Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 12:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: AMESBURY MA.
Posts: 2,103
I have a remote start on my master panel just outside my bathroom door. I want to add another on the dash.It is a guardian 5500 gas.Has anyone done this?I figure ask here first.
__________________

__________________
Frankie

2006 FOUR WINDS HURRICANE 34N F-53
Frankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2006, 12:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: AMESBURY MA.
Posts: 2,103
I have a remote start on my master panel just outside my bathroom door. I want to add another on the dash.It is a guardian 5500 gas.Has anyone done this?I figure ask here first.
__________________

__________________
Frankie

2006 FOUR WINDS HURRICANE 34N F-53
Frankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 05:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 1,182
I have an Onan in my unit that has three locations for starting. One on the generator itself, one near the galley and the third on the dash. Have you checked with Guardian for information regarding he remote start? It would seem that adding an additional switch should be no problem.
__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 01:03 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Get the same switch as used in the coach and wire the switches in parrallel and you will be good to go.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 01:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,190
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Kazoo Tom:
I have an Onan in my unit that has three locations for starting. One on the generator itself, one near the galley and the third on the dash. Have you checked with Guardian for information regarding he remote start? It would seem that adding an additional switch should be no problem. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I miss having the one in the bedroom like I had in my 95 Vectra. When dry camping it was very nice to be able to get the genny started or stopped with a switch at hands reach.
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 01:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: AMESBURY MA.
Posts: 2,103
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RV Wizard:
Get the same switch as used in the coach and wire the switches in parrallel and you will be good to go. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Thats the answer I was looking for. Thank you for the replies.
__________________
Frankie

2006 FOUR WINDS HURRICANE 34N F-53
Frankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 05:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 43
I added a second switch for my Onan in my 1992 Winnebago. I bought two push button switches at Radio Shack, one black and one red. I installed them in my dash just left of the steering wheel. I ran the wires to the generator.

I wanted to be able to turn the generator on or off while driving.

You should be able to get a wiring diagram for your generator on the web.
__________________
Jerry Pauley
JerryofWV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 06:50 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 573
I have a winnebago Adventurer with two remotes standard inside (dash & galley) and actually added a 3rd remote in my 20' enclosed trailer that I tow for the toys. Same deal. Just paralleled the existing switches and added a 4 pole connector at the rear of the coach to plug into with the trailer. Works great. I can start and stop the coach genset from inside the trailer to run the air compressor, etc. Of course I have to plug the AC cord of the trailer into the motorhome first.
__________________

__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X\2013 Honda CRV AWD
2015 Polaris RZR XP 1000\2014 KTM 350EXC
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd AC dmc Excel Owner's Forum 8 01-28-2009 03:52 PM
Adding a 2nd remote Gen. switch max49 Damon 12 04-23-2007 04:42 PM
2nd Winnebago Harryb New Member Check-In 6 04-06-2007 04:28 AM
Add a 2nd remote starter for Generator?? max49 MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 03-12-2007 12:43 AM
Red Oil Pressure Signal on dash is a GM Problem in Dash Unit BEBOP Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 11 07-28-2005 07:47 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.