Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2014, 09:33 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
TexasTom's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 955
Converting 220 outlet to 50amp for RV

I have a 220 outlet in my garage that I want to convert for my RV to either a 50amp, or a 30amp. It is on a double pole 40 amp breaker.

Decided I should hire an electrician if it's not too expensive. What should I expect the cost to be? $100? $500?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
TexasTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-29-2014, 09:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Drifter's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,652
Read up on this site.

RV Electric
__________________

__________________
Mike & Sharon and our Pup Frankie
2008 HR Endeavor 40PDQ

Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
TexasTom's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 955
Did, thanks, and it was very useful. Already ruled out one electrician from coming out to give me a bid because he didn't agree with the wiring protocol.
__________________
TexasTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
gripper's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 772
My first hookup only cost about $75.00. Several months later, the second one (I have two) was only $50.00.
__________________
Roland & Jerri, with Maggie & Mollie, our Pups; '05 Fleetwood Providence, 39' DP; '08 Saturn. "The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has it's limits" (Einstein)
gripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
I would install a standard 4 prong 220 outlet and use a 4 prong to a RV 30 amp adapter if one needs to hook up a 30 amp coach, the best of two worlds and no mistakes to make.
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:32 AM   #6
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Pond Piggies Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 22,303
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasTom View Post
..Decided I should hire an electrician if it's not too expensive....
I would hire a licensed/bonded/insured electrician even if they are expensive. It'll cost you thousands more if it's not wired correctly & you fry your electrical system/appliances. With something like this, pinching pennies is not advisable.

Cost varies on the electrician's experience & region. OH=approx $125.

Lori-
__________________
Lori & Dave - FMA #3415 | FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 36Z & 2014 Honda CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
How is it one careless match can start a forest fire but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?
NLOVNIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 02:42 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
Is the outlet 3 or 4 prong?

IF it is 4 prong, and the 3 wires attached to the flat slots are all the same size, I would just put in the proper outlet... IF it is 3 pong you will need to run new wire, one if it's in conduit or new 4-wire Cable if it's not.

Your RV will likely be very happy with only 40 amps.

If you must have 50, Then you have no choice but to install new wire unless the original install used bigger wire than needed.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 03:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
What was the 220 outlet for?

If dryer it likely is l1 l2 and safety ground without a neutral.

Count the connectors inside.

3 holes bad 4 holes maybe

If it is 3 hole and 3 wires and panel close then possible to pull the additional wire.

It should be simple but as others indicated if you have someone else do the work get quote in writting and verify license with insurance.

Before plugging in check for yourself with voltmeter.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 03:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
TexasTom's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 955
It is a 220 outlet wired for a welder. I'm pretty handy with this type of stuff, but since I am not 100% positive at identifying the neutral feed I am going to have an electrician do it. Looks like it's going to be about $100 which is well worth it.
__________________
TexasTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 03:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Here is what I had installed at home on a brick wall beside my driveway. My electrician ran a short run of the proper wire in conduit from the panel box.

Works great
RV Hookup 50 Amp outlet from PPL - PPL Motor Homes
__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 03:15 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
If for welder then no neutral.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 05:16 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
hdossett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Central AZ
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasTom View Post
It is a 220 outlet wired for a welder. I'm pretty handy with this type of stuff, but since I am not 100% positive at identifying the neutral feed I am going to have an electrician do it. Looks like it's going to be about $100 which is well worth it.
Just make sure the "Pro" understands RVs. Especially if it 30 Amp 120V. A lot of them don't know RVs!

H
__________________
'01 National RV Tropi-Cal, Ford V10, '01 Suzuki GV 4X4 Blue Ox Tow Bar,300 Watts Solar, 2500 Watt '458' Inverter, NO TVs, Most light fixtures upgraded to LEDs

hdossett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:08 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
JFXG's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Today? Mercer, PA
Posts: 3,620
Talk to a couple of local RV Parks and find out who does their electrical contracting. That way you'll find someone who knows how to wire for RVs. RV plug-ins are NOT the same as residential wiring.
__________________
John & Diane, Fulltimers. RVM103 NHSO
On the road since June '12 with Lincoln, the guard cat.
2002 Dutch Star 40, Freightliner, Cat 3126, 2004 Element
JFXG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 10:45 AM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
Make sure the electrician understands the RV 50A/240v requirement, i.e. that it must be a 4-wire (2 hots, a neutral and a ground) system. It is perfectly OK if you keep the present 40A/240v power source (it doesn't have to be 50A), but the neutral is absolutely required. Most likely the present welder outlet is a three slot receptacle and does not have a neutral, so one will have to be added. That could get expensive if pulling a new wire is difficult.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside outlet Cola ny MH-General Discussions & Problems 16 07-21-2014 07:28 PM
Repair Loose Wall Outlet bruceisla RV Systems & Appliances 15 03-31-2014 05:47 AM
Sewer outlet upgrade mcumbie Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 03-20-2014 02:19 PM
Toilet outlet pipe & clogging myredracer Travel Trailer Discussion 31 09-03-2013 09:10 PM
Adding Exterior 120VAC outlet smlranger Country Coach Owners Forum 5 08-11-2013 10:51 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.