Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2010, 03:07 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,383
Bad Thermostat or something else?

I have the Duo-Therm Comfort Control Center (2 zones), part # 3109228.001. Modes of operation are OFF, FAN ONLY, COOL, HEAT PUMP, FURNACE.

Worked fine night before last on HEAT PUMP and yesterday on COOL.

Today is a different story. I was trying to use FAN ONLY mode but it would not come on. Pressed "zone" to see the mode but only thing that appeared on display was "zone 1 2" at the bottom. Normal description of which mode it was in did not appear. Turned it off then on again. Everything appeared the way it should so I set it for FAN ONLY. After about 30 seconds still no fan turning on and backlight and description go off. Press "zone" again and only thing that appears is "zone 1 2" at the bottom. Turning it off and then on again the mode description reappears but it does the same thing as before. Other thing I noticed after turning it off, then on again is that the only mode options are OFF, FAN ONLY, and COOL. HEAT PUMP AND FURNACE don't appear anymore. Fortunately weather today and tonight will be ok so I don't need AC or Heat.

Haven't found any blown fuses or tripped breakers. Everything else 110vac and 12vdc are working fine.

What do you think, bad thermostat or something else?
__________________

__________________
Bob Russo
Formerly had 07 Neptune 36PDQ, ISB 325, Allison 2500, Source Trailing Arms and Ride Enhancement Kit, Demco KarKaddy 460SS.
Currently no Motorhome
Nonno is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2010, 03:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 799
Try doing a reset. I think the procedure is to turn it off and while holding down the top and bottom buttons turn it back on, then release the two buttons. It will read the settings on the circuit board and will re-program itself.
__________________

__________________
Norm4015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 09:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,383
Tried it. Holding both buttons down initially it shows "FF" when turned on then goes to "EE" when buttons released. "EE" and backlight stays on compared to display normally shutting off after a short period.

If it's reprograming, (1) is this what it's supposed to do? (2) how long does it take?

Finally turned it off and back on again. "EE" still there. If I hold buttons again when turning on, it goes thru the "FF" and "EE" cycle again.
__________________
Bob Russo
Formerly had 07 Neptune 36PDQ, ISB 325, Allison 2500, Source Trailing Arms and Ride Enhancement Kit, Demco KarKaddy 460SS.
Currently no Motorhome
Nonno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 10:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 689
From previous experience suspect bad control board
__________________
RVhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 11:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nonno View Post
Tried it. Holding both buttons down initially it shows "FF" when turned on then goes to "EE" when buttons released. "EE" and backlight stays on compared to display normally shutting off after a short period.

If it's reprograming, (1) is this what it's supposed to do? (2) how long does it take?

Finally turned it off and back on again. "EE" still there. If I hold buttons again when turning on, it goes thru the "FF" and "EE" cycle again.
The reset or reprogram only takes a second. After getting the FF and releasing the top and bottom buttoms, the display should show the zones in the bottom of the display. At that time you press the mode buttom to select the mode for each zone.

I assume your EE indicates an Error or problem. I hope someone with more knowledge than me can help.
__________________
Norm4015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:10 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,383
Good news is that this problem occurred while camping close to home rather than on my trip to MB in 10 days. I have an appointment with local dealer on the 29th.

Unless there is some override that lets you turn on heat or ac, makes me wonder if I should carry a spare thermostat. I was fortunate that the weather didn't require either heat or ac.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
Bob Russo
Formerly had 07 Neptune 36PDQ, ISB 325, Allison 2500, Source Trailing Arms and Ride Enhancement Kit, Demco KarKaddy 460SS.
Currently no Motorhome
Nonno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,383
Found the problem and fixed it! Cost me $44 for splicer and 4 pin connectors from Radio Shack

Spoke with Monaco Tech Support who informed me the "EE" code was a communication error and told me how I could troubleshoot it to determine if it was the wire connecting the thermostat to the AC.

FYI - Here's the procedure I used but first let me explain the connections between the thermostat and the 2 zones.

Thermostat has one wire (it's a 4 pin connector similar to your telephone) that connects it to Zone 1. Zone 1 has that wire plus a second connecting it to Zone 2. There are other wires such as power and remote sensors but those are not involved in troubleshooting my "EE" issue.

Remove the thermostat from the wall and unplug it. Now remove the filter/ screen from Zone 2 AC and unplug the wire coming from Zone 1. Plug that into the thermostat. If the thermostat functions properly (you'll only see zone 1 because you just disconnected zone 2) the problem is the wire between the thermostat and Zone 1. In my case it was.

Knowing which wire is the problem still leaves you with finding the trouble spot and/or snaking a new wire. I was fortunate to find the problem was a break within a foot of the connector at the Zone 1 end.
Cut, crimped, tested and IT WORKED!!!
__________________
Bob Russo
Formerly had 07 Neptune 36PDQ, ISB 325, Allison 2500, Source Trailing Arms and Ride Enhancement Kit, Demco KarKaddy 460SS.
Currently no Motorhome
Nonno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 799
Doesn't that make you feel good.

Now you know more about your climate control system than anyone on iRV2.
__________________
Norm4015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,383
Feels real good. Thank you for your help.
__________________

__________________
Bob Russo
Formerly had 07 Neptune 36PDQ, ISB 325, Allison 2500, Source Trailing Arms and Ride Enhancement Kit, Demco KarKaddy 460SS.
Currently no Motorhome
Nonno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement thermostat for basement Heat Pump jspande RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-14-2012 05:10 PM
Thermostat gone bad? Belgique Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 02-17-2007 05:12 AM
RVP (Winnebago) thermostat interface with Onan EC30 rnabors Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-23-2007 01:41 PM
Coleman Mach Thermostat Ronald Smith Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 11-22-2006 10:42 AM
Propane thermostat vs. True-Air electronic thermostat John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 10-18-2005 03:32 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.