Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2012, 07:34 AM   #1
Member
 
mikenmo's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wherever we are
Posts: 75
Circuit tripping ?

When my wife uses the toaster and the microwave at the same time, both on the same circuit, it trips the inverter rather then the kitchen circuit inside on the panel. Shutting down the whole panel. Why is this?
Of course the inverter is outside, in the freezing cold! It doesn't happen often but sometimes she forgets.
BTW, 2008 Winnebago Tour. Fulltime, only home we have! and couldn't be happier.
__________________

__________________
08 Winnebago Tour 40TD
04 Jeep TJ
Kids Gone, No Pets, FT since 01/10
mikenmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-23-2012, 07:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RedWing Nut's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 605
Does it only happen when dry-camping?
__________________

__________________
Steve, Mary & Buddy our 2-year-old Chihuahua mix
1995 36' HR Endeavor, 460 w/Banks, 2005 PT Cruiser
Fulltimers originally from Michigan, hanging out in Oregon for a spell.
RedWing Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:43 AM   #3
Member
 
mikenmo's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wherever we are
Posts: 75
No, we're hooked up to a good, solid 50 amp post and it happened a while ago.
__________________
08 Winnebago Tour 40TD
04 Jeep TJ
Kids Gone, No Pets, FT since 01/10
mikenmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 08:19 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,321
Hi mikenmo,
It matters not the source of the 120 VAC. Circuits connected to the inverter must still pass through the inverter's breaker. If the inverter has a 30 AMP capacity, that's all your going to get on those circuits.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 08:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
What is the make and model of the Inverter?

This could be what is hapening but I don,t know your inverter model, my Xantrex freedom 458 would also trip in that situation.

Even though you are hooked up to external AC power, the inverter is passing the AC power through the inverter.

It trips because you are exceeding the current of one of the breakers on the inverter but not the total output current of the inverter. That is why the main inverter breaker is not tripping.

The inverter is most likley setup for 2 AC outputs. They could be 15 &15 or 15 & 20 or maybe 20 & 20 amp circuits. The microwave and toaster are high current draw devices, they draw at least 15 amps together and maybe 20 amps. You can try to plug in the toaster in a different receptacle and see if it trips with the microwave on.
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:07 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rochester, MN, USA
Posts: 345
I have had this happen also. Sometime when the breaker is tripped, test your plugin outlets. I found some of mine were fused by the other inverter CB and plugged the toaster in that circuit.

Hae a nice day - Darrel
__________________
2007 3912 KSDP w/350HP ISL Cummins
2003 Grand Cherokee toad w/M&G Brake
Darrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
The Inverter breaker is most likely 15 amp, the Microwave draws as much as 11-12 amps, the toaster 10-12, Do the arithmatic and you will see that is over 20 amps.

he circuit is split at a sub panel with a 14 amp breaker feeding the microwave, and another feeding the outlet the toaster is plugged into,

But when it comes out of the invrter, it is all one breaker. There may be a solution but I'd have to have hands on (Well Eyes on) to find out.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:53 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
We are having the same problem. Circuit Breaker on the invertor is 30amp. All of our plugs go through the 30amp CB. We're in 27* weather and using a electric(1) on low. WH, fridge, is on 110. We are on good 50amp service. I need one receptacle that does not go through the invertor.
__________________
American Tradition 42R-Cadillac SRX Blue Ox Koni 5050XL MCD Scangauge D Samsung rf197
Fulltime since 2012
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 01:36 PM   #9
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,566
This is because it is doing its job. You are exceeding the limits of the breaker. To work around that could be tricky but doable. I would be surprised if every outlet along that wall is on inverter power. Plug a light or radio into the outlets with the inverter running and shoreline power off. I put a tag on the ones powered by the inverter. If you find a handy one that is not powered you might consider an extension cord of proper size if you can hide most of the cord. Or you might be able to re-wire the toaster outlet to the one not powered by the inverter. The outlets you are using are probably wired with a short run of cable and not all the way to the inverter. If that was the case it would be easy to bypass that line. You have the AC breaker panel inline as well so no worries about a circuit breaker not being in the line.

Or, connect a tag close to the end of the toaster cord that says Dear Wife. You get to go out in the cold if you trip the breaker.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 01:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
I'm not trying to steal the thread but I have un plugged the 50amp and ALL of our plugs are hot when the inv is on.
__________________
American Tradition 42R-Cadillac SRX Blue Ox Koni 5050XL MCD Scangauge D Samsung rf197
Fulltime since 2012
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 04:57 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
336muffin,
If your inverter has 2 circuit breakers on it, shut one off and see what receptacles do and do not have power. Do it again with the other circuit breaker. Label them circuit 1 and circuit 2. Then you can power one high current device on each circuit at the same time without tripping the breaker.
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:03 PM   #12
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by 336muffin View Post
I'm not trying to steal the thread but I have un plugged the 50amp and ALL of our plugs are hot when the inv is on.

You will need a schematic and a qualified person to rewire an outlet or two. Or get very creative with an extension cord. Can you post the model of your inverter or pm me with it.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 08:38 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
38 Special's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irondale, Alabama
Posts: 470
A little different type reply for you. Use the microwave and toaster together and let it trip hte breaker on the inverter. Now, before you go outside and reset it, check all the plugs in the coach for which ones are dead and which ones are still live. This information will assist you from allowing it to trip in the future. You need to plug the toaster into an outlet that was still hot. Your problem should be solved.
__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 42 DSQ
Irondale, Alabama
38 Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 08:42 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
calhyatt's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Weston, Fl.
Posts: 914
Sounds to me like you are exceeding the amperage limit on that circuit. Toaster is about 1500 watts, microwave is 1000-1500 watts when operating, add them up and you will trip a normal 15-20 amp breaker. Need to use one or the other and that will cure the problem I suspect. Merry Christmas to all.
__________________

__________________
2003 Newmar Kountry Star 3905, Freightliner XC chassis with CAT 330. Winnie the black lab, pretty Airbus captain wife, retired airline pilot with 11 grandkids. UH-1 pilot (Huey) U.S. Army 1967-1983. RVN 68-69. Northern Idaho my summer home.
calhyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.