Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2008, 12:20 PM   #1
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
I have a Workhorse P32 chassis and have a problem of blowing the flasher/hazard fuse when using this system while towing my Jeep. Without the tow there is no problem. I realize this adds additional lights into the system but I don't blow any fuses when using tail lights or brake lights. I noticed that the tail light fuse is 20 amp but the brake/hazard fuse is only 15 amp. I purchased the motorhome new so no one has put in an incorrect fuse. What amperage fuse is normal for the brake/hazard lights and can I replace the 15 amp with a 20 amp?
__________________

__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-26-2008, 12:20 PM   #2
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
I have a Workhorse P32 chassis and have a problem of blowing the flasher/hazard fuse when using this system while towing my Jeep. Without the tow there is no problem. I realize this adds additional lights into the system but I don't blow any fuses when using tail lights or brake lights. I noticed that the tail light fuse is 20 amp but the brake/hazard fuse is only 15 amp. I purchased the motorhome new so no one has put in an incorrect fuse. What amperage fuse is normal for the brake/hazard lights and can I replace the 15 amp with a 20 amp?
__________________

__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:37 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Recommend you contact Workhorse about this fuser size. DON'T install a larger fuse unless they say you can. Have you assured the wiring on Jeep is correct? Might be worth looking at. Good luck and let us know what you find out. Thanks
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 05:02 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 81
Suggest you also check the cable from the motorhome to the tow vehicle. I had a similiar problem a few years back and found I had a loose connection in the connecting cable.
__________________
The Beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 08:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California Desert
Posts: 357
What "the beaver" said. If you have the blue coiled toad cable, take the back covers off the connectors and make sure all the little set screws are tight. Once a power wire gets loose inside there all kinds of things happen.
__________________
2004 Southwind 32VS
2014 C-Max toad
Workhorse chassis
wilanddij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 05:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
Look at the cable for damage also, sometimes if it gets pinched by the towbar the wires get mashed together shorting out. Also manufactuers usually have seperate fuses for the coach lights and the toad lights so that not all lighting is lost if there is a problem with one or the other.
__________________
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 08:08 AM   #7
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
Thanks for the replies. I have checked the cable and found no problems. I should have mentioned that the flashers will work for about 10 seconds before blowing the fuse. It seems like the system gets overloaded when I connect my Jeep and it doesn't make sense to me that the tail light fuse is 20 amp while the brake/hazard is only 15 amp. They sould both be using the same wire diameter so I don't see the harm of increasing the fuse size. What fuse size do others have on their brake/hazard circuit?
__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 01:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northwestern Montana
Posts: 3,138
Increase the fuse size to 20 amps. Should not be a problem. As you said wire gauge is the same as tail light circuit. The 20 amp will blow before any damage can be done to the circuit. You may be just on the edge with the toad connected, after all you are flashing at least eight bulbs when you have the emergency flasher on.

Dieselclacker
__________________
Dieselclacker
dieselclacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 07:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
The reason that the OEM has a 15 amp fuse may be because the flasher unit is rated at 15 amps. I think though most of the flashers I have seen are rated at 30 though. Is the electrical connection for the toad factory installed or was it spliced into the exsisting tailights on the MH? That may be the problem. there should be a bundle of wires at the rear just for connection of a toad or trailer. These wires would have seperate fuses and flasher unit or relay to handle the load. Has it worked before or has it never worked?
__________________
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 08:29 PM   #10
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
The connection is not factory installed and does not have its own flasher or fuse. I'll check out the flasher rating tomorrow to see what amperage it's rated at. Dieselclacker, I'm only adding two more lights to flash when I hook up the Jeep as I did not include the Jeep's front lights into the circuit. Can anyone tell me what size fuse is in your flasher circuit? Thanks!
__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 04:10 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northwestern Montana
Posts: 3,138
CYOUL8R, the size fuse for the brake/hazard light circuit on my 2004 Workhorse chassis is 20A.

Dieselclacker
__________________
Dieselclacker
dieselclacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:55 AM   #12
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Can anyone tell me what size fuse is in your flasher circuit? Thanks! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 09:56 AM   #13
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Can anyone else tell me what size fuse is in your flasher circuit? Thanks! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
__________________

__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with fuse blowing solution LandHo Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 04-26-2008 06:39 PM
Blowing My Fuse!!! CYOUL8R MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 10-11-2007 06:18 AM
Blowing fuse Nell 5th Wheel Discussion 4 07-16-2006 12:57 PM
Blowing Fuse in thermostat FISHMAN RV Systems & Appliances 2 03-15-2005 03:22 AM
Blowing 12V Fuse......? RV Systems & Appliances 4 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.