Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2005, 05:59 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 259
I want to install a second receiver in the bedroom of my 04 Mountain Aire and Direct TV tells me that I need to have a dual LNB and ALWAYS be connected to a telephone land line. I don't have a problem with the dual LNB, but obviously, I won't always be connected to a phone line. Direct TV tells me (on three different telephone calls) that the receiver won't work. If it does work, it will not have the TVO capability. Has anyone who has installed a DVR / TVO system in their RV ran into problems? If so, what problems have you had?

Thanks in advance

Jack
__________________

__________________
"Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are"

Jack Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-21-2005, 05:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 259
I want to install a second receiver in the bedroom of my 04 Mountain Aire and Direct TV tells me that I need to have a dual LNB and ALWAYS be connected to a telephone land line. I don't have a problem with the dual LNB, but obviously, I won't always be connected to a phone line. Direct TV tells me (on three different telephone calls) that the receiver won't work. If it does work, it will not have the TVO capability. Has anyone who has installed a DVR / TVO system in their RV ran into problems? If so, what problems have you had?

Thanks in advance

Jack
__________________

__________________
"Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are"

Jack Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 07:34 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,901
There's lots of disinformation out there regarding DirecTV. Frankly, I'm surprised you got the same answer each time from 3 different people. Generally you'll get 3 different answers.

I have two of the DVRs at home and I can take one, or both of them, with me in the RV. The telephone line thing is bogus information. DirecTV would "like" them connected to a phone line. They will make daily calls that way. These calls are used to upload any pay-per-view requests, see if any firmware upgades are available, and (most importantly) verify that you don't have your DVR at a neighbor's house. DirecTV charges a given package rate for the first receiver. The second receiver is mirrored to that same programming at a $5.00 monthly fee. DirecTV does not want you placing any extra receivers at other locations so that they can get service for less than the going rate.

Once I initially installed my DVRs at home I was able to disconnect the phone lines. I have left them disconnected for as long as 6 months without any problems. Of course I don't use pay-per-view so that's not an issue for me. After 30 days a little "nag" screen appears when you first turn on your system. It reminds you that you are not connected. You just clear it out and continue on. If I have mine in the RV I just bring it in every once in a while and hook up the phone line. Any new firmware upgrades will then be downloaded and the nag screen goes away for another month. However, the system will work just fine (after you initially set it up) without the phone line. All of the program schedules are downloaded over the bird so your TV guide will work just fine.

The DVRs are nice because they are dual channel. You can watch (or record to hard drive) one program while recording another on the second channel. They do require two coax feeds from a dual LNB dish. My Kingdome does have dual LNBs and I added a 2x4 multiswitch and ran two extra lines to the bedroom so I can run a second DVR. Technically, I can record 4 different shows at the same time, not that I'd ever have the need to. If you only run one cable to each DVR you won't have the ability to watch one show while recording another on the same DVR. However, you can program the DVR for either single or dual cable operation.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 01:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 63
Cruzer,
Can you run 2 tv's from 1 DVR with DirecTV?
My son has Dish TV and their DVR. He has 1 DVR and can run 2 Tv's and it came with 2 remotes. Each TV can watch different channels at the same time. Just courious if Direct's works the same.

Thanks
__________________
Tom Williams

2003 Journey DL 36GD
Tom Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 03:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 259
Mark,

Thanks a million. That's what I thought, but I needed to confirm itwith someone in the know.

Jack
__________________
"Be the kind of person your dog thinks you are"

Jack Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 05:27 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,901
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tom Williams:
Cruzer,
Can you run 2 tv's from 1 DVR with DirecTV?
My son has Dish TV and their DVR. He has 1 DVR and can run 2 Tv's and it came with 2 remotes. Each TV can watch different channels at the same time. Just courious if Direct's works the same.

Thanks </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have the Hughes DVR2 as supplied by DirecTV. IT's about 2 years old. It has dual inputs but only a single output. I guess the reasoning is that you can only watch 1 show at a time but might want to record two shows.

I'm not sure what kind of DVR your son has. Maybe the newer ones can do that. In that case I would expect that the remotes would be RF rather than infrared. That way the second TV could be in another room and the remote could shoot through the wall to control it's half of the DVR. I don't see too many setups with 2 TVs in the same room but a two room setup would make sense.

I do know that there are newer DVRs out there than mine so that may be a possibility. I'm just not familiar with any changes to the newer ones - but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 07:21 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 63
Yes his TV's are in 2 different rooms and the remotes are RF. Maybe having 2 outputs on a Dish DVR is only avaiable with Dish. I will look on Directv web site to see what I can find

Thanks
__________________
Tom Williams

2003 Journey DL 36GD
Tom Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 06:19 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Richardson,Texas,USA
Posts: 17
I have a Dish dual Receiver with DVR. The receiver has two Receivers with inputs from the two dual LNB's (Each dual LNB receives from two satelites.) The Dish capability is to watch one receiver output and record it or not. To watch the second receiver output while recording the first, you must use the second TV, or the second Video input, if you have a TV with multiple video inputs. You can not watch one channel and record another on the same receiver input. If you are watching the second receiver input on the primary TV video 2 input, you must use the RF remote (#2) to control the second Dish receiver input. The first remote (#1) is a IR remote and only operates by Line of Sight, while the #2 is UHF and works through walls.

The remotes control the individual Dish receivers, plus the individual TV's they are set to control.

I was very dissapointed that I could not watch one and record one on the same receiver, but was able to do this because I have multiple Video inputs to both TV's used in the system.
__________________

__________________
Bob in Dallas
1994 Foretravel U280 36'
Bob in Dallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct TV DVR Receiver slabman Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 18 02-07-2009 11:06 AM
Sonoran D575D De-stacker for Direct TV DVR NoDakKid Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 0 02-03-2009 09:48 AM
DVR for direct tv- New info Rjcarbo Newmar Owner's Forum 2 11-07-2006 06:16 PM
Direct TV with DVR receiver Jack Foster Newmar Owner's Forum 12 10-28-2006 02:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.