Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2011, 05:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
mdbaggs's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, NY
Posts: 25
Blowing 20amp circuit on Shore Power

Every time I plug in my shore power to a 20 amp circuit at my home it causes my breaker to flip (home side). Therefore, I can't keep the batteries charged or anything. Of course, the 50 amp line runs the coaches needs flawlessly at campgrounds. I do change the control panel to 20 amp instead of 30 amp when I try this at home, but it never fails to blow the circuit even when I'm running nothing except charging the batteries. Even after a long trip when the batteries should be fully charged and not running anything that draws a substantial current, I plug it in to the 20 amp line it and it blows. Any ideas?? The rig is 2010 Fleetwood Discovery if that makes a difference. Thanks
__________________

__________________
mdbaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-07-2011, 05:44 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Something's not right. Have you tried extending to an outlet on another circuit or plugging into a 20 amp circuit at a CG to test it? I'm currently spending a month at my FILs and limited to a 15 amp circuit stretched on a long cable run and I've been doing fine. Have you limited your battery charger to avoid it going into bulk mode and drawing too much power when you first plug in? It can draw up to 25 amps if I'm not mistaken.

Good luck

rick
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 05:49 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
mdbaggs's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, NY
Posts: 25
I did try a different circuit that has only one outdoor outlet on it that I'm running the extension cord from, but to no avail.
How do I limit the battery charger from going into bulk mode?
Thanks
__________________
mdbaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 07:24 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
How are you connecting the 50 amp shore cable to the smaller outlet?
if you could attach a picture of the adapters might help.
You mentioned 50 to 30 amp service worked,now what or how do you step down to the 15 / 20 amp outlet?
Thinking something is not connecting properly across the adapters.
__________________
Airtool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 07:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
fansill's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 446
I had a similar experience at a local campground. We were placed at a 20amp site and it kept shutting down my coach, even without turning anything on in the coach. When we were switched to a 30 amp site...everything was fine. When I am plugged into my home, my EMS indicator said that I was running on 20/30 amps.

I was mystified so I called Fleetwood and they told me that my Revolution has basic needs and that my charger might drawer close to 20 amps and if the campground service was even a tad lower than 20 amp, it would not have enough "juice" to start the charger (converter/inverter) and thus, would shut down the coach. My house where I plug in when I am home runs between 20 and 30 amps and is therefore enough.

I have resigned myself to finding at least 30 amp sites and if I cannot, then I will run my gennie or use my inverter.

I am grateful that I have those options.

Faith
__________________
Faith and Bob, Bitsy the Papillon and Bosco the Chi-weenie....RIP Truffles
2005 Revolution LE - 2008 Honda CRV Toad
Northern Massachusetts and the rest of the Country.
fansill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 07:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
Your inverter, hot water heater, would do it.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 09:09 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Inverter, water heater and frig all all up to a substantial amount of amps. Make sure you have them OFF.

ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 09:29 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdbaggs View Post
How do I limit the battery charger from going into bulk mode?
Thanks
I have a Dimensions Inverter/Charger and there is a "charger draw" button just under the display where I can click through the AC Draw options from 25 amps to Charger Off. I limit it to 5amps when on limited shore power. I think your charger will go into bulk mode if the batteries drop to around 12.4v.

In addition I put the water heater and fridge on LP.

Good luck...

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 09:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Acker1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 307
Are you plugging into GFCI circuits? They usually will trip when a MH is hooked to them.

DICK
__________________
2010 Phaeton QTH 40'
2017 GMC Sierra Crew Cab pickup 4X4
Recon, D,2/7, 1st Cav '65
Acker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 02:20 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
mdbaggs's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, NY
Posts: 25
I think maybe the problem is solved for now. I went into the menu's on the inverters and was able to limit the draw down to 15 amps. My rig actually has two inverters, one is supposedly dedicated to the residential frig and it was set to draw up to 30 amp. There is also a 5 amp setting as well. I changed that one, but didn't have to change the other as it was already set to 15 amps. On the other I also changed the Charge % from 100% to 50% which I assume will reduce the draw to charge the house batteries when they go to low.
So far, so good, its been plugged in for about 8 hrs now without tripping the breaker. Thanks everyone.
__________________
mdbaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 02:21 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Barbaraok's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Traveling in North America
Posts: 1,445
You need to get an electrician out to your house and set up a separate circuit at proper amperage for your coach.

Barb
__________________
Barbara & David O'Keeffe
Figment II (Alpine 2002 36 MDDS)
On The Road since 2006
Blog
Barbaraok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 12:17 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
mr300ce's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quartz Hill, California
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdbaggs View Post
I think maybe the problem is solved for now. I went into the menu's on the inverters and was able to limit the draw down to 15 amps. My rig actually has two inverters, one is supposedly dedicated to the residential frig and it was set to draw up to 30 amp. There is also a 5 amp setting as well. I changed that one, but didn't have to change the other as it was already set to 15 amps. On the other I also changed the Charge % from 100% to 50% which I assume will reduce the draw to charge the house batteries when they go to low.
So far, so good, its been plugged in for about 8 hrs now without tripping the breaker. Thanks everyone.
Wish my Bounder had those power lowering options. I live in my MH, here in the Mojave desert.

Last summer I ran one a/c, fridge, converter, and hotshot water heater all on a 20amp house plug in my MH. No problems. Now it is 105*F every day, and breaker was tripping every 15min. Wiring was very hot. Breakers trip when they 'overheat' from the current draw.

There was an empty 30amp breaker in the main box, and the wiring to that outlet I use is very large (heavy), so I switched it over to that 30amp breaker. Now, no problems.

Also, a breaker will 'go bad' sooner when it trips alot. It 'wears out'.
__________________

__________________
'94 Bounder 32h. Chevy V-8 44k miles and like new. Tow 4 down 2007 Saturn Vue w/Honda V6
Retired Memorial Day wknd, 2015, but who's counting
mr300ce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only shore power Jonreed Travel Trailer Discussion 13 07-12-2011 10:28 AM
Stopping charging of coach battery while on shore power komac MH-General Discussions & Problems 17 10-24-2010 07:46 AM
No shore power Langord Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 17 07-21-2009 11:27 AM
Electrical - Shore Power 15A Old Rv'er Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 07-29-2008 08:04 PM
Appliances don't work with shore power wicked5ltr Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 2 01-28-2007 04:26 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.