Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2008, 06:38 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Gdlow's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 155
For quite sometime, I have been able to plug my MH into a 15 amp plug-in at home...Recently, it has started tripping the breaker in the garage. Nothing else is plugged into the circuit vs at any other (ie water timer system)time. Also the things on in the MH are the typical...the detector for gas...the walkie talkies and the DVR...these total about 5 amps...
Any way to check what is causing the trip...the circuit doesn't trip unless the MH is plugged into it...
__________________

__________________
Gdlow & The dizzybrd

2005 Dolphin
Gdlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-17-2008, 06:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Gdlow's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 155
For quite sometime, I have been able to plug my MH into a 15 amp plug-in at home...Recently, it has started tripping the breaker in the garage. Nothing else is plugged into the circuit vs at any other (ie water timer system)time. Also the things on in the MH are the typical...the detector for gas...the walkie talkies and the DVR...these total about 5 amps...
Any way to check what is causing the trip...the circuit doesn't trip unless the MH is plugged into it...
__________________

__________________
Gdlow & The dizzybrd

2005 Dolphin
Gdlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 06:58 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 205
By code, most garage outlets are GFCI protected. A lot of problems arise when you plug an RV into a GFCI protected outlet. It is caused by how the RV's wiring often ties the ground and neutral together. Your best solution will be to install a dedicated outlet with proper wiring from your breaker box to an RV outdoor box. You can then have full 30/50A service and safety.
Good luck,
Jerry
__________________
JerryForwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 07:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gdlow's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 155
I think I got it figured out...wasn't MH after all
thanks for your response...
__________________
Gdlow & The dizzybrd

2005 Dolphin
Gdlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 01:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Eddie Foy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 279
You gonna tell us?
__________________
2007 Presidio 39D

Mercedes MBE 926
Eddie Foy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 04:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Mothership's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to Mothership
I had the same problem. My GIF outlet and extension cord were out in the weather. Each time I would plug in the motorhome the GFI would trip. After cleaning the male and female plug terminals of the extension cord was I able not to trip the GFI. Best of luck!
__________________
Mike & Kate Logan
2016 Tiffin Allegro 36LA
2008 Saturn Vue Toad
Mothership is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 05:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Gdlow's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 155
It "appears" as if I had a shorted sprinkler valve wire...disconnected it and it "seems" to be holding...going to checkout however, the cost to put a separate plug in as suggested.
__________________

__________________
Gdlow & The dizzybrd

2005 Dolphin
Gdlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Electrical Issue K-Star 5th Wheel Discussion 2 06-04-2008 11:31 AM
"08 issue evan0810 Excel Owner's Forum 27 04-18-2008 07:03 PM
breaker- electrical issue 2racer RV Systems & Appliances 5 10-02-2007 05:03 AM
A/C Issue! Gadget Man MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 07-25-2007 07:20 AM
"08 issue Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 27 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.