Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2010, 01:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 357
can i drive w/ no battery

Our house batteries gave up the ghost on the diesel pusher. Went in and removed the old ones and found some corrosion etc. I would like to repair and clean. The coach is up in storage and the new batteries and cleaning tools are right here in my garage. The question is: can I drive the thing with no house batteries hooked up. My concern centers on any charge that might come from the the engine and possible damage to the system. I am hoping they are completely independent systems and never a wire crosses.
Also, on my EMS panel are 2 switches labeled "main" and "aux". Assume the main refers to the starting batteries and the aux to the house batteries. Exactly where do these disconnects occur and how isolated are the systems.
Thanks
Bob
__________________

__________________
bandmbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-06-2010, 02:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,685
Why don"t you just hook the old batteries back up loosely and drive it to where you need to and unhook them again? No different than driving with dead batteries. That way any charge current will just pass harmlessly through the old batteries to ground.
__________________

__________________
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 05:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 357
can i drive w/no

thanks. That sure is an option but, with 4 batteries weighing 60 lbs. each I would prefer to only install them once. However, i am not opposed to your suggestion as a last resort.
thanks
__________________
bandmbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 06:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Martind4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Marshfield, WI
Posts: 433
You wouldn't have to reinstall all 4, just one will make it work.
__________________
Denny, Connie & Shadow (former barn cat made good)
2000 Itasca Horizon, Cat 3126B, Freightliner Chassis
Martind4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 06:26 PM   #5
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martind4 View Post
You wouldn't have to reinstall all 4, just one will make it work.
Two if they're 6 volt.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 07:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Martind4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Marshfield, WI
Posts: 433
Oops, forgot about the 6 volt option. That's what makes this forum so good, everyone helps to keep me out of trouble. Thanks!
__________________
Denny, Connie & Shadow (former barn cat made good)
2000 Itasca Horizon, Cat 3126B, Freightliner Chassis
Martind4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:09 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 357
batteries

so,,,what i'm hearing is the engine charges the house batteries during operation?
__________________
bandmbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Elkhartjim's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 3,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandmbrown View Post
so,,,what i'm hearing is the engine charges the house batteries during operation?
The engine does charge the house batteries. Also, make sure you install the engine (two) batteries not the house (four).
__________________
Jim with Judy
2017 Newmar Ventana 4369, 2005 Jeep Wrangler (Rock Crawler), 2016 Jeep Wrangler (Mall Crawler)
Elkhartjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:49 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
You said your HOUSE batteries are the ones you removed.

Yes, you can drive without house batteries.. IN fact if you ever have driven with the house battery switch in the DISCONNECT position. you already have driven with out house batteries.

Just do not turn on any house systems as they won't work unless the engine is running.

one safety precaution though

I'd get a roll of painter's tape (Cause it is very cheap and easy to remove) and tap e all the POSITIVE wires that hooked to those batteries (not the battery-battery jumpers, since they are now hooked to nothing at all) but the wires that were hooked to the POSITIVE terminal that run back into the motor home.

Beyond that. no special precautions needed


If you really feel the need for battery.. Use a "Jump start" type battery (one of thos luggable AGM things with pre-attached jumper cables you get at Sam's Costco or your local auto-supplier) They won't last long in house service (I mean they are in the 20-30 amp hour range, but they do simulate a battery well, since they are a battery. Oh, get one with at least 750 amps peak rating incase you need to jump start your car (Smaller ones wont' even jump a motor cycle.. I know. I tried)
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:27 AM   #10
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,204
As WA8XYM stated. You do not need your house batteries to drive.

But do tape all positive (+) leads to the batteries you removed.

No connection - no current - no current demand - no alternator damage.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse)
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
RVM14
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:07 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
HotMech's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Dungeon in Broomfield, CO
Posts: 186
Send a message via Skype™ to HotMech
A battery is not needed in any system, House or Chassis, to drive the vehicle.

the battery is only needed to supply power when no charging system is present, and to start the vehicle.

Yes, the vehicle charging system does charge all batteries, it is hooked to, when it is running. Most have Isolation relays in place for that.

Kerry
__________________
Damn, I'm Good!
"I've got dozzens of friends, and the fun never ends, that is, as long as I'm buying."
HotMech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:20 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 357
batteries

thanks for the reply. the maintenance was done a couple weeks ago. just did the work in the storage lot, had not problems.
thanks all
__________________
bandmbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 03:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Alan_Hepburn's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 1,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotMech View Post
A battery is not needed in any system, House or Chassis, to drive the vehicle.
While this was certainly true in the days of all-mechanical systems, with the advent of engine computers, fuel injection, and the myriad of other electronics in today's vehicles I think driving with only the alternator supplying the power is asking for some major electronics swap-outs. The battery acts as a filter on the power line, smoothing out the alternator's output to prevent most fluctuations from wreaking havoc with the system.
__________________

__________________
Alan Hepburn - San Jose, Ca
2007 Bounder 35E being pushed by a 2008 smart fortwo Passion
Good Sam Member #566004 * FMCA Member #F431612
Alan_Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hurricane 31D Battery Trouble gene2 Thor Industries Owner's Forum 3 08-23-2009 06:52 PM
Battery Management Saga AnotherGeorge Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 1 08-04-2009 11:36 AM
House battery power cuts off jrcwen Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 07-20-2009 03:43 PM
Bad Chassis Battery ? tazsport Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 11-26-2007 01:01 PM
Dead Starting Battery on new Access Coach ctcamper Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 09-10-2007 03:36 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.