Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2012, 06:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Joe&Karen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Williston, Fl.
Posts: 20
Changeover switch not working?

Today I was going to do my routine generator exercising, but I'm now not getting any 110 power from my generator. When I pug into shore power I hear the changeover switch click and everything works, but when I start up the generator I dont hear the switch activate.

My rig is a 1988 Ultrastar by Champion class A with a Onan 4 K generator that is original.

Can someone guide me in the right direction of what to check and look for? Thanks
__________________

__________________
Joe&Karen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-26-2012, 09:41 PM   #2
Member
 
tnarvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 55
if u can ck the contacts on the tranfer switch ,, they get rusty from normal humidity ,, can u see if the trnsfer switch is really swapping??? also if u can ,, ck the genset output , u might have a bad stator in the set ,, that does not see 120 volts ,, but i feel that is not the prob
__________________

__________________
One Love , One Ocean
Fins UP
" MY WAY OF LIFE "
tnarvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Heater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 162
I am not a pro by any means but I have been thru this. In. My case my transfer switch default position is shore. So I am a little confused as to why you would here a click when plugged into shore. I only hear a click when my genset is running. It could be a wire burnt out from your genset to the transfer switch. Check the voltage on both legs of your generator. There should be a junction box near the generator were you can check the voltage. If you have voltage here then you have eliminated the generator.
__________________
Heater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:49 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
I gather you tried it on generator and had no power? Have you reset the circuit breaker on the generator itself? If it is tripped, no power will reach the transfer switch, so it won't "click" over to generator mode either.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 09:43 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
My first question would be is: How do you know that the generator is putting out 110 Volts?????? Have you checked the fuses/breakers on the generator? How you taken a volt meter and checked the output of the gennerator????
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:30 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Joe&Karen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Williston, Fl.
Posts: 20
Ok, I found the problem. The 30 amp main breaker was off. The breaker switch is mounted on the side of this generator so with it not being on the front it wasn't obvious for me to see and anytime there is a problem my first conclusion is always the worse. Thats just the way I am.

My last trip was about 6 weeks ago and was a 5 day boone-docking trip and the gernerator worked fine. Not sure if it tripped on got bumped by something, but everything is fine now. Thanks everyone!
__________________

__________________
Joe&Karen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.