Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2014, 10:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 63
Cable tv problems

Have a brand-new coach Sunseeker 2650. When connected to cable inlet cable doesn't work. When I connect directly from outside cable to TV cable works fine. Obviously it's inside the walls cable problem. I'm guessing this is going to be warranty repair work. Does anyone know of a fix other than to take it back for repair work. Other than the outside cable inlet I don't know of any other access points.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions
__________________

__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-29-2014, 11:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
topdownman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,462
You should have a TV switcher mounted somewhere. Have you set that to Cable TV instead of Antenna? Does the TV work via antenna?
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - FMCA 351514 - Louisville, KY
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH - Freightliner / Cummins
2006 Jeep Commander
Cricket SW3 Personal Transporter
topdownman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 11:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 15,087
In addition to selection cable on the box of many buttons, if you have an antenna booster, it must be in the off position.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 12:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 63
I will look for a switch I was not aware there was one and yes I do get antennae service
__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 12:57 PM   #5
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 63
I have searched everywhere in rv cannot find a cable/antennae switch.

I did set tv settings from air to cable on tv screen menu so that is not the problem
__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 01:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 15,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie Z View Post
I have searched everywhere in rv cannot find a cable/antennae switch.

I did set tv settings from air to cable on tv screen menu so that is not the problem
Where does the over the air antenna and cable TV cables come into the MH before going to your TV? They should connect to a switching box also known as a BOMB, Box of Many Buttons. It is there where you select what source you want to see on your TV. If you have Satellite, it will also connect to that box and be marked SAT.

Some RV's also have an antenna booster button, usually located on a 12V power plug receptacle in the entertainment center. That button needs to be pushed so no light is showing for cable and the light on for antenna.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 02:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 63
Finally found the switch it's a button I do get cable now but it is a poor picture compared to when I connected directly from outside cable to tv
__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 02:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
topdownman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,462
Depending on where you are, cable quality can suck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie Z View Post
Finally found the switch it's a button I do get cable now but it is a poor picture compared to when I connected directly from outside cable to tv
__________________
Mark Anderson - FMCA 351514 - Louisville, KY
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH - Freightliner / Cummins
2006 Jeep Commander
Cricket SW3 Personal Transporter
topdownman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 02:38 PM   #9
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 63
I figured that but what concerns me is when I go directly to tv the pic is clear
__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 02:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,796
We had the same problem and didn't know there was a switch/button to push. Went to the dealer and he showed us and had it working in minutes.

After you push the button to disconect the tv antenna booster. Go back to your tv settings and put it on cable, and let it do the auto programming. Ours says it will take up to 50 minutes but it is actually about 5 minutes to run its course, The picture will come out nice and clear after doing that.
__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 04:02 PM   #11
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 63
I did everything but that
I already ran cable directly to tv
Tomorrow I will hook up through cable inlet and run the scan again
Hopefully that works

Thanks to all that took time to answer
__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 06:01 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
JacknKay's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 594
I also had problems when connected to cable. When I get something on the antenna, I get a really nice Hi Def picture. On cable it was snowy at best. I ran a cable from the pedestal to the BOMB and got a good picture. I started looking out at the connection into the coach and found that there was a loose connection on the back of the panel where the connection is. Luckily I could reach the back side and tighten it down. I then put the cable back to the coach's connection point and got as good of a picture as I had with the cable directly from the pedestal.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Jack & Kay
2015 Allegro 32CA Ford Chassis
FMCA #341229
JacknKay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 10:11 AM   #13
doc
Senior Member
 
doc's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dixie !! (north Georgia) USA
Posts: 2,953
Suggest you make sure all the wires on the back of the box connections are tight. Had that issue on a new coach and the factory was apparently in too big a hurry and just gave them a turn or two to hold them in place. Tightened and picture improved immediately.
__________________
doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 10:39 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
jdoc's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Big Spring, Texas
Posts: 768
Send a message via Yahoo to jdoc
This is just a thought, since you said it is a brand new rig I would take back to the dealer and let them fix it. It is under warranty.

Jerry
__________________

__________________
Jerry and Janell
Navy by record Marine by choice
2005 Bounder 38N DP 300 CAT 2017 Jeep Wrangler
jdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coachmen: television cable hook up operation!?! mwwade Forest River Owners Forum 1 03-26-2014 09:41 PM
Ready Brake Cable Broke Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 21 03-13-2014 04:24 PM
Need Brake cable for Parking brake 08 Alpine Just Cruising Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 03-06-2014 10:10 PM
Garmin 760 dezl lmt problems THERAPY GUY Newmar Owner's Forum 2 03-03-2014 01:03 PM
EGR soot cleaning to have less replacement problems tom chelbana Cummins Engines 2 02-14-2014 09:09 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.