Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Domentic Air Conditioner Problem

I have dual air conditioner units on my Founders Edition Tradewinds Coach. Intermitenly the air conditioner will start up the fan as it should the shortly afterwards the compressor starts as it should and it blows cold air.....for about a minute or so then the compressor kicks off and a little bit after that the fan stops. Then in a couple minutes the cycle starts over. Other times it will start and work as it should.....starting cooling until MH gets coolled down and it cycles as it should. This problem occurs on both the front and the back air conditioners.

A very hard problem to trouble shoot as sometimes it works and others it doesn't. I have replaced the actual digital thermostat and the problem is the same. Hard to believe both air conditioners are faulty or need charging since when the work they blow ice cold air.

I am willing to replace the two control/relay boxes if I thought this would solve the issue. Oh one other thing, the furnances both seprate from the AC's but controled by the thermostat work fine.... Very Frustrating!

Has anyone experienced this problem? If so what did you do to solve the problem?
__________________

__________________
skysadlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-09-2012, 03:16 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
What is the temperature difference between desired and actual when you feel they malfunction? Have you inspected the data cable connections on the units? I suggest you use some electronic contact cleaner on cables and the control boards. Make certain the discharge vent is not blowing down onto T'stat. Try setting temperature much colder than normal use and let us know what you find.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
I agree with data cables and connections. I've had similar problems in the past and has always been data cable connections.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:03 PM   #4
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,312
Disconnect the data cables and leave them disconnected for about 30 seconds. Reconnect and try the units. SOmetimes the disconnect and reconnect will "reboot" the boards.

If they're also heat pumps, make sure you cycle them through the heat pump mode every so often to keep the reversing valves working.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:55 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Ok, it goofs up at any time.....sometimes when the coach is close to coolled down and sometimes when the coach temp is 10-15 higher than the temp set on the thermostat.

I thought of a vent blowing on the thermostat and the remote sensor and they are not being blown on. I have tried resetting the unit by holding down the mode and zone keys until the FF shows, problem stays. I have also tried disconnecting the data cable for 10 minutes and then re-hooking and the problem still exsists.

I purchase some contact cleaner today and will try that, any other ideas I should look into?
__________________
skysadlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 09:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Sounds like a bad start or start/run capacitor (there is one of each), except those are not usually intermittent.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:31 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Update.......

Ok after using the contact cleaner on all the connections the unit seemed to be working......at first.......now it it back to the air conditioners come on for a minute or two the stopping......sometimes it works and freezes us out of the coach. I am leaning to replacing the Control Box for each unit ( Part number 3109226.005 ) I found them new for about $100 each. My theroy is that the relays have burnt contacts and releasing before they are told to. Anyone know of any way to confirm my theroy before I spend $200 on the two control units?

Thanks in advance for any advice!
__________________
skysadlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:01 AM   #8
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
If the relay coil is energized but the contacts are not closed; the relay is bad. Intermittent problems have to be diagnosed when the unit is not properly operating. Otherwise, all checks look good.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Water pressure problem 3huskerfans Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 11 04-14-2012 04:19 PM
New Air Force One installed . . . jillie Newmar Owner's Forum 21 04-10-2012 03:52 PM
Awning problem Martino78 iRV2.com General Discussion 10 04-08-2012 08:49 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.