Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2009, 10:44 AM   #1
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,046
Blog Entries: 22
Question AquaHot Guru's, 12V question

Yes, I am lazy and have not tried yet to chase down the wiring diagrams, so here is my question. My AH refuses to start. Following the trouble shooting flow chart, I replaced the indicator bulb (step 1), checked all fuses at the unit and then checked the power post for 12V DC. Aaarrrggghhh, no 12V. I went to the fuse panel in the bedroom and verified that the 15 amp there is good. Apparently there is another fuse or relay between the battery and the power post. Anybody got a clue on where to start? (Engine compartment relay bay?) 1998 Monaco Dynasty, AH Model AHE-100-01S (431-12)

I wouldn't be asking but I am at work and cannot start working on this and it's driving me nuts not to be able to do "something".
__________________

__________________
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-14-2009, 11:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
1) question on where to find fuses is probably better started in the Monaco Forum
2) wild possibility- fuse is good but spring clips are just enough corroded to preclude voltage flow; pull & reinsert the fuse, then check volts or check volts on outgoing spade of fuse
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 11:27 AM   #3
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,046
Blog Entries: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by EngineerMike View Post
1) question on where to find fuses is probably better started in the Monaco Forum
2) wild possibility- fuse is good but spring clips are just enough corroded to preclude voltage flow; pull & reinsert the fuse, then check volts or check volts on outgoing spade of fuse
I hear ya Mike. Even within the Monaco's the installation specifics probably vary widely.

I did pull/re-insert all fuses. I haven't checked the rear relay panel yet. Gotta be something larger than a 15-amp looking at the AH unit.
__________________
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 12:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
The complete wiring diagram for my AH (450-DE) is on the inside of the cover for the unit. If you have a bad float switch or a bad temperature control thermostat the unit will not start. And depending on the model and age, the 12 volt source could be interrupted until these faults are corrected. There is a work around for a bad float switch that is safe to use and one for the temperature control thermostat but that one has to used with extreme caution.
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 09:01 PM   #5
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,046
Blog Entries: 22
Don't know exactly what I did, but it is operating perfectly right now. (Knock wood).
__________________
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball Hitch Question CNCCornwall Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 11 09-08-2009 10:07 PM
Towing Question Silversurfah Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 07-20-2009 07:17 AM
Battery voltage question NavlAv8r Class A Motorhome Discussions 14 05-13-2009 10:53 AM
One Battery is shot -- 4 of 6 cells are dead -- question on replacement? FrankO Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 05-03-2007 04:59 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.