Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2012, 04:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ceratto's Grotto's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NW Washington State
Posts: 289
Can A 30A MH Plug Into A 50A Outlet (with a plug converter of course)

I've run into the situation where I've plugged my 30A motor home into a worn / loose / corroded 30A female pedestal receptor and heavy use of the AC caused the plug to overheat and/or trip the 30A breaker on the pedestal (and even the MH's AC breaker once or twice). In these cases I've generally just reduced my AC usage. Each time, heat corrosion occued on my male plug ends and I just cleaned them and checked for heat buildup at the next stop. This seems to happen at older more used RV parks, which seems to make sense.

The other day I saw a 30A female to 50A male short converter cable and though that this might be a solution to those times mentioned above. I can't think of a reason why one couldn't do that but would ask others more qualified opinion please?
__________________

__________________

The Hamptons
2015 Newmar Ventana LE 3436
2005 Mini Cooper S
Ceratto's Grotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-12-2012, 05:09 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
If I understand correctly how it all works, you should be fine using a "dog bone" adapter to plug your 30 amp male into a 50 amp outlet. I believe it will tap one of the two available 120v 50 amp circuits. This will make 50 amps available to you but your rigs main breaker should still limit your usage to 30 amps.

I'm sure some of our experts will chime in and correct me if I'm off base here.

Best of luck.

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
doc
Senior Member
 
doc's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dixie !! (north Georgia) USA
Posts: 2,953
You nailed it Rick !!
__________________
doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,545
Yes it will work just fine to power your rig.

No it won't help with your 30A plug overheating and melting one of the prongs in the 30A male plug.

This is a very typical problem on 30A coaches. Best solution is to replace the male plug periodically, as when they get hot, they deteriorate the connection between the prong and the wire. Easily replaced for maybe $15 in parts.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ceratto's Grotto's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NW Washington State
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickO
If I understand correctly how it all works, you should be fine using a "dog bone" adapter to plug your 30 amp male into a 50 amp outlet. I believe it will tap one of the two available 120v 50 amp circuits. This will make 50 amps available to you but your rigs main breaker should still limit your usage to 30 amps.

I'm sure some of our experts will chime in and correct me if I'm off base here.

Best of luck.

Rick
Thanks Rick,

That is what I thought, but I'm not an electrician and assuming stuff like that, well... I've learned not too...

Thanks again, and the same thanks to the other responses...
__________________

The Hamptons
2015 Newmar Ventana LE 3436
2005 Mini Cooper S
Ceratto's Grotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
VSPA's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Humble/Atascocita, Texas
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc View Post
You nailed it Rick !!
Over the years I've had both 30 and 50 amp units and with our current unit being a 30 amp, so I keep several different adapters so I can use what ever is available. I've ended up with 25 ft extention cords for both services.
__________________
Stan, Shirley & 2 Schnauzers (Sandy & Sassy)
RV: 2014 Itasca Sunstar 35F
USAF, Retired, Life Member: DAV, VFW, VVA, & VSPA
VSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA (Stick & Brick)
Posts: 2,623
Your rig will draw the amount of current it needs for whatever you've got switched on. The fact that you've connected a 30A rig, through a dog-bone adapter, to a 50A socket makes no difference.

If you had a 50A rig plugged into a 30A outlet, that's a whole different story. There would be a good chance of spitzensparken if you tried to run a lot of electrical stuff.

I keep my 30A rig plugged into a regular house 15A circuit when it's docked at home, but all I run is the battery charger system and whatever lights I need if I'm inside the rig in low light
__________________
Frank Damp -Anacortes, WA,(DW- Eileen)
ex-pat Brits (1968) and ex-RVers.
frankdamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BobGed's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankdamp View Post
If you had a 50A rig plugged into a 30A outlet, that's a whole different story. There would be a good chance of spitzensparken if you tried to run a lot of electrical stuff.
I assume that's just another term for tripping breakers, because that's all that would happen.
__________________
Bob, Sherron & Kinsey (Goldendoodle)
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited
BobGed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:26 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
If it is your male plug over heating and in bad shape, it won't help it If you have 30 amp pedestal that has a smoked plug, DO NOT PLUG INTO IT.

Be sure and keep a close watch on the 50 to 30 to make sure it is not over heating. A loose feed to one side of the 50 amp could be causing the 30 amp problem.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Will a 30 amp rig work if plugged into a 50 amp outlet with the proper adapter:

YES!, and that is all there is to it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 05:15 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
KmsgoracerKm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glen Ivy, Ca
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pusherman View Post
Yes it will work just fine to power your rig.

No it won't help with your 30A plug overheating and melting one of the prongs in the 30A male plug.

This is a very typical problem on 30A coaches. Best solution is to replace the male plug periodically, as when they get hot, they deteriorate the connection between the prong and the wire. Easily replaced for maybe $15 in parts.
Ditto on the replacement. However, for those that have over heating 30 amp cords, either with a 30 amp coach or those with a 50 amp coach plugged into a 30 amp Pedestal, you may want to look into the JTB Power solutions device. It has its own power cord and supplements the power from the pedestal using either a 30 amp receptacle or a 20/15/amp receptacle. This keeps the 30 amp power cord cool and lets you run a second ACor other appliance, like a hot water heater or Wash/Dry, etc. I have one now and it comes in handy with many other uses too.
__________________
KmsgoracerKm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 09:32 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks Guys to All Who have answered all the 30 amp / 50 amp questions. As a newby, I am very grateful and thankful to have what appears to be a great resource. ~Steve
__________________
D00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 09:35 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
brucemcdou's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 291
To D00d and to the OP - if you've got corroded plugs, sparks, etc., these are all reasons to spend the money on a surge protector for your unit. Since the OP's RV is 30A, buy a portable one for 30A and use it, whether at a 30A plug or 50A. Like a surge protector at home for your expensive electronics, it will protect against surges. Will also protect (and will notify you of) low voltage, high voltage, and reversed polarity. All things that are easy to avoid only if you know about them before plugging in your expensive RV!

From one who uses a surge protector after the first time he needed one and didn't have it...
__________________
Bruce & Dan
2017 Ventana LE 3412; 2010 CR-V Toad
brucemcdou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 05:02 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 929
Ours is a 30 amp coach but i learned a long time ago that using the 50 amp receptacle, if available, was sometimes the way to go. Many times, the 30 amp receptacles on the pedestals would be corroded looking, burnt, and/or lose fitting. The 50 amp on the same pedestal is usually in better shape. The dog bone has come in handy for sure!

One thing i won't do is use a bad pedestal receptacle. I'll have it replaced or i'll move to another site.

To the OP, it sure wouldn't hurt to go ahead and replace your 30 amp male plug if it's already experienced overheating from a bad connection(s).
__________________

__________________
03 Itasca Sunova, 8.1 Workhorse on a P32 chassis
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.