Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2010, 11:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Dash Blower only works on high

I've had the rotary switch in the dash replaced twice but after a week the blower will only work on the high setting. I need ideas please.
__________________

__________________
tmustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-08-2010, 01:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 314
Hi, you need to find the resistor pack. It is usually on the outside of the blower housing, right behind the fan location. It will have a connector with 4 or 5 wires running into it. Usually 2 screws holding it in place. If you can remove it and take to an auto parts place, they can match it up for a replacement. I just replaced the thermal fuse, which looks like a tiny silver can. Use a magnifying glass to read the fine print, and it will tell you the temperature rating. I bought the replacement at a Radio Shack and just crimped it in place. Write back if you need more direction. HarveyP
__________________

__________________
94 Holiday Rambler Endeavor LE

Cummins/Allison
HarveyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:01 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tincup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Full Timers - Where ever we're parked.
Posts: 535
I had the same problem on my Chevy Colorado pick up. It was the resistor but it wasn't defective. The resistor is a large, maybe 2"x3" power resistor with 4 or 5 pins that slide into a receptacle. One of the pins wasn't making good contact, I jury rigged a fix and problem solved. So the moral is you may not have to replace the resistor, first check to see if it's making good contact with the receptacle.
__________________
Paul - WA1IWH

Margaret - She who must be obeyed.
Tincup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:34 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks both of you for your suggestions. I'll get to work on it tomorrow. makes great sense what both of you said. It helps a lot.
__________________
tmustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 01:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 314
If you have continuity through all terminals, the thermal fuse is okay. If only through two, it is likely the fuse.The thermal fuse I bought was about $4 dollars. HarveyP
__________________
94 Holiday Rambler Endeavor LE

Cummins/Allison
HarveyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another blower high speed only post! dc8cappie Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 31 09-07-2010 08:27 AM
Anyone change the tv location from below the dash to above the dash??? Born2RV MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 03-14-2010 03:53 PM
Dash Gauge Light Problem BIGRED1 Monaco Owner's Forum 1 10-01-2006 05:07 PM
Dash Mat Carpet for Class A ghamblen MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 05-29-2006 01:41 PM
Dash A/C Repair - Need some sage advice chasfm11 MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 11-06-2005 02:18 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.