Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2008, 10:28 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
I have a 95 HR Endeavor with dual AC roof units. Each is controlled by a separate thermostat. The Rear AC stopped working, and it has been determined that the Thermostat is bad. One would think this is a simple problem - buy a replacement stat and install it - WRONG. The thermostat is a DuoTHerm, Model #3105356.004. A web search failed to find one. I stopped at several RV dealers, no luck. Last RV dealer called Diometic and learned that my thermostat had been replaced by Model #3108701.339. Problem solved you say - WRONG again. That unit has now been replaced by Model #3307713.010, which not only requires the purchase of the thermostat, but a control unit for the AC itself and some wiring, etc etc, all at a cost of almost $350. I would like to wire in another stat, have seen several articles on replacement of the analogs with the Hunter digital battery operated units, BUT, my unit doesn't have separate colored wires, but a flat ribbon with a plug. Has anyone else had this issue - any suggestions on how to fix such a simple issue as a thermostat replacement at a reasonable cost?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
RonWSl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-01-2008, 10:28 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
I have a 95 HR Endeavor with dual AC roof units. Each is controlled by a separate thermostat. The Rear AC stopped working, and it has been determined that the Thermostat is bad. One would think this is a simple problem - buy a replacement stat and install it - WRONG. The thermostat is a DuoTHerm, Model #3105356.004. A web search failed to find one. I stopped at several RV dealers, no luck. Last RV dealer called Diometic and learned that my thermostat had been replaced by Model #3108701.339. Problem solved you say - WRONG again. That unit has now been replaced by Model #3307713.010, which not only requires the purchase of the thermostat, but a control unit for the AC itself and some wiring, etc etc, all at a cost of almost $350. I would like to wire in another stat, have seen several articles on replacement of the analogs with the Hunter digital battery operated units, BUT, my unit doesn't have separate colored wires, but a flat ribbon with a plug. Has anyone else had this issue - any suggestions on how to fix such a simple issue as a thermostat replacement at a reasonable cost?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
RonWSl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 01:57 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 10,087
How are you at reading electrical shecmatics and ohming out wiring? If you can identify the ribbon wiring you can color code each wire and install the Hunter t'stat.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 03:18 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 16,699
Blog Entries: 20
I'd replace both with two new Hunter 'stats. They work so much better than the expensive manufacturers junk.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Miniature Schnauzer, one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 07:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Darryl's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 222
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RonWSl:
I have a 95 HR Endeavor with dual AC roof units. Each is controlled by a separate thermostat. The Rear AC stopped working, and it has been determined that the Thermostat is bad. One would think this is a simple problem - buy a replacement stat and install it - WRONG. The thermostat is a DuoTHerm, Model #3105356.004. A web search failed to find one. I stopped at several RV dealers, no luck. Last RV dealer called Diometic and learned that my thermostat had been replaced by Model #3108701.339. Problem solved you say - WRONG again. That unit has now been replaced by Model #3307713.010, which not only requires the purchase of the thermostat, but a control unit for the AC itself and some wiring, etc etc, all at a cost of almost $350. I would like to wire in another stat, have seen several articles on replacement of the analogs with the Hunter digital battery operated units, BUT, my unit doesn't have separate colored wires, but a flat ribbon with a plug. Has anyone else had this issue - any suggestions on how to fix such a simple issue as a thermostat replacement at a reasonable cost?
Thanks </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ron, do you have the Comfrot Control unit? If so, it is probably the 4 buttom model. If this is what you have, let us know. I can give you the email of a guy that can sell you a rebuilt one.
__________________
Darryl
Smyrna GA
Darryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:10 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
chef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Hunter Stats

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXiceman View Post
I'd replace both with two new Hunter 'stats. They work so much better than the expensive manufacturers junk.

Ken
I have gone thru 2 rvcomfort.zc units and the third is showing a short, all in 4 years.
Will the Hunter stats work on both the A/C and heat pump units?
Will I need a second unit for the second A/C?
On page 11 of the .ZC manuel it only shows wiring for the heat 1-4
12 volt Power in & out
Ground in & out.
How do you hook up the A/C.
__________________
chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by chef View Post
I have gone thru 2 rvcomfort.zc units and the third is showing a short, all in 4 years.
Will the Hunter stats work on both the A/C and heat pump units?
Will I need a second unit for the second A/C?
On page 11 of the .ZC manuel it only shows wiring for the heat 1-4
12 volt Power in & out
Ground in & out.
How do you hook up the A/C.
You will need a new control board to use the "Hunter" style thermostats with the Dometic A/C's or Heat Pumps. This manual is for the model A/C's with that control board.

The model that uses the CCC's has a totally different control board in it with the ribbon cable connector instead of the separate screw terminals which would work for the "Hunter" thermostats.

One thing some other posters have mentioned is susceptibility to florescent lighting, basically running the lights keeps the thermostat from operating correctly. The fix is to put a choke somewhere in the DC line to the lights, if I remember correctly.
__________________

__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo-Therm control problem Bussey MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 11-13-2008 11:38 PM
Duo-therm AC blower problem 2805C RV Systems & Appliances 4 07-18-2007 05:25 PM
Duo Therm A/C Problem jsd3024 RV Systems & Appliances 5 07-02-2006 01:47 AM
Duo-Therm thermostat problem/question Ned MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 01-28-2005 01:09 PM
Duo Therm A/C Problem New Member Check-In 5 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.