Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2010, 09:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
pdq_bc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: where ever we're parked
Posts: 427
connecting wii

Hi Everyone

newbie here - and 'challenged'...

Trying to get the wii working in the Itasca 2009 Suncruiser IFK35P
I have the cord; which has three plugs; Red, Yellow, White.
At home, I plug this cord into the back of the TV

So two questions:
(1.) with the Suncruiser - which unit do I plug it into to; there is the DVD, there is the "box", and there is the TV?
(2.) and once knowing the above, how do I "release" the DVD, the "box", or the TV - as they are very firmly fixed!

THANK YOU for the help
regards, pdq
(peter)
__________________

__________________
peter & larry... tiffin 2015 allegro 36LA ~ chevy 2009 HHR tow
we're here... http://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=12260
our blog... http://wllrtr.tumblr.com
pdq_bc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-12-2010, 07:11 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,900
I'm not familiar with how your TV is mounted so can't give you specific directions on how to remove it but generally it takes a bit of doing to remove so you won't want to do it every time you want to connect. You'll want to remove it once, attach a patchcord, and then put it back in and leave it there.

The best place to connnect is at an auxiliary input jack on the TV. In my case I conected the three RCA cacbles (red-white-yellow) to the back of the TV. I then ran those cables out into a cabinet next to the TV, coiled them up, and added female butt connectors to them. Whenever I need to plug in any kind of device such as a camera or game system, I just unwind the cables and plug into them.
__________________

__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:25 AM   #3
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Many newer TVs also have jacks on the front or side of the TV. These will sometimes be hidden behind a door. If you can find the auxiliary plugs, you may need to go into your TV menu using your remote and select a new input. Check the manual for your TV to see what the auxiliary input is called.

If you don't have front or side plugs, then do as Cruzer suggests and attach the wires to the plugs in back. Leave them attached and just roll them up when not in use.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:24 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
Best to plug it into the tv, but if the red/white/yellow jacks on one of the other units is more accessible, you should be able to use them instead. You just have to set the tv system to use those as the input source, e.g. set tv to use the DVD player if that is where the Wii is plugged. You might also have to set some switch on the DVD player, dpeending on the make & model of DVD.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:34 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,900
Most DVD players, especially if they are part of a surround sound system module, don't have auxiliary video input jacks like VCRs (remember them? ) do.

However, if you have a surround sound system you probably have a pair of auxiliary audio inputs that can be connected to your TV or satellite receiver. If you run a pair of RCA cables from your TV's "audio out" jacks you should be able to feed that audio to your surround sound system (assuming you have one) and connect to that auxiliary audio input. That way anything you play on the TV, such as off-air antenna broadcasts, satelite TV, or your wii will then be able to be played through the surround sound system - which will sound much better than the TV speakers.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 06:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HMXDave's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Central Alberta, Canada
Posts: 245
Also...remember you need to affix the Wii "pickup bar" above or below the TV....might not be so easy in an RV.
__________________
Dave and Kara - Weekend Warriors 2010 Newmar Bay star 3202, Ford chassis, Ford Ranger Toad, Can Am ATV
Central Alberta, Canada
HMXDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 09:33 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
pdq_bc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: where ever we're parked
Posts: 427
thank you to everyone
really appreciate the help!
peter
__________________
peter & larry... tiffin 2015 allegro 36LA ~ chevy 2009 HHR tow
we're here... http://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=12260
our blog... http://wllrtr.tumblr.com
pdq_bc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 10:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Theberrys's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,605
There are two ways to connect a Wii depending on your cable. The one you are describing is the composite video/audio method. Some of these cables also include a SVHS connection as well as the Yellow Video connector. This method will provide standard TV quality like the analog broadcast TV. The other method is the Component Video/Audio cable. This method has five RCA connectors. Video connections are Red, Blue, Green while the audio is Red, and White. Don't know why they chose two Red connectors but they aren't hard to sort out. The Red audio connection is beside the only White one in the cable. Component Video has better resolution at 480P, mostly this is the cable shipped with the Wii.
In my coach I connected it directly to the TV and use the TV remote to select the component input. This puts the sound through the TV speakers instead of the surround system but the Wii is regular Stereo so it's not too bad. If your TV audio is somehow routed through the Surround system then the sound would be like watching TV. I bought an extra Wii Power Supply and Video/Cable to leave in the Coach so all I need to transfer from the stick house is the Wii, Controllers, and the light bar.

Dick
__________________
1999 Tradewinds 7372 Cat 3126
Albuquerque, NM
Theberrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 07:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
pdq_bc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: where ever we're parked
Posts: 427
Hi Everyone

...part II of connecting the wii...

really appreciate the help - but need more advice:
- bought a RCA barrel connector (male to male)
- using it, connected the wii cable (3 connector / plug ends) to the satellite cables (5 connector/ plug ends)

WELL IT WORK! I did the wii working - BUT...
- wii is not in colour (more like of black and white / old TV)

Any suggestions?

thanks,
peter
__________________
peter & larry... tiffin 2015 allegro 36LA ~ chevy 2009 HHR tow
we're here... http://map.datastormusers.com/user1.cfm?user=12260
our blog... http://wllrtr.tumblr.com
pdq_bc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:05 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Hi Peter...

I went a step farther and picked up a faceplate on eBay which offers the 3 video connections for component video, the two for stereo audio, plus one HDMI connector so i can patch my laptop to the TV. This works well for connecting our Wii but we have a mid ship entertainment system which gave us the wall space to mount the plate.

As for the b/w Wii display, I've heard of the problem but can't remember exactly what caused it. I would check your set up: 1) are you sure the yellow video cable is attached to the composite yellow video input and not one of the R/G/B component video inputs? 2) go to the set up menu on your tv and check your settings. You might want to take some other device like a dvd player and connect it via your patch cables and see if you're getting color so you'll know if you've got a TV or a Wii problem.

Good luck...
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power: Breaker Off before Connecting or Disconnecting Always-RVing MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 11-13-2009 05:10 PM
Hydraulic Disc Brakes connecting to Chevy controller Squirrel Excel Owner's Forum 11 10-24-2009 06:11 PM
Cannot connect to Other site justimagination Just Conversation 10 08-09-2009 10:14 PM
Windshield Wiper connecting Rod Alignment kehardman Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 08-06-2009 08:04 PM
Connecting to the Internet ? John Harrelson Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 01-03-2006 11:03 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.