Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2010, 09:09 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
srx-6's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 283
Aqua Hot--not hot

MH is a 2009 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ, Aqua Hot is AHE-450-DEI. The problem occurs when in furnace mode. Zone 3 controls the heat exchanger in the rear bedroom, zone 2 controls the 2 heat exchangers in the bathroom. Monaco tech says all of these operate on the #2 circulation pump on the Aqua hot. Zone 3 will blow warm air, and zone 2 blows only cold air. The tech seems to think there is an obstruction in the zone 2 fluid lines. I thought the fluid lines went through all heat exchangers before returning to the aqua hot. Any ideas where to look for obstructions or maybe a valve that is closed? Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________

__________________
srx-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-23-2010, 09:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
There are no valves in your circulation circuits. I would check to make sure there aren't three circulation pumps for the three zones, the techs have been known to be wrong. My coach has two pumps but being 40 feet I have but two zones. My understanding is the pump circulates hot solution through the assigned circuit then returns to the boiler to be reheated. Could possibly be air locked or low on solution in that section that is blowing cold air.
__________________

__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 09:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
srx-6's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 283
I have checked the unit and there are only 2 pumps. I thought the fluid goes thru all heat exchangers before returning and, the warm air blows only when the fan is on a particular unit. I can't figure why cold air from 2 units and warm from the 3rd one.
__________________
srx-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 09:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
I just thought of something else you might check. The panel that covers the Aqua-Hot unit has a wiring diagram on the back side of it, so check to see if it shows 12 VDC going to two pumps or three. I checked my wiring diagram for 42 foot coaches and it doesn't show the circulation pumps for some reason.
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 09:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
I posted too late. You only have two pumps. Then I'd check the lines by taking out drawers or the front register grill to see if the lines are carrying hot solution. You're correct in your assumption that the solution circulates through all the registers before returning to the boiler.
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 09:57 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Roger Berke's Avatar
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 174
Re: Aqua-Hot - Not Hot

You will probably want Monaco to check this out the next time you are there for service.

The first thing that I would check is to see where the wiring for the middle zone is connected to the Aqua-Hot control board. The Aqua-Hot recomended connection is Zone 2 on the control board. A drawing showing the upper left portion of the control board is attached.

Could also be bad control board not commanding the #2 (right side) pump to start.

- Roger Berke -
Moderator - HydronicRVHeating : Hydronic-RV-Heating
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hydro-Hot - Control Board - Interior Fans+Thermo.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	116.1 KB
ID:	3171  
__________________
Roger Berke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:20 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
srx-6's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 283
Thanks Bob and Roger
The pump should be working if I am getting warm air out of one heat exchanger. Is that correct?
__________________
srx-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:06 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Roger Berke's Avatar
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 174
Aqua-Hot - Not Hot

When zone 2 is calling for heat you should see the right pump turning under the plastic cover.

If you turn on all heating zones do you get heat out if zone 2?

- Roger Berke -
__________________
Roger Berke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:23 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
srx-6's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 283
Roger Do not get heat from zone 2 at all. I think the pump is working because Monaco tech said pump #2 operates zone 2&3 and, zone 3 works properly.
__________________
srx-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 12:02 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
SRX, can you gain access to either of the lines feeding the #2 registers? It could be, but a long shot, that the #2 registers got by passed during construction.
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 12:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
srx-6's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 283
Thats what I am thinking
__________________
srx-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
srx, did you ever get the problem solved with the #2 heat registers in your coach?
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 03:54 AM   #13
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
I believe you are going to have to look for a possible kink in the hose going to zone #2 heat exchangers. If the pump is running and there is a complete circuit, you should have heat in the exchanger.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:54 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
One more thing to check. Down by the pumps there are check valves on each line thgat go out of the aqua hot. They can stick. Mine did. I just tapped on them with a wrench while the pumps were running and they freed themselves. all works fine now
__________________

__________________
Tom Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Great Aqua Hot service tech in Arizona Melorene Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 11-21-2009 01:55 PM
Alpine Aqua Hot System Problems Just Cruising Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 26 11-10-2009 09:10 PM
Aqua Hot fluid JFC Monaco Owner's Forum 7 12-20-2008 06:30 AM
Aqua Hot and Furnace! KCIDoner Monaco Owner's Forum 30 05-05-2008 04:46 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.