Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2008, 04:42 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
I do use a 30 amp chord with a 15 amp pigtail to attach to the house but its not long enough to reach the motorhome so the 50 amp chord is out in the cold.

Perhaps I need to get another 30 amp chord extension. hmmmm.

Anyhow we are south now and all is well.

Thanks

Steve
__________________

__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-23-2008, 06:31 AM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dveasey:
Has anyone thought to "Insulate" that portion that's left exposed to the freezing weather? I would think that the black foam slip-on pipe wrap would work. It comes in a commercial grade closed-cell version in varying diameters. Thinking you could slip it on & remove it before stowing the cord. Alternatively, you could wrap an electric pipe heat strip around the exposed portion. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Insulating the cord will do no good unless you are drawing enough power to make the cord warm up. The insulations function is to keep heat in (actually all it does is slow down the heat leving the warm surface. If there is no heat source to warm the cord, the insulated cord will assume the ambient temperature and be just as stiff as uninsulated.

Ken
__________________

__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 09:54 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Rich D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
You can solve the cold weather problem by switching to a "SOOW" type rubber cable. #6 with 4 conductors can be a bit pricey so shop around. A 25' made up with the ends will set you back about $200.00 or more. If your present cable has ends that are removable you should be able to re-use them and only need to purchase the rubber cord.
__________________
Rich D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 01:25 PM   #18
doc
Senior Member
 
doc's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dixie !! (north Georgia) USA
Posts: 2,954
Insulate a power cable?
__________________
doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 02:00 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Freebird23's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Statesville, NC
Posts: 240
There are a lot of grades of this cable.The best way is go to a elec supply house and let them show you what they have,(The SO cable is a very soft copper).Doing it this way can also get the amount you need,and save .$$$
__________________
HR--Neptune---Chev Tracker--Toad
Freebird23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:33 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by doc:
Insulate a power cable? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>



Doug
__________________

__________________
'07 Jayco Greyhawk 33DS
Doug_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bend, Or MRL Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 5 10-01-2008 03:44 PM
Bounder: Cold (Really Cold) Weather RV'ing Bounderoo Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 09-19-2008 12:35 PM
A/C not getting cold - intermittant - ideas? John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 21 03-24-2006 09:06 AM
River's Bend 8/5-8/13 Lynnvt Northeast Region 7 08-10-2005 09:53 AM
A/C not getting cold - intermittant - ideas? RV Systems & Appliances 21 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.