Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2012, 08:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
new2RVn's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Richmond Hill, Ga.
Posts: 242
Dedicated 120v circuits

I hope I have picked the correct forum for this. I have a 2000 Winebago Adventurer 35U with 30 amp service. I have been wondering about changing 2 120v receptacles from the RV system to a seperate line dedicated to these outlets and utillzing the 20amp, 120v plug in the pedestal. The 2 outlets are for the Microwave and the GFI in the Galley. We use this one for our Keurig coffee maker and the elec. skillet. They wouldn't be hardwired and would use plugs to change just in case the 20amp isn't availabe(probably rare as I have never seen this). Since the items are heavy amp draws it would keep my EMS from going ape---- and shedding systems to accomodate the draw. Just thinking. I would appreciate any info from experts in this field.???

Being retired means you can put off till tomorrow what you could have done today
__________________

__________________
Steve & Cheryl w/3rd Crewmember Peanut, Our Deerhead Chiuaua
2000 Winnebago Adventurer 35U F53, V10 Gasser,Safe T Plus
2004 Wrangler Toad via Stowmaster 5000, BrakeBuddy Classic
Marriage is a relationship in which one is always right and the other is the husband
new2RVn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-13-2012, 10:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bluff Dale, TX
Posts: 565
Shouldn't be a problem. Others do the same to operate 1500 watt space heaters
__________________

__________________
Most RV batteries live a long and useful life, some are murdered.
2000 National Sea Breeze F53
1998 CRV Toad
garym114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 11:47 PM   #3
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,279
new2RVn........I just did what you're asking about, but did it a little differently. If you change the outlets to a separate circuit, you'll loose the use of your generator and will loose use if there is no additional circuit at the power pole.

I have 50 amp service, but was looking for the additional 15/20 amps at parks with only 30 amp service. I was also looking to keep some high loads (electric heaters) from running through my builtin inverter/charger.

I just added two new outlets. I added one in the kitchen where we routinely plug in an electric heater in cold weather and one in the bathroom where my wife plugs in her hair dryer.

I found new outlets that matched my current ones and bought a roll of flexible pvc conduit to run 12/3 romex from my power bay to the two locations in the coach. I put a twist lock plug in the power bay and made a 15' 12/3 extension cord for connecting.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
new2RVn's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Richmond Hill, Ga.
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diplomat Don View Post
new2RVn........I just did what you're asking about, but did it a little differently. If you change the outlets to a separate circuit, you'll loose the use of your generator and will loose use if there is no additional circuit at the power pole.

I have 50 amp service, but was looking for the additional 15/20 amps at parks with only 30 amp service. I was also looking to keep some high loads (electric heaters) from running through my builtin inverter/charger.

I just added two new outlets. I added one in the kitchen where we routinely plug in an electric heater in cold weather and one in the bathroom where my wife plugs in her hair dryer.

I found new outlets that matched my current ones and bought a roll of flexible pvc conduit to run 12/3 romex from my power bay to the two locations in the coach. I put a twist lock plug in the power bay and made a 15' 12/3 extension cord for connecting.
Thanks Don, The added recept. is a good idea. I can also run a new line to a recept for the micro and just swap plugs if I need the micro on gen. Might use your idea in the bath too as hair dryers are a big amp draw too.

Being retired means you can put off till tomorrow what you could have done today
__________________
Steve & Cheryl w/3rd Crewmember Peanut, Our Deerhead Chiuaua
2000 Winnebago Adventurer 35U F53, V10 Gasser,Safe T Plus
2004 Wrangler Toad via Stowmaster 5000, BrakeBuddy Classic
Marriage is a relationship in which one is always right and the other is the husband
new2RVn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 11:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: seattle, wa.
Posts: 413
Send a message via Skype™ to LandKinaMoho
Utilizing all the shore power outlets makes sense....
__________________
1999 National Dolphin
1995 Range Rover County SWB.
Sailor, Dickens, Zooki, Koko.
LandKinaMoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:02 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
KmsgoracerKm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glen Ivy, Ca
Posts: 17
Just added a JTB Power solutions device.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diplomat Don View Post
new2RVn........I just did what you're asking about, but did it a little differently. If you change the outlets to a separate circuit, you'll loose the use of your generator and will loose use if there is no additional circuit at the power pole.

I have 50 amp service, but was looking for the additional 15/20 amps at parks with only 30 amp service. I was also looking to keep some high loads (electric heaters) from running through my builtin inverter/charger.

I just added two new outlets. I added one in the kitchen where we routinely plug in an electric heater in cold weather and one in the bathroom where my wife plugs in her hair dryer.

I found new outlets that matched my current ones and bought a roll of flexible pvc conduit to run 12/3 romex from my power bay to the two locations in the coach. I put a twist lock plug in the power bay and made a 15' 12/3 extension cord for connecting.
I just installed a JTB. It allows me to run my Second AC and a couple of 110 outlets for my wifes hair dryer in a 30 AMP park. I could have powered up my Washer/dryer or other 20 amp breaker but AC was more inportant to me. It is Ul approved and automatically switches back to the 50 AMP service if detected. Not hard to install if you can do the basics. It keeps the 30 AMP adapter cord cool because the JTB has its own heavy duty power cord with plug for 15/20/30 amp receptacle on the pedestal. They have a Web site and are on Facebook. Hope this helps.
__________________
KmsgoracerKm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
The GFCI outlet may be a trick. However, that is how my rear air conditioner is wired

Mine is a 50 amp rig without a EMS (Which makes it much easier) I pulled the wire to the rear A/C out of the breaker box, replaced it with 1/2 of an extension cord (The outlet half, and a 12 ga cord, not one of the more common 14 or 16ga but a real 12 ga)

Ran the other half of the cord back to a junction box and hooked it to the wire I remived at the start. I plug the two cord halves together,, Works as delivered.

I pull the plug and then 1: I can plug in an air compressor or other device if needed on that side and 2: I use a 2nd 12ga cord to the pedistal as you described.

I found out this week that my air conditioner is low voltage protected, IT is smart enough to shut down if the 120v is not up to spec.. Kind of nice.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 03:52 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
That 20A outlet in the power pole is just daisy change off the 30A - rarely will there be a separate 20A feed to the pole. If the feeder circuit has a 30A breaker, that's going to trip when you try to use 30A + 20A. But if the pole has a 50A outlet, there is adequate power to feed both the 30A and the 20A as long as the 50 is not in use.

There is an ethical issue as well. If you rented and paid for a 30A site, you are not entitled to use more than 30A. Or at least that is what the campground owner has based his pricing upon. If you told him you were using a total of 50A rather than 30A only, most would charge you extra.

Just saying... you decide.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 04:44 PM   #9
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,279
Gary.....I agree with some of what you say. I'm not an electrician, but when you say daisy chained, it's no different than your house. Your house comes in on a single line and then multiple breakers are added to the same. I'm guessing that most have sufficient wiring to operate both the 50 amp and 20 amp or the 30 amp and 20 amp.

Ethically, you may be right, but I'm a 50 amp coach and I use mine so that I'm not running my electric heater through my inverter when we winter camp. Having the extra outlets is more of a convenience so I don't have to worry about my wife running her hair dryer for 4-5 minutes and tripping a breaker while dinner is in the microwave.

I'm trying to think of a situation where you would be using more power than you should. If you have a 30 amp coach and run both A/C's with everything else off and then run you're electric water heater later in the evening, along with your charging system after both A/C's aren't needed, are you cheating them. I think it might be a fine line that you decide to operate them all at once, instead of sharing the load later. Now if both your A/C's are running 24/7, that would be different.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:13 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
KmsgoracerKm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glen Ivy, Ca
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
That 20A outlet in the power pole is just daisy change off the 30A - rarely will there be a separate 20A feed to the pole. If the feeder circuit has a 30A breaker, that's going to trip when you try to use 30A + 20A. But if the pole has a 50A outlet, there is adequate power to feed both the 30A and the 20A as long as the 50 is not in use.

There is an ethical issue as well. If you rented and paid for a 30A site, you are not entitled to use more than 30A. Or at least that is what the campground owner has based his pricing upon. If you told him you were using a total of 50A rather than 30A only, most would charge you extra.

Just saying... you decide.
I have found that Most but not all Power Pedestals with 20 amp/15amp receptacles are not "daisy changed" if they are to standard electrical codes. However, not all.The older and the more Eastern parks are not up to code. It is easy to check when I plug in my JTB because I have a voltage meter plugged in to the "hair dryer" outlet. Even if the two are daisy changed (tapped/spliced) etc, by have two cords feeding the 30 amps to the coach, both cords divide up the load and they do not get hot when I run two ACs.

If the park has 50 amps, I use it. It is when the park only has 30 amps and 20 amps that I plug in my JTB. Talk about ethics, I have only had one park try to charge me for using more power this way. We agreed on $1.50 per day. LOL I told him I rented an RV space as equipped, no conditions but did not want to get kicked out for a stupid argument. Just won't go back to this place. Good Luck getting thru this hot season ya all
__________________

__________________
KmsgoracerKm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low 120V voltage problem on Journey pine tree Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 03-05-2012 10:46 AM
120v elect. problem boeingair RV Systems & Appliances 2 12-15-2011 08:46 AM
Heart inverter issue, fluctuating 120v output any ideas? daveshan RV Systems & Appliances 15 11-21-2011 11:44 AM
120V cirsuits in 05 Dolphin JJH3rd National RV Owner's Forum 5 09-08-2011 10:51 AM
Toad lights 6v on three circuits?? biz Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 06-09-2011 11:19 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.