Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2016, 08:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 171
Changing 50 amp cord

My 2012 bouncer classic has a 50 amp cord that is way too stiff. I think the fix would be to replace with rubber cord. Has anyone done that and where did you get the cord and make plug
__________________

__________________
Terryshirley is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-17-2016, 08:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terryshirley View Post
My 2012 bouncer classic has a 50 amp cord that is way too stiff. I think the fix would be to replace with rubber cord. Has anyone done that and where did you get the cord and make plug

Call these folks:

http://www.glendinningprods.com/

They make cord reels for high end coaches and the marine industry. I have one of there 50 amp cords. It was OEM on our 13 year old coach and it's like new. It's very flexible in cold weather.
__________________

__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 08:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 2,411
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
You don't want most of the RV power cords poor quality outer jacket which makes them stiff. Look for 6ga 4wire SO cord. Commercial applications and can be used outdoors. Very flexible and a little smaller diameter. Expensive.


iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 08:58 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Expect to pay more for a quality cord that uses a more-flexible covering. Here is one from Surge Guard (TRC corp).
RV FLEX50A - Super flexible 50A cords | Technology Research, LLC

Or buy SEOW or So grade cord with 6/3 conductors and 8/1 ground and wire on your own 50A plug. The Camco 50A replacement plug is a nice one:
Graylog Web Interface
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 04:43 PM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
Call these folks:

Home - Glendinning Products

They make cord reels for high end coaches and the marine industry. I have one of there 50 amp cords. It was OEM on our 13 year old coach and it's like new. It's very flexible in cold weather.

X2!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 06:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Easyrider's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Baraboo, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,565
I'm not familiar with your RV, so this is only a uneducated question, but if the cord is stiff because it's cold outside, do you need 50 amps? I mean is the 50 amps mainly for the air conditioning, and if so could you get by with 30 amps and a 30 amp cord when it's cool outside? I never have problems with my 30 amp cord in cool weather, and the friends we camp with that have 50 amp RVs use 30 amp cords too.
__________________
Steve & Nancy
2005 Itasca Sunrise 33', W20 Chassis, Ultrapower, Henderson Trac Bar
2012 Chevy Captiva Sport AWD, ReadyBrute Elite Tow Bar, Blue Ox Base Plate, Protect-A-Tow
Easyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 07:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,799
If you are going to make your own cord a very handy feature is LEDs in the connector to indicate if power is present.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 07:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
Call these folks:

Home - Glendinning Products

They make cord reels for high end coaches and the marine industry. I have one of there 50 amp cords. It was OEM on our 13 year old coach and it's like new. It's very flexible in cold weather.
We have their rewind system and probably their cord as it's very flexible.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 10:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
milasman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 883
How does a 30 amp cord work on a 50 amp rig?
__________________
milasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 10:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by milasman View Post
How does a 30 amp cord work on a 50 amp rig?

There has to be an adapter of some description between the 30amp cord and the 50amp coach. Either a commercially made 30/50 adapter or a home brew. The one hot wire in the 30 amp cord must be wired to both L1 and L2 on the 50 amp side. The neutral and ground are straight through. If the 30 amp cord is dedicated to this job, you can wire a 50 amp female plug to the coach end of the cord.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 10:25 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
There has to be an adapter of some description between the 30amp cord and the 50amp coach. Either a commercially made 30/50 adapter or a home brew. The one hot wire in the 30 amp cord must be wired to both L1 and L2 on the 50 amp side. The neutral and ground are straight through. If the 30 amp cord is dedicated to this job, you can wire a 50 amp female plug to the coach end of the cord.
Yes, that's how it works.

The problem is you now are running everything off 30 amps, rather then 50 X 2 = 100 amps of power.

An all electric MH may tax that to the point of blowing the breaker.

The right side shows the adaptor configuration.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1463757874804.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	127607  
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 12:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
milasman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 883
Ok, not for me. I think a 50 amp coach should have a 50 amp cord. What happens when you plug in your 50 amp coach to a 50 amp station with your 30 amp cord? Your cord is now the weak link if you draw more than 30 amps.
__________________
milasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 12:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 2,411
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
Quote:
Originally Posted by milasman View Post
Ok, not for me. I think a 50 amp coach should have a 50 amp cord. What happens when you plug in your 50 amp coach to a 50 amp station with your 30 amp cord? Your cord is now the weak link if you draw more than 30 amps.
That's why I would use the 50a chord with the proper adapter if only 30a is available. I'm sure is that is what most do. If you have to make or buy a new chord go 50a if that is what you rig needs. I just put in a 50a receptacle at home that way although I typically wouldn't always need it, it's there to run the AC and anything else while packing.
__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 12:28 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by milasman View Post
Ok, not for me. I think a 50 amp coach should have a 50 amp cord. What happens when you plug in your 50 amp coach to a 50 amp station with your 30 amp cord? Your cord is now the weak link if you draw more than 30 amps.

No one suggested running a 30 amp cord with a 50 amp service. This thread started out about a 50 amp cord being hard to coil when cold and evolved to the question of using a 30 amp service in cold weather since the airs wouldn't be used. The purpose was the leave the 50 amp cord coiled and use the 30 amp cord and service in this condition.
__________________

__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp welding cord to 50 amp rv cord JSPERRELLA RV Systems & Appliances 18 05-19-2013 03:48 PM
50 amp split to 2 30 amp cord? taboky Class A Motorhome Discussions 33 10-29-2012 08:25 AM
50 Amp Cord/ One 50 Amp AC Breaker. Edouard National RV Owner's Forum 7 10-28-2010 09:23 AM
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.