Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2007, 10:08 AM   #1
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
I'm having a problem of blowing the fuse in the motorhome that operates the brake lights and hazard lights. This only happens when I tow my Jeep and use the hazard/flasher lights. Everything else works fine, i.e. taillights, turn signals, and brake lights, until I turn on the hazard lights. This fuse (15 amp) works both the brake lights and hazard lights so when it blows I have no brake lights. The hazard lights will, however, work for 10 to 15 seconds before the fuse blows. I'm thinking that the flasher is creating more heat or drawing more amps than if I just use the brake lights. By wiring the Jeep lights into the circuit I'm only adding two more lights. Is this normal and is there a fix without having to rewire this circuit with a larger gauge wire and fuse?
__________________

__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-10-2007, 10:08 AM   #2
Member
 
CYOUL8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 34
I'm having a problem of blowing the fuse in the motorhome that operates the brake lights and hazard lights. This only happens when I tow my Jeep and use the hazard/flasher lights. Everything else works fine, i.e. taillights, turn signals, and brake lights, until I turn on the hazard lights. This fuse (15 amp) works both the brake lights and hazard lights so when it blows I have no brake lights. The hazard lights will, however, work for 10 to 15 seconds before the fuse blows. I'm thinking that the flasher is creating more heat or drawing more amps than if I just use the brake lights. By wiring the Jeep lights into the circuit I'm only adding two more lights. Is this normal and is there a fix without having to rewire this circuit with a larger gauge wire and fuse?
__________________

__________________
2001 Condor by R-Vision 33' 6" w/galley slide
CYOUL8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 10:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 205
When you add the toad to the light circuit, with the additional bulbs, you are overloading the existing fuse. You could go up one size fuse. Just be careful you do not overload the wires and flasher relays. I blew the stop light switch on mine.
__________________
JerryForwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 11:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rocky Larson's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 604
I replaced my Honda CRV brake and parking lights with LED's to increase their brightness when towing. I think the low amp draw of the LED's may also solve your problem. Read all the info at this site and see what you think:

http://www.superbrightleds.com/
__________________
04 Allegro 30DA, WH 8.1, Banks, 03 Honda CRV/2012 Jeep Liberty Jet, Brake Buddy Adv Select, 300watts Solar, 7 Group 31 Optima AGMs, 2000watt PSW inverter
"Philippians 4:11-13 KJV"
Rocky Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California Desert
Posts: 357
If you have the blue coiled 6-pin cable for your toad connection, pull the back off each of the connectors and make sure all the wires are securely held in by the little set screws. Mine were all loose, and depending on how the cable was moved, a wire would occasionally touch ground and blow a fuse. This was super frustrating because it was intermittent. You may not have this problem, cause it seems that your problem happens only under known circumstances.
__________________
2004 Southwind 32VS
2014 C-Max toad
Workhorse chassis
wilanddij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 01:46 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Do not increase the fuse size. The wiring gage is protected by the proper size fuse. You will need to find the short or high current condition and repair it. Another option is to replace fuse with an auto reset breaker.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 03:51 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: st.charles mo.
Posts: 1,194
Your toad probably has seperate bulbs for 4 ways than brake lights. If so they make an adaptor to take care of that. It converts your single bulb t/s brake lights to seperate t/s brake lights. hope this helps.
__________________
speed racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 03:56 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
antlerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 115
We had the same problem with our jeep, also the center information display would show a burnt out bulb in the jeep. in the wiring harness there was a couple of "magic boxes" converters that went bad that are connected between the trailer harness and rear lights on the jeep.

we just went with the L E D's and that fixed the problem. it was the extra amp draw of the lights causing the problem.
__________________
1994 Holiday Rambler Endeavor LE 32 CB F53 chassis

2007 Toyoata Prius Hybrid
antlerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 06:18 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 81
I had the same problem as wilanddij. Tighten all connections and never had the problem again.

Ron
__________________

__________________
The Beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blowing 12V Fuse......? C Rob New Member Check-In 4 08-14-2007 07:28 PM
right signal fuse keeps blowing Motorhome05 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 03-14-2007 12:29 PM
Blowing fuse Nell 5th Wheel Discussion 4 07-16-2006 12:57 PM
Blowing 2A Fuse in Thermostat FISHMAN Travel Trailer Discussion 1 03-14-2005 05:14 AM
Blowing 12V Fuse......? RV Systems & Appliances 4 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.