Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 07-04-2011, 09:16 AM   #1
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Auto or Manual Leveling?

Happy Fourth Y'all!!

SInce we could not get away this holiday weekend, I am spending my time tinkering around the RV and checking in on the Casey Anthony trial... (I must admit...I am hooked on the lawyers arguments...and please...no lawyer jokes. I am one, but I am a public service attorney...one of the good guys...)

Back to my question. I notice that even when my coach is parked in a fairly level spot. All of the levelers deploy and extend rather far in auromatic mode. This means that if there is one spot that is a little lower than the other three spots, since all levelers are coming down and trying to raise the coach...the one that must compensate for the low spot is extending really far.

Why are all my levelers extending so much on automatic mode? Is this normal? And would I be better off doing the leveling manually so that three of the levelers are only extending a small amount and the final one would extend only slightly more?

I am using blocks of wood under the leveler feet to prevent the feet from sinking into my asphalt dooryard (driveway), and when we need them at a sandy or muddy campground. Should I "build-up" any single spot with wood blocks to avoid too much leveler extension on any one leg? Sometimes when I attempt this, one of the front tires comes off the ground. And yes...I am using wheel chocks in front of my wheels at all times.

Thank you in advance for your advice and opinions.

Faith and Bob, Bitsy the Papillon and Bosco the Chi-weenie....RIP Truffles
2005 Revolution LE - 2008 Honda CRV Toad