allows you to get living area heat and hot water via a diesel fuel burner system, eliminating the electrical and/or propane demand for the furnace & water heater.

Hope this helps to answer your question.

Craig
__________________
2005 Fleetwood Providence 39J
CAT C7 350, MP-8 Programmer

My wife does all the driving - I just hold the wheel...
Gadget Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:42 AM   #28
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Big Bear Ca.(Sugarloaf)
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsronco View Post
I'm sorry I know I'm dumb but I'm confused here running a 50 amp system what would I be able/ not able to run if only connected to 30?
Well most things will run on 30 amp service but not at the same time. Microwave, coffee pot, hair dryer, AC, space heater will run but not two at the same time in most cases.
__________________

__________________
Mark & Carole
What a long strange trip it's been.

No longer RVing. Happy Trails to you.
Campingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is level in a coach? Romeo Newmar Owner's Forum 32 07-03-2010 11:13 PM
Country Coach Is Ready to Re-Open DriVer RV Industry Press 3 05-18-2009 09:15 PM
OPINIONS ON ALL ELECTRIC COACH AND REAR BATH FLOORPLAN 927palmetto Newmar Owner's Forum 20 10-01-2008 11:36 AM
Entregra Coach turbo24 Entegra Owner's Forum 12 09-07-2008 08:17 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.