Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2012, 06:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Martino78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
Electric step not working

I went to check on the motorhome in storage today and noticed the step is not working. It does have power and the light under the step comes on but, it is not sliding out when the door is opened. Any suggestions?

2008 Coachmen Freelander 3150SS
__________________

__________________
Martino78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-28-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,513
That same thing happened to mine, do a diagnostic test the procedure its on kwikee web site. You can check for power,door switch, override switch fairly simple you will need a voltage tester. If all checks out like mine a motor and control runs about $250.00 and more of a pain to fix if the step is close. You can do research the motor is a car windshield wiper motor, I gave up trying to find the right one. You may be lucky and it's stuck from lack of lubricate you will have to disconnect motor and manually open steps which you will have to do anyway to change motor. CW gets about $250 also for labor.
__________________

__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
Lube the hinges.
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Martino78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgscott4
Lube the hinges.
What do I live it with? Just normal grease?
__________________
Martino78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Martino78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tha_Rooster
That same thing happened to mine, do a diagnostic test the procedure its on kwikee web site. You can check for power,door switch, override switch fairly simple you will need a voltage tester. If all checks out like mine a motor and control runs about $250.00 and more of a pain to fix if the step is close. You can do research the motor is a car windshield wiper motor, I gave up trying to find the right one. You may be lucky and it's stuck from lack of lubricate you will have to disconnect motor and manually open steps which you will have to do anyway to change motor. CW gets about $250 also for labor.
Thanks for the advice.
__________________
Martino78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:33 PM   #6
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,155
A good silicone based spray lube will work. We use this stuff a lot and is available from Walmart. Jig-A-Loo - an invisible silicone-based lubricant and water-repellent ! Be very carefull when working around this steps as when the do work, fingers can end up getting mangled.
__________________
04 Newmar DSDP 4015-Cummins ISL 370hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Peacekeeper6's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 277
Mine did this last week.

Here's what I did:

Disconnected the steps from the motor arm by removing one bolt. I noticed that the motor was indeed moving freely once I did that. Checked the movement of the steps and quickly discovered that they were rough and binding. Sprayed silicone liberally all over the pivot points. Moved the steps back and forth to work the lubricant into the points. Reconnected the arm (this is where it was difficult, but if you have it at the extended position, you can get that bolt back in).

Now the steps extend and retract "like buttah".

Try this cheap solution before you start going to the more expensive ones....
__________________
Lou & Cheri - Pilot & Copilot
Aly & Susi - Miniature Schnauzer Navigator & Bombadier
1995 Fleetwood Flair 27 - CG-1 Bomber
Peacekeeper6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,513
Do not use grease because dirt and sand stick in it ad it would not get to the problem.Kwikee makes there own spray.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
RV LYONS's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 312
Is your chassie battery full charged ? Steps work off of it, check the magnetic switch on screen door frame, mine is acting up i just tap it with my fingers and it frees up and steps operate.Have to change switch.
__________________
Rick & Robin with ( Schaffer & Bella in memory)(springers) from S/E PA
1996 Adventurer, f53
WE ARE...
RV LYONS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:43 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canyon, TX
Posts: 488
BUT FIRST----

"If you don't use it, you lose it!"

>With another person standing by, turn on the switch for the steps always come out when the door is opened.

>Crawl under the steps, making sure that you are out of the way should the steps should suddenly close.

>Spray all of the joints with silicone, spray anything that moves or looks like it could move.

>Take a small hammer, a short wooden stick, the handle of a large screw driver, or whatever instrument of torture you choose, and pound on anything that it looks like could be pounded----the joints, the motor (lightly) the elbow joint, anything and everything.

>Have your assistant close and open the door.

>You may have to repeat the process several times.

Believe it or not, a well respected tech gave me this tip. We tend to be in one spot for 1--3 or 4 months and always have to go through this, unless we have the step close every time we close the door.

We have been in Branson for two months and "Guess What?"

We just had to go through this.
__________________

__________________
Traveling America In
"God's Grace"
MikeandClaudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.