Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2007, 08:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Posted this info about a month ago looking for a solution to my problem. Did not submit engine codes at that time because MH and records were in storage. Just got back from another trip and would like to try again.

Drive a 2000 Southwind 32V on the Ford chassis with the v-10 triton engine. I put an after market Banks exhaust system and transmission trans command also from Banks. I drove this unit for approximately 38,000 miles without a problem. About that time the check engine light came on. Over about a year I have taken it to my mechanic and recently the Ford Fleet service center in Roseville to get it fixed. Four to five thousand dollars later I still have the light on. The following parts/work have been replaced/completed:O2 sensors(2), mass air flow sensor(2),pvc hose,fuel pump,fuel filter,gas treated for water, computer reflashed, smoke test of vacuum lines,I think injectors swapped. The Ford Company wants me to completely go back to stock before they do any more work and Banks says it is not in their system. I aGREE SINCE i DROVE IT FOR A LONG TIME WITH THE bANKS BEFORE PROBLEM DEVELOPED. The main codes that show up indicated a lean condition on the right side(P1131). Code 1132 has shown up twice. Just put 8,000 miles on the rig in September and October going across the states and back. To my knowledge it did not miss one time. Ran strong on the hills. It appears to run as good as ever. Fuel mileage appears to be the same also. Anyone out there that can help?
-
__________________

__________________
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-22-2007, 08:26 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Posted this info about a month ago looking for a solution to my problem. Did not submit engine codes at that time because MH and records were in storage. Just got back from another trip and would like to try again.

Drive a 2000 Southwind 32V on the Ford chassis with the v-10 triton engine. I put an after market Banks exhaust system and transmission trans command also from Banks. I drove this unit for approximately 38,000 miles without a problem. About that time the check engine light came on. Over about a year I have taken it to my mechanic and recently the Ford Fleet service center in Roseville to get it fixed. Four to five thousand dollars later I still have the light on. The following parts/work have been replaced/completed:O2 sensors(2), mass air flow sensor(2),pvc hose,fuel pump,fuel filter,gas treated for water, computer reflashed, smoke test of vacuum lines,I think injectors swapped. The Ford Company wants me to completely go back to stock before they do any more work and Banks says it is not in their system. I aGREE SINCE i DROVE IT FOR A LONG TIME WITH THE bANKS BEFORE PROBLEM DEVELOPED. The main codes that show up indicated a lean condition on the right side(P1131). Code 1132 has shown up twice. Just put 8,000 miles on the rig in September and October going across the states and back. To my knowledge it did not miss one time. Ran strong on the hills. It appears to run as good as ever. Fuel mileage appears to be the same also. Anyone out there that can help?
-
__________________

__________________
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 04:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 272
I have a 99 Southwind with a Ford V10, and am having similar problems. My check engine light is on again for the third time. The last one was a 1131 code and had the sensor replaced. I have driven it for thousands of miles with no seeming impact. Won't be able to get another code read till next spring as I have just put it in storage.
__________________
2004 CRV
Brake Buddy Blue Ox Aventa II
Ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 05:25 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks for the input. I will be working on this until I get it resolved. Will keep y0u informed. Do you have a Banks installed?
__________________
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 12:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brownsville Tx. 78526
Posts: 89
If everything is running fine,I wouldn't put more money in it.Check engine lite usually means emission control problems.
__________________
Ron
ronmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 04:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
I have the same problem with my 96 Southwind, I also have a Banks power pack with a Ford 460 V-8, my problem is that it is OBDI instead of OBDII, and I cannot locate where the diagnostic plug is at on this unit, so I cannot retrieve any codes. It runs good and I average 8 mpg, but the light just nags me.
__________________
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:25 AM   #7
isa
Member
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Richmond, B.C., Canada
Posts: 82
I had a check engine light on and it turned out that the fuel tank's gas cap wasn't on correctly. After making sure that the cap was on properly it took two or three engine starts and restarts to clear the check engine light. A faster way to clear the check engine light would be to unhook the engine/chassis battery for about 30 mins.
P.S. I am talking about a 1999 F53 V-10 Triton.
__________________
isa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 08:49 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks for the input. I should be so lucky. The cap has been on and off many times since this problem developed. Always tighten and then further rotate until it ratchets to make sure it is tight.
__________________
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 10:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
tderonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Motor City, Mich
Posts: 1,233
I was on vacation when you posted before. A few more thoughts. I hadn't read your post here, it has a bit more info.

Anyway.

1131/2 aren't rich or lean fuel codes. Just that the sensor is stuck rich or lean. If you're not setting any other codes, it's probably not a fuel problem. A few things come to mind. The Banks kit moves the O2 sensors from their stock location. It's done with a short "extension cord". Perhaps there's a poorly sealed connection that is letting water in that is shorting out the sensor. Or perhaps a damaged or corroded pin in one of those connectors. I'd take apart the connectors and inspect them VERY closely. Any damage or even a loose pin could be causing your problem. You might also look for any melted wires. Headers and heat go hand in hand. The "extension cords" could easily be too close to the headers. You may not see outward damage. I'd inspect the wires inside the convolute.

A lesser possibility is related to something I've seen on my '04 with Banks headers. The O2 sensors being farther away don't heat up as quickly. Under the right conditions (temperature mostly), it'll switch from open loop to closed loop before the sensors are heated up. It runs a bit rough as it tries to go closed loop, but I've never gotten a code.

Oh yeah, exhaust leaks could also cause issues. The exhaust pulsing will actually let air into the exhaust causing the sensors to read lean. A very minor leak could let in enough air to set lean codes. Wouldn't explain a rich reading though.

And. Roseville. California? There isn't a truck center in Roseville Michigan, which would be in my area...
__________________
Tim.

tderonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 05:31 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Middletown,OH
Posts: 183
I would be willing to guess that when you put the banks system on, the location of the sensor is now affecting the input. As it wears or gets coated with gunk, it runs less efficiently. Just change it out with a new one and get an Actron scanner, they are cheap, you can reset it yourself and save money in the process. I have a mechanic I trust and he says most of the sensors have little to do with the operation of the vehicle. I have been doing work on OBD-1 system and have found this to be the case. Most of these ECM's are little more than table driven functions and the sensors are 'tweakers' to the table lookeup values. Dealers would have you believe otherwise...
__________________
Dave

Callsign: KD8W
hamdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:33 AM   #11
FW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Livingston, TX, USA
Posts: 50
Root; Have you tried a NEW gas cap? I had a Chev camaro that did the same thing. Before putting money into it a friend said to try a new cap and reset engine light.(disconnected battery neg terminal about 5 minutes)
__________________
Frank & Cyndi
2000 Diplomat 36B
2002 Chevy Tracker ZR-2
FW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 08:15 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
new-to-rving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: norwich ct
Posts: 28
guys first off you will need a topquality scan tool and second refer to the freeze/frame records when the code sets, seeing when and how the code sets, if it sets at idle and not driving a possible intake vacuum leak can cause this,and the fault is setting because it is correcting a problem itself,like a vcuum leak, gas caps problem will set evap emssion fault they are different. are you trying to fix it yourself? it is a complex system, obd2 system are different because they are designed to correct or disable so that don't pollute.
__________________
new-to-rving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 07:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
tderonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Motor City, Mich
Posts: 1,233
Any update Root?
__________________
Tim.

tderonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 08:09 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks all for youe input. Have not done anything to date with problem, but will follow up on all suggestions.
__________________

__________________
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check Engine Light digNbubbs Monaco Owner's Forum 7 01-23-2009 07:43 AM
Check Engine Light Higgins Cummins Engines 9 06-28-2008 09:57 AM
Check Engine light littlebaler1 Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 6 03-12-2008 11:27 AM
Ford Transmission Control Indicator Light and check engine light HKB MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 05-28-2007 04:23 PM
Check Engine Light htg3 Alpine Coach Forum 6 04-02-2005 06:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.